We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight ferry stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Ouistreham
St Aignan Sur Roe
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overnight ferry stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our first time at this hotel and we were impressed. Very easy to find. No problem with parking, plenty of spaces. Quickly thro reception to a very quiet room. Very comfortable beds, superb shower room. We did not hear any other guests all the time we were there but the car park was full when we left so we know there were others staying. Very unusual and welcome!
Did not eat so cannot review the restaurant and we left early for our ferry without having breakfast.
Could not connect to the hotel wi-fi even with the code given out at reception and used an unsecured connection for the brief time we needed to be online.

A few minutes walk away there is a supermarket. a few shops and a McDonalds but it is a long walk to the centre of Ouistreham.

Room Tip: Our room faced away from the road so we had no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    96
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
120
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Chose this place for overnight stay after late arrival on Brittany ferry from Portsmouth. Our room was lovely - very new and nicely decorated. Comfy bed and a quiet night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent - everything on offer from fruit, yogurt, tasty bread and meat to a cooked breakfast.

We had intended to drive a while and stay in a cheaper brand hotel. However they were not that much cheaper and I was put off by reviews mentioning noisy locations. We had an excellent night's sleep and were up early for our long drive. Book and pay early for the best deals.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Would be expensive if paid full price. Minor items in bathroom were badly worn but clean and comfortable. Looks like nice restaurant but it was closed the night we were there and quite a way to walk into town on a wet and cold night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed here twice so far.
only 1-2 minutes from ferry port.

Hotel is very modern and clean.
rooms are spacious and practical for short stays.

no bar- drinks served to you in lounge area.

Restaurant closes at 9.00pm

Restaurant- good food, fixed menu ( good standard A la Carte) approx £15 -£35 per person range

location is good, just off main road with dedicated parking inside hotel grounds.

I will definately use again.
staff really helpful.

Basic hotel, very funcional for overnight stays if you are arriving or leaving caen ferry port

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I needed a stopover after just having done an evening ferry crossing from Portsmouth and this proved to be a good selection.
Excellent Location, attentive staff and good facilities.
I would use it again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

2 mins from ferry queue, private car park, clean, modern, adequate rooms. Not much to do in the evening in town, but Caen is only 20 mins drive away where there is much more choice of restaurants etc. You might have problems getting into the car park if arriving back late though. Wifi wasn't working when we were there (annoyingly).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Easy to locate and excellent welcome. We stayed for 3 nights while visiting the D-Day landing beaches with friends. Rooms were very good, clean comfortable and air conditioned. Breakfast was €13, but I felt was pretty good value when compared to other hotels and what you have. Hot sausages and scrambled egg, mix of cold meats, fresh cheeses, bread rolls, toast, jams, fruit, cerials, crossants, etc. Hot tea, coffee or chocolate.
Did not eat in the restaurant in the evening as it was a bit pricy and unless you love fish, seemed rather restricted in choice. However, 1 kilometre up the road to Ouistreham, several restaurants with massive choices all situated around a square with a large car park in the middle.

Room Tip: 1 Kilometre up the road toward Ouistreham is a square surrounded by restaurants with plenty of choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Address: 68 Rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.