We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with Restaurant just 1 mile from the Ferry Port” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with Restaurant just 1 mile from the Ferry Port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Chose this hotel as we needed to be at the ferry terminal by 7.30am and it was a good choice.

Location is excellent for the ferry being less than 1 mile from the terminal but it is a little outside of the toen centre. We did walk into the town from the hotel but it did take three quarters of an hour and we felt that it was too far to walk out in the evening to eat at a retaurant in Ouistreham which meant that we needed to eat in.

Accomodation was modern, clean and comfortable with excellent shower room. Plenty of car parking.

The rertaurant served good food either a la carte or on the french 'menu' system which we chose offering 3 courses at €25 per head. We enjoyed the meal but found the drinks quite expensive. We left before breakfast, so can not comment on that.

Book directly on the hotel web site for a reasonable deal, we found that UK 'late bookings sites' said that the place had very limited space and quoted higher prices. We paid €69 for the double bedded room.

Room Tip: Book directly on the hotel web site for a reasonable deal, we found that UK 'late bookings sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    125
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
145
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cosse le Vivien, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our first time at this hotel and we were impressed. Very easy to find. No problem with parking, plenty of spaces. Quickly thro reception to a very quiet room. Very comfortable beds, superb shower room. We did not hear any other guests all the time we were there but the car park was full when we left so we know there were others staying. Very unusual and welcome!
Did not eat so cannot review the restaurant and we left early for our ferry without having breakfast.
Could not connect to the hotel wi-fi even with the code given out at reception and used an unsecured connection for the brief time we needed to be online.

A few minutes walk away there is a supermarket. a few shops and a McDonalds but it is a long walk to the centre of Ouistreham.

Room Tip: Our room faced away from the road so we had no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Chose this place for overnight stay after late arrival on Brittany ferry from Portsmouth. Our room was lovely - very new and nicely decorated. Comfy bed and a quiet night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent - everything on offer from fruit, yogurt, tasty bread and meat to a cooked breakfast.

We had intended to drive a while and stay in a cheaper brand hotel. However they were not that much cheaper and I was put off by reviews mentioning noisy locations. We had an excellent night's sleep and were up early for our long drive. Book and pay early for the best deals.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Would be expensive if paid full price. Minor items in bathroom were badly worn but clean and comfortable. Looks like nice restaurant but it was closed the night we were there and quite a way to walk into town on a wet and cold night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed here twice so far.
only 1-2 minutes from ferry port.

Hotel is very modern and clean.
rooms are spacious and practical for short stays.

no bar- drinks served to you in lounge area.

Restaurant closes at 9.00pm

Restaurant- good food, fixed menu ( good standard A la Carte) approx £15 -£35 per person range

location is good, just off main road with dedicated parking inside hotel grounds.

I will definately use again.
staff really helpful.

Basic hotel, very funcional for overnight stays if you are arriving or leaving caen ferry port

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I needed a stopover after just having done an evening ferry crossing from Portsmouth and this proved to be a good selection.
Excellent Location, attentive staff and good facilities.
I would use it again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

2 mins from ferry queue, private car park, clean, modern, adequate rooms. Not much to do in the evening in town, but Caen is only 20 mins drive away where there is much more choice of restaurants etc. You might have problems getting into the car park if arriving back late though. Wifi wasn't working when we were there (annoyingly).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Address: 68 Rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.