We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific - like France used to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Losset

Hotel Losset
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Losset to your Saves list
Hotel Losset
Place de l'Eglise, 21640 Flagey-Echezeaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
watford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Terrific - like France used to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a great hotel for a stopover or for touring Burgundy (it's between Beaune and Dijon and notfar from the motorway). Spacious room and bathroom, immaculately clean, well-furnished and comfortable at a very reasonable price. Great beds. A quiet village (with a church bell). The breakfast is memorable. No minibar or tea-making facilities - thank goodness. Only English TV channel the dreadful CNN - again, thank goodness. There are great restaurants around, along with winemakers to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Theis hotel is run by robert losset who had a restaurant in the same building until 9 years ago, where i had several nice meals in the past. Now restaurant by someone else and the Lossets built the hotel with only 7 rooms. Had 110 euro room, very spacious, with entry hall and 3 doors for separate toilet, very spacious bathroom wit separate shower and bath, and bedroom with adjoining twin beds. A little hard. Sitting area, large room for price, in room safe, empty refrigerator, heating and aircon, in quiet village on the other side of the route nationale from wine area, but very close. Free wifi not working in my room, ok in lobby. 10 euro for breakfast which was extremely good, with refined fresh fruit cups, egg dish, clearly showing a touch from formerly classic chef working with quality products. Decor is not design or fashionable, but classic and dated, but very high quality building quality. A gem in this touristy area, with afew little issues, easily forgiven

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We used the hotel as a stop over on our way to the French Alps for a skiing Holiday, not on the highway, but 5 minutes from the Nuits-St-Georges exit in the countryside. We used booking.com to secure the room and were upgraded to one of the bigger rooms as we were travelling as a family of 3. Good matresses, little seating area and roomy bathroom with tub and separate shower. Not very fancy, but all of good quality.

The breakfast is well worth the Euro 10, fresh fruits, home baked rolls, home smoked salmon and cheeses.

I can imagine that it would also be a good location to venture out into the Burgundy area - but we did not do it. The village itself is quiet - but there is an excellent restaurant next door for your quality evening meal. One thing to remember, the hotel is next to the church, so you will hear the clock from time to time. No traffic noise though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First things first - do not rely on satnav to find the address you will possibly end up in neighbouring village with very similiar location details and unless you find a friendly lady in a church garden who will show you way, it can be frustrating to say the least! However, after driving around the district which is very picturesque I managed to find this sweet family hotel and it was absolutely fine.
It is in the middle of the village right across from the church and those bells do go off at 7.30am, but thats to be expected and was part of the adventure. Large room two full queen beds, armoire, sofa and huge bathroom. All exceptionally clean and spacious and I slept very well after a long day in the car. It is really close to the main B road into Nuits St Georges and only 20 minutes to Beaune. A great place to rest up, chill, take some walks around the miles of paths and enjoy the country side.
One note to non French speakers and I can read it very well but struggle to hold a conversation, the owners do not really speak a lot of English so smile a lot, have everything printed out for your reservation. They are a lovely mature couple and obviously have a lot of pride in serving their customers. Breakfast was included but I really didn't worry too much about this, but it looked fairly straightforward, fruit, juice, tea, coffee, breads, eggs if you wanted them cooked etc. The countryside around is gorgeous and I would probably stay here again if I was going on a longer sojourne in the area although my preference is in Beaune so as to walk home after drinks and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This can be a little difficult to find but well-worth the search. Hotel Losset is in a lovely little village with the real feeling of being in Burgunday. The location is great with a short drive to lots of interesting sights in the area. The room was just beautiful...large and so attractive. The bathroom was also large and all decor was first class. We did not book the breakfast (10 euros) but suspect it would have been of the same quality as the room. The only drawback for some folks might be the early tolling of the church bells across the street. However, who wants to waste time sleeping in when you are in such lovely countryside. This hotel is a little gem. We speak very little French but managed to communicate with the owner who provided some helpful material for our visit. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Each year for the last five years, as we travel to the south of France or to Italy, we take a break at the Hotel Lossett. We found it by chance when we didn't fancy paying E300+ for B & B in nearby Nuits St Georges and it never lets us down. It is in a tiny hamlet so don't expect any nightlife or even shops, though there are two wineries and there is a wonderful cheesemaker in the next village. You couldn't get a fresher breakfast and the Lossetts are charming. The Hotel rooms we have stayed in are more like suites and the breakfasts are so fresh. The added bonus is Restaurant Simon which is within the building (closed Sunday nights and possibly Mondays) but is a separate business so you have to make your own booking. It used to be run by Robert Lossett but Monsieur Simon is a worthy successor. You would have to go some way to beat the food in the restaurant as well as the breakfasts in the hotel.

Hotel Lossett -------
Reataurant Simon -----------

Room Tip: Simply ask to see what is available when you arrive but all the ones we have stayed in have had a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our second visit to the hotel. Booked one of their superior rooms this time with a large balcony overlooking the small garden.( Their normal rooms are very spacious anyway) Extremely comfortable and enjoyable stay. Great breakfast with homemade preserves and breads. Charming little village surrounded by vineyards and dominated by the church. The hotel doesnt have a restaurant but the Simon Restaurant is right next door. Doesnt open on Sunday or Wenesday though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Losset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Losset

Address: Place de l'Eglise, 21640 Flagey-Echezeaux, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Flagey-Echezeaux
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flagey-Echezeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Losset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Losset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.