We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis, Port en Bessin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin to your Saves list
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ibis, Port en Bessin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good hotel, nice room, enjoyed buffet breakfast, will stay there again. Convenient for Normandy landing beaches, Bayeux tapestry, Caen Cathedral.
Port en Bessin is a working fishing village. It has several good restaurants within walking distance, and lots more if you don't mind a short drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    297
    56
    9
    5
See reviews for
112
293
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you are going to stay in this town Ibis is a good choice for modern, clean lodging. The building looks to be the newest in the harbor area and is located near many good cafes and restaurants that the locals frequent. The breakfast is a good value. The rooms are very basic, but clean and comfortable. Parking is free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Met our expectations of Ibis- pleasant fresh decor,very clean, a very comfortable bed, staff very pleaant and helpful. Port en Bessin is a charming little town. Great location for Bayeux and Omaha Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We wanted something near Bayeux as a base for the Normandy Beaches, the Tapestry and Mont Saint-Michel. We trust IBIS and this hotel was ideally placed. We were unsure when our SatNav directed us down country lanes and the IBIS signs took us through a small residential development and brought us to the car park at the back of and above the hotel. Our entry was on the top floor and we took the lift down to reception.
We know of the jokes about friendly rivalry between the French and English but the hotel staff were great throughout our five night stay. What was surprising was the fishing harbour scene on our doorstep as we walked out the hotel main entrance. The walk around the Port-en-Bessin was something we enjoyed at night, and it added an unexpected dimesion to our holiday.
It's only a five mile drive into Bayeux and is very well worth the effort.
Anyone who has tried to park in Bayeux will appreciate the ease of the free arrangements here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north devon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a Brittany Ferry deal. Chose hotel from reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Excellent value for money very clean and a good breakfast. All the staff were very friendly and the breakfast staff worked extremely hard making sure all food was replenished and fresh at a very busy time. Good parking comfortable bed, good shower and free wifi. Good restuarants within walking distance. We were allocated a rear view room and paid 10 Euro per night to upgrade to a harbour view which in retrospect probably was not worth it as we did not spend much time in the room. Excellent base for visiting area and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a great stay at the Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin in October 2012. It was a perfect base for visiting the D-Day beaches and I wish we had used it to visit Bayeux and Caen as well in hindsight. The staff was very helpful, the room was spotless, and the bed was comfortable. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the end of the port where you can walk up to an old tower, view the cliffs, and watch the tide come in where there are picture perfect rows of small boats lined up. There is also a small fish market to walk through on certain days (check with the hotel). You can easily walk to all the recommended restaurants as well. Parking is the only thing that's a little bit tricky - it is behind the hotel and you get there completely differently from driving to the front of the hotel. My best advice is to follow the small Ibis Parking signs at the traffic circles that start when you enter the town.

Enjoy the Normandy coast!

Room Tip: The front rooms have a port view, but you're still a considerable distance from most of the boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Address: 12 Quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin France/Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.