We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I needed a stopover after just having done an evening ferry crossing from Portsmouth and this proved to be a good selection.
Excellent Location, attentive staff and good facilities.
I would use it again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

2 mins from ferry queue, private car park, clean, modern, adequate rooms. Not much to do in the evening in town, but Caen is only 20 mins drive away where there is much more choice of restaurants etc. You might have problems getting into the car park if arriving back late though. Wifi wasn't working when we were there (annoyingly).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wallwalker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Easy to locate and excellent welcome. We stayed for 3 nights while visiting the D-Day landing beaches with friends. Rooms were very good, clean comfortable and air conditioned. Breakfast was €13, but I felt was pretty good value when compared to other hotels and what you have. Hot sausages and scrambled egg, mix of cold meats, fresh cheeses, bread rolls, toast, jams, fruit, cerials, crossants, etc. Hot tea, coffee or chocolate.
Did not eat in the restaurant in the evening as it was a bit pricy and unless you love fish, seemed rather restricted in choice. However, 1 kilometre up the road to Ouistreham, several restaurants with massive choices all situated around a square with a large car park in the middle.

Room Tip: 1 Kilometre up the road toward Ouistreham is a square surrounded by restaurants with plenty of choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 427Hedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night on way back to UK (less than 5 mins from ferry terminal). Clean, modern...Rooms not large but adequate. Helpful staff, good parking, close to town. Restaurant is small but food is excellent. Had dinner here, would have been happy to pay twice as much in a 5 star establishment for the same meal. If you stay here be sure to reserve for dinner.

Room Tip: No noisy rooms.Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for one night before catching an early ferry. The hotel had been recommended to me by my parents who often stay here before/after ferries.

The room was lovely, very modern, comfy bed, good shower all we could need. We had dinner at the resturant and had a lovely meal a great way to end our holiday.

We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twizbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed overnight on 10 August after our ferry crossing. Very well located for ferry terminal. Staff on duty was very pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and well presented. We booked the room through expedia and paid £60. Car parking was also available. Didnt have breakfast so cant comment. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night in June 2012. Ideally located for the ferry terminal. Modern and contemporary room with a comfy bed and excellent shower. Wi-fi wasn't working when we were at the hotel. Some of the staff don't speak English but they were extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend as a stopover when catching the ferry to England

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouistreham
1.3 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#5 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
1.2 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Address: 68 Rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing