We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison d'a Cote

La Maison d'a Cote
25 Rue de Chambord, 41350 Montlivault, Chambord, France
+33 2 54 20 62 30
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $28 - $128
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: La Maison d'A Cote is an hotel-restaurant situated on the village's place near the castle of Chambord. Christophe Hay and his team welcome you to enjoy fine french gastronomic cuisine around local products and wines. BE AWARE: week-closing's days are TUESDAYS and WEDNESDAYS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The whole experience provided by Christopher Hay and his passionate team was simply fabulous: warm welcome, exquisite food and wine, and a talented team sharing with passion their cuisine and products.

We came along with some friends early November for lunch. We chose the "Carte Blanche" menu (7 course meal with wine pairing) and discovered great local products and wines.
The attention to details was really impressive: each course was greatly presented and their origin and composition was clearly explained by the passionate members of the squad.

Every single course was a perfect combination of top quality products (fish,meat, vegetables from the garden,...) and innovative ideas. The association of wines was a real pleasure too.

In a nutshell, I strongly recommend this restaurant to all food lovers who want to discover wonderful flavours and have an unforgettable experience.

Congratulations to Christophe Hay and his super talented team and all the very best.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Not to miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I came here for dinner on Thursday, October 9th, 2014. We both had the 7 course meal with wine pairings. It was a highlight of our trip to France, and was one of the best dinners I have had.

The chef is very friendly. He came out at the start of the meal to ask if we had any questions about the menu. A nice touch that I haven’t seen before is each course is presented to you by someone from the kitchen. It is clear that everyone is very passionate about food. Most of the staff speak English.

The dishes presented a wide variety of intense flavours. Highlights were carrots from their garden, locally caught fish, and local beans. One thing that stood out was everything was cooked just enough to have the best texture, including squid, scallops, and chicken. The presentation is excellent. The bread from the local baker, which included a traditional baguette and cornflour bread, was out of this world. The portion sizes were just right — enough to satisfy the appetite, but not so much that you couldn’t enjoy every course. The sommelier offered very good wine pairings, which were a mixture of wines from the region and elsewhere in France.

If you are in the area, this restaurant is unmissable.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poularde "Dame Noire"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We came for our wedding anniversary in May and returned for lunch in September with some French friends. They were boulversee by the delicate flavours and refined tastes of the whole meal. Very good service with explanations of all the dishes and help with choosing a local wine from the sommelier. We had the set price lunch at 45 euros and enjoyed every morsel. We again chose la poularde which came en "deux services", the leg roasted and the thigh and the breast under the top lid of the little casserole was poached. Fantastic!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancherster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant is great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

The chef is on route to get at least one if not Michelin stars. Get there while it is still cheap (well it's not that cheap, but prices will certainly go north once he gets some stars). The only downside is the decoration which looks more like as trendy bar and does not really fit with the local environment

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caracas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superbe experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We came by chance recommended by another restaurant with two kids 7 and 12.
The restaurant is beautifully decorated, The chef presents himself so kind and willing to please
You,we chose the 5 course dégustation, for the kids he prepared a fantastic veal with potatoes and his own farm caerrots.

Our meal was an experience I recommend to true gourmets, willing to enjoy an incredibly well presented, full of flavors, exquisite dish.

It remind me of the best meals I have had at Per Se and Arzak.

Do not miss this place if you are around and if not it is worth the drive.

Thank you to Chistophe and his super team...everyone was kind and attentive.

The Benatars.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison d'a Cote also viewed

 
Cande-sur-Beuvron, Blois
Blois, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Maison d'a Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison d'a Cote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.