We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and pieceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Save Saved
You added Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Torun, Poland
1 review
“Perfect and pieceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were really impressed with this modern and spotless Ibis. Our room was facing away from the port, cheaper and possibly more quiet.
The staff were very friendly, brekfast really nice.
The place is a small fishing village if you are looking for a quiet place then this should be something for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    231
    46
    7
    4
See reviews for
84
235
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for a couple of days during the D Day commemorations. The staff were very helpful at all times. Our room was excellent and one of the best Ibis rooms that we encountered in France. The hotel was ideally situated to place us where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Of the five hotels we stayed at during our cycling trip along the Normandy Beaches, this was the most expensive and gave us our worst night's sleep.

We knew we had a tough section to cycle to Port en Bessin so chose a good hotel as a treat. First impressions were good. Nice location by the docks and friendly reception staff. The girl on duty didn't speak much English but was patient while I absorbed the information. There is a secure shed with a combination lock at the rear which is purpose-built to hold bikes - a very good idea.

Our room was at the back, modern and with a very nice bathroom and shower. We had a very nice meal in town and then crashed out for the night. Both of us were awake again within an hour - the bed was rock-hard and the pillows were uncomfortable (they were hard and one was not enough but two were too much). We mentioned this when checking out and were met with a smile and a Gallic shrug. We won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A lovely spacious and clean hotel with everything you would need for a weekend away. We went specifically to do a tour of the D-Day beaches and then on the following day to go to Mont St Michel. We had a car so the station where we met our tour guide was not too far away. A short walk takes you to the docks where you can walk by the rough sea and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Optional breakfast was €9 a day and well worth it for a nice selection. I would recommend this place

Room Tip: No pool. Choose either car park facing or the dock facing. It's in a very quiet place so no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Made a two day trip to Normandy to see some World War 2. This hotel is very close to the beach (dont bring your bathing suits though, very rough seas) and by car you can get to Omaha beach and several other important places in 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked this hotel for a few days touring Normandy battlefield sites. It turned out to be so good, we booked it again this year. Hotel has all the facilities you would expect from a modern Ibis, wifi, nice buffet breakfast, clean modern bedrooms with good bathroom facilities. Port en Bessin is a perfectly sized little town with enough restaurants and bars to keep you interested for a week. Hotel had free motorcycle parking (secured out back) and faces directly onto the harbour.
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are bigger, but could be more prone to traffic noise. Not that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally situated in the port and therefore in walking distance of the restaurants and sea. A great base for exploring the area. Hotel is well run and the staff were friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others who are thinking of staying in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Address: 12 Quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin France/Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.