We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop before the ferry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Ouistreham
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great stop before the ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for one night before catching an early ferry. The hotel had been recommended to me by my parents who often stay here before/after ferries.

The room was lovely, very modern, comfy bed, good shower all we could need. We had dinner at the resturant and had a lovely meal a great way to end our holiday.

We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    84
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
103
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed overnight on 10 August after our ferry crossing. Very well located for ferry terminal. Staff on duty was very pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and well presented. We booked the room through expedia and paid £60. Car parking was also available. Didnt have breakfast so cant comment. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in June 2012. Ideally located for the ferry terminal. Modern and contemporary room with a comfy bed and excellent shower. Wi-fi wasn't working when we were at the hotel. Some of the staff don't speak English but they were extremely friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend as a stopover when catching the ferry to England

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The price was right for our Normandy excursion home base - 84 euros for a night, so we knew it wasn't a Hyatt. More important than the price, though, was the advertised air-conditioning and wi-fi, neither of which worked the first night. They eventually got the air-conditioning going, but the wi-fi never worked in the rooms the five days we were there. It did eventually work in the lobby (decorated, I might add, with four pictures of the same totally naked guy hugging four different totally naked women.....how that fits in with families or their fish theme, I don't know!)....anyway, my husband and I took to sitting in the lobby of an evening to check Email, etc. The line of new guests oming up to inquire about wi-fi always got the same response....there were problems that night and it would be fixed soon! I would think at some point management would be ashamed to keep perpetuating this myth. That said, the hotel staff was pleasant. Rooms are very small -there are no drawers and little room to store anything. As a previous post commented, the coffee cups have no handles, so the coffee can't be drunk until it cools! The first question we were asked on checking in was "did we want to make a reservation for dinner?". Having just driven 6 hours from Metz, we just wanted to relax, but the implication was that it was now or never....okay, so we went with it. The food was okay, but the wait staff was annoyed that we did not want the traditional three course French meal. The idea that having driven all day, with no exercise, our taste might be for a small entree just didn't cut it. We had breakfast one morning, but for 13 euros a person, it's a lot of bread and cheese. A Macdonalds 1/2 mile down the road with free and easy wi-fi access grew to be a favorite for breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Inn South Wales
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Excellent modern hotel just on roundabout to ferry port.
Stopped over on return from Vendee intended to eat out in Quistreham,but due to the weather decided to stay in (It was raining cats and dogs)
Booked evening meal in hotel what a lucky find had set menu with a bottle of wine and the food and wine was of the highest order efficient excellent staff and reasonably priced.
Just what we needed before heading home.
WIFi not working in room but connected in bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Excellent new hotel, located not far from Ouistreham ferry port...lovely modern decor, rooms are perfectly formed, small bathroom however, not cramped due to the well designed lay-out...brilliant small touches in the bedrooms, quirky mugs (no handles, so just wait for them to cool down! but great all the same!)...Very quiet location, just a short 5 minute drive to restaurants, however, the hotel restaurant looked lovely, it was just a very quiet Tuesday night when we stayed, and we didnt want to be the only ones dining. However, breakfast was enjoyable, although a little unorganised, noone was about to let us know where we could be seated or offer tea or coffee...(which were payable at a supplement)...this isn't a problem for us though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Clean and warm hotel placed in a good location: nearby the city of Caen and Normandy coast.
The staff reception: kind and helpful.
The room- clean with a comfortable bed, electric kettle and cofee/tea products and a normal T.V monitor.
Parking: free and attached to the hotel.
Bathroom: clean and comfortable, pictures enclosed.
Internet: WI-FI free. No Internet station.
The restaurant: the evening meal is one of best and worth any Euro. Don’t forget to make a reservation for it.
Near the church in the center town there is a splendid patisserie – you must try the cheese- basil- pecan nut bun.

Room Tip: take a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Address: 68 Rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.