We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarillo

Tamarillo
Petra Kresimira IV 1a, Baska Voda 21320, Croatia
385 0 21 620 350
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Baska Voda
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Got a dinner and all we can say - perfect. Nice place to have a romantic evening, good location, helpful staff. Go&enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food with amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This is not your typical Croatian coastal restaurant. All of them normally serve the exact same items. This restaurant goes above and beyond that. The owner Augustine is an awesome guy who personally makes sure everything is perfect. He has great taste in wines and runs his restaurant like a true fine dining experience. The food is the best in Baska Voda (I am here every year) and everything is scratch made. You pay a little more but you get a quality above what you pay. It's a Baska Voda must!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good if limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited twice when in Baska Voda. The first time we had a typical Croation meal which was excellent. The second visit was maybe not so good as when we visit a country, we like to experience the local customs, entertainment, food and wine. The shame was the menu was mainly geared to tourist food, which was ok if you wanted German, Italian or food other than Croatian, which we did not. Although it was fine the second time and the local wine was excellent ( Croatian wine is coming along in huge leaps and bounds ) it just didn't have the same feel. Don't get me wrong, it is a very good place, the service excellent and the food can be very good, it just lacked a little something for us on our second visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant once again, this time with family and had a superb meal.
The chef presents the dishes with a special flair and each offering is so good on the eye that one can't wait to dig in!
The food is delicious and we can recommend the John Dory fillets on a bed of risotto and the Bikini mixed meat platter with French fries.
The serving staff are friendly and obliging and the owner Augustine is so helpful.
We were a little surprised by another reviewer who said the décor and ambience was poor as we have always found both the inside and outside a pleasure to behold.
An absolute gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although we visited over a year ago I can still remember how good the snails were! The food and ambience were very enjoyable. We look forward to returning shortly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarillo also viewed

Baska Voda, Split-Dalmatia County
Baska Voda, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Baska Voda, Split-Dalmatia County
Baska Voda, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Tamarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.