We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Plat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Plat to your Saves list
Villas Plat
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Plat 47, Plat 20207, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Plat
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service, asked for sea view and got it. Spacious room, only complaint was the damp smell under the sink. Other then that no complaints. Pool area was amazing and pool bar was great. Sea was freezing cold but the salt swimming pool was more then enough to keep us happy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    88
    24
    18
    6
See reviews for
40
89
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday in Villas Plat. Our studio was lovely & large & cleaned to a high standard every day. The kitchen area is tiny and not very well eqipped so take can opener, bottle opener, corkscrew etc. We did not have a sea view so would sit at the pool bar to watch the sunsets.The pool area is absolutely delightful although it can get rather busy, the surrounding beaches are lovely with crystal clear water. We ate twice at Kings restaurant on both occasions all our food was first class. If you carry on past Kings up on the main road is a pizza resturant Zupcica. We ate there 4 times and it was excellent value for money. There is nothing in the resort of Plat so best to head into Cavat on the local bus for the restaurants & bars. Bus drivers are really helpful (as were all the Croatians that we spoke to) and will let you know when to get off the bus in Plat so that you do not miss the stop! The hotel offer a mini bus service into Dubrovnik which you have to book although the boat is a lovely way to get there as well. We did all the sites in Dubrovnik, best to do the city walls as late in the day as possible to avoid the crowds as well as the heat. The cable car is a must. At the war museum you will see a photo of the derilict Hotel Ambassardor opposite Kings when it was hit during the war in 1991. We personally were dissapointed with our trip to the Island of Lokrum. We felt that just a couple of hours was enough to see all there was. So, best of both words because pool area perfect for just cillaxing and yet close to see all that Dubrovnik has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have just come back after an 11 night stay at Villas Plat and had a wonderful time. As a travel agent myself, I browsed many a hotel for my stay in Croatia but so glad I picked Villas Plat.
If you are looking for a relaxing quiet holiday, whilst still near enough to reach the City of Dubrovnik easily and the surrounding places, this is the resort for you. I would request to be in a lower Villa for older travellers who may have difficulty walking as the Villas are up quite a hill, though if you don't mind the steps, i'd request a Villa at the top as the sea views are absolutely breath-taking and the sunsets over the sea and hills are incredible (request a sea view at time of booking). We were in Villa Diana and we found our apartment to be very clean, and surprisingly big - Our studio had a HUGE and very comfortable bed, an archway into a dining/kitchen area and a big balcony with a table for dinner at night. Air con and a fan kept the room nice and cool. The Villas were so quiet, I certainly had a good night sleep away! Anything you might need additionally (we asked for a bottle opener and a tin opener) the reception are extremely helpful and will provide anything you need very quickly.
We were on a self catering basis, but you can go down for breakfast in Hotel Orphee whenever you fancy it and they will charge it to your room at 65 Kuna a breakfast per person (around £6-7) - There is a large selection of hot English breakfast,toast, croissants, yogurts, fruit etc.
I would say if you staying self catering you might want to think about taking your own provisions such as coffee, teas, home comforts etc as the mini market in the resort is very limited - with no fresh fruit or vedge, however it is very easy to get to the shops in Cavtat and Dubrovnik.
In regards to transport to places nearby, there is the local bus, private hotel shuttles, and water taxis. The cheapest way to get around is by far the local bus, at 15 Kuna (around £1.60) one way you really can't argue, however it is up a rather steep hill which takes around 20-30 mins to climb.
But, a really big tip - if you walk up the steps of Villas Plat and keep walking right to the top past Villas Diana and follow the paving there is a huge short cut up the bus stop which cuts your walking time, and only took us 5-10 minutes to get up to the bus stop this way.
The nicest way of getting around is by water taxi though it more expensive than other methods of transport - we used the 11:00 pm last water taxi to get from Dubrovnik to Plat which was a nice way to end the evening, but it does take quite a long time I warn you to get back (around an hour). It can be good to mix and match how you get around as the shuttle minibus provided by the reception (must be booked in advance at the desk) takes you right from reception (no hills!) to Cavtat or Dubvrovnik straight into the Old Town, and then maybe the bus back as you can walk down the hill - they all run at funny times so make sure you ask for timetables for all methods of transport at reception.
Excursions: I'd recommend the water taxi company Vivado for their Elaphite Island cruise and fish picnic excursion - very reasonable prices, drinks and food included - a great way to see the islands.
I'd also recommend seeing Korcula - very beautiful island. A must-do is the cable car in Dubvronik - amazing views across the city and a sobering war museum which must be visited to really appreciate what the country has been through. If you interested in the museums, we bought one ticket at the museum 'Rector's Palace' and this gained us entry to a few more museums around Dubrovnik which was valid for a week.
We throughly enjoyed going to Island Lokrum off Dubrovnik - not much hype about this, and I can see why it is the best kept secret - pretty salt lake 'the dead sea', an ancient fort, a monastery turned cafe, stunning gardens, a cafe with live guitar music, wild roaming peacocks, rocky beaches, olive groves - these are some of the gems to be seen on the island.
In terms of meals, I will mention that you must eat at Kings restaurant up the hill during your stay - I can't stress enough how good their service, food and atmosphere is. Their steaks are possibly the best i've every eaten, and they make you feel very welcome! Just make sure you go quite early, as they do get quite full.
Another restaurant which we wanted to eat at was Taj Mahal in Dubrovnik which serves Bosnian food - it is rated very highly in many guide books, we went passed and the food looked delicious - however you need to make a reservation for at least the night before as we made the mistake of turning up on the eve and being turned away. Just a heads up, we found the service in Dubrovnik restaurants really poor - you'll be lucky to get a how was a meal or even a smile once you've sat down - unfortunately I think it is a case of pressurised competition of other restaurants and a quick turn around on tables. We found Cavat had a lovely harbour with many restaurants and the food and the service was great.
Back to Villas Plat, the swimming pool gets quite busy and there can be quite a battle for umbrellas, so if you are planning to have a pool day, I would get yourself down to the pool for when it opens at 10 if you want to secure shade and a sun bed! If you prefer the beach, there are two lovely private shingle beaches on the complex which were perfect for a spot of sunbathing.
Another mention to the reception staff, particularly Therese - they were incredibly friendly, helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. My partner and I spent our birthday's at Villas Plat, and they went the extra mile and provided birthday wine and gifts - thank you Villas Plat for being such a unique and special place - I will definitely recommend you to all!

Room Tip: Villa Diana at the top has the best sea views and are probably the quietest - don't go for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Holidayed in villas plat Mlini last week in June. First thing I would say is don't be put off by first impressions. Hotel lobby looks a bit like somebody's set up a stall. However, once I got up to my room and took in those sea views I started to appreciate why people fall in love with this place. Swimming pool excellent for children & adults with a very efficient bar staff. I don't normally bother with hotel entertainment but this place offered quite high quality shows. A great location to go by boat(a must!) to Dubrovnik one way or Cavtat the other. The breakfast was so good you really don't need to eat again till dinner (although I couldn't resist a fish lunch in Cavtat). Dinner was excellent too. The wild cats that roam around the tables outside were charming and put on a nightly acrobatic display to entice us to feed them. If you don't like cats, eat inside. Very good, enthusiastic and surprisingly young chefs. This is one of those places you could go back to for years and never tire of it. Charming people whose hospitality really takes you back to the way things were done everywhere a long time ago (perhaps before I was born) and ought to be done today in holiday resorts everywhere. Would definitely come back

Room Tip: Higher floors for a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'm 22 (male) and I've recently returned from Villas Plat with 3 friends (1 male & 2 female). We stayed within the first week of June 2013 and booked with Jet2Holidays. Hopefully this review is a good guide for you. Let me know if you find it helpful. We paid £420 each for self catering.

Benefits:
- Amazing view with a drinks and food bar by the sun lounge area plus a massage parlour as well if you're feeling achy. (pics attached)
- Staff are very friendly and accommodating to any questions you have around the area. They speak fluent English.
- The hotel is well situated. A 15 min drive from the airport but also a 20 min bus journey to the old town.
- A good number of british within the resort as well as other europeans too (especially french).
- Make sure you spend an evening at the king's restaurant which is just 5 min walk from the resort. The seafood their is magnificent.
- The hotel is a mini complex which provides a swing area, mini market, hair dressers, tattoo parlour and night entertainment. They also provide BBQ beach Tuesday! However no sandy beaches exist in Dubrovnik :(. Just pebble/stone.
- A large beer in the resort is 10 kuna and is one of the cheapest prices within all of Dubrovnik. Cannot argue with that


Things the hotel can improve on:
- All bars (sun lounge area & reception area) within the resort closed at 11, which is far too early if you've had a long day in the old town and want a few relaxing drinks afterwards.
- The rooms are basic for the description of a 'studio'. You're provided a fridge, sink, two cooking stoves and no sink. Our view wasn't great, we just had a blocked view of one of the other apartments.

Things to look out for:
- Make sure you agree a taxi fare prior to getting in a cab. They absolutely fleece the tourist if you do not agree an initial fair. We once paid over 300 kuna (over £30) for a 20 minute taxi ride into the old town.
- You must visit the island Lokrum, its a beautiful island which includes the 'botanical gardens' right next to Dubrovnik and is only 40 kuna boat ride (return). Pics attached below of the mini cave we found with a pool. Try and find it as well!
- Something that might be worth exploring is some of the neighbouring countries. We hired a car and drove to Mostar, Bosnia which only took 3 hours to get there. There's also coaches available via the Jet2 rep for either Bosnia or Montenegro.
- Check the weather in early summer. We were forecasted to have thunderstorms every day whilst we were there, however, it ended up being quite sunny with bright spells consistent throughout the day, so be conscious of when you are planning to go and what the weather is like for that period.
- There's also an abandoned hotel just 5 mins up the road which is worth exploring. It shows bullet holes in and around the building which give you a sense of what Dubrovnik was like 20 years ago. Speak to the locals to understand the background of the place.

To sum up, if you've chosen Dubrovnik as you're place to be this summer, then I strongly recommend you choose Villas Plat. Value for money and the best pool view I have had the pleasure to bask in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've just come back on the 6th June from a 2 week holiday in Croatia and stayed at Villas Plat and I must say I am totally amazed! It won't be our last visit to Croatia and won't be our last stay at Villas Plat. We stayed in the Villa Celia block of apartments and it was brilliant - we had the most fantastic view from the massive balcony. Our first impressions of the apartment were just how clean and big it was. Our 9 year old had a separate bedroom to himself with cabin bunk beds and a wardrobe. There are 2 double wardrobes in the corridor and plenty drawers in the living/bedroom area. There is a full bathroom and another separate toilet and sink. The apartment was cleaned every day and to a high standard. The whole of the complex is kept very very clean. ALL the staff we found to be exceptionally friendly and very helpful, the staff on reception are brilliant, full of information and nothing was too much trouble, they were extremely pleasant every time we spoke to anyone and made a big fuss of our son.
Plat itself is quite a quiet resort, perfect for relaxing by the beach and the pool. There is a shuttle bus run by the hotel that takes you from the reception straight to Ploce gate so you're straight into the Old City. It;s 55 kuna each return and 30 Kuna one way - you need to book with reception, They also do water taxis during the day to Cavtat which is another resort nearby and that has more restaurants if you fancy a change of pace. We ate at the Hotel Orphee buffet a couple of nights which was a little small but there was plenty of food and staff were very attentive. We also ate at Taverna Plat a few times which does have the most amazing view of the sunset and lovely food and again very good staff. We found a small local run restaurant just past Taverna Plat I think it's called Taverna Posydien and again that is well worth going to, although it is all outside eating with no cover so pray it doesn't rain. We also went to Kings - it opens at 7pm and I can agree with everyone else on here, it is a brilliant atmosphere, family run by lovely people and you can watch your food being prepared it the big oven and sample the home made liquers.
Dubrovnik is a must to visit - if you want to do a few things I would recommend buying the Dubrovnik card, we bought a 3 day one at 130 kuna each which got us into the city walls (90kuna alone for the walls) and entrance to 10 museums and art galleries. Its well worth paying to go on the cable car as well, the museum relating to the homeland war is humbling and the view of Dubrovnik is oustanding. Children are free in most museums and art galleries (up to age 14 I think).
All in all we had a brilliant holiday and we would definitely recommend Villas Plat to anyone looking to go to Croatia and looking for a base near Dubrovnik where you can also have some relax time too.

Room Tip: Ask for Villa Celia or Diana as they are higher up and will offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a lovely room with a nice view. Unfortunately, we were not there long enough to enjoy all of the wonderful activites offered bythe resort. We came in very late at night from the Dubrovnik airport and were treated very well with considerate , helpful personnel. When we return to Croatia, we will definitely be staying at villas Plat for a restful and time in a beautiful spot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Plat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Plat

Address: Plat 47, Plat 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Plat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Plat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Plat 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Plat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Plat Hotel Plat
Villas Plat Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Plat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.