We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Restaurant

King Restaurant
Iza Placa 3, Baska Voda, Croatia
0038521620640
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Baska Voda
Price range: $6 - $100
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Romania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went there 4 times and each time we had some seafood. I strongly recommend the Frittura (fried calamari and shrimps with potatoes) and the shrimp cream soup. The wine was also great and this truly is a place to enjoy a bottle of good wine.
The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed but also more formal than in other restaurants in Baska Voda.
The service was outstanding. There are only 4 people in total, including the man who I suspect is the manager (chapeau bas! to him), who welcome and serve the guests and they always treat each and every customer with great care. People who stand in queue are served a free drink at the bar until a table becomes available.
There is always somebody to check if everything is ok at each table and to greet you.
Reservations are recommended as the place is full especially from around 7pm to 9 pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    31
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great food, wine, service and atmosphere! We enjoyed our meal so much that we went back the next night as well. In this tourist town we (thankfully) felt like we were off the tourist track here, despite it being packed with holidaymakers. It's quite expensive but worth every penny. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibenik, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were lucky to get a table without reservation.
The service is very good. The food and wine were excellent and recommended by the restaurant owner.
Each guest was served in a very special way. So you really felt welcomed.

I definitely would recommend to make reservations upfront.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic family and fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The tomato soup is superb but the prawn soup is amazing. Good seafood and nice Dalmatian meat. Friendly and professional staff. Recommended to reserve a table in advance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked a table the day before so that we also could order the leg of veal (which needs to be ordered the day before). We were met by the best staff we have encountered in Croatia and served a great dinner. The owner and his daughters (?) were observant and really truly professionals without losing the personal touch! When we ordered more than we needed they even told us we might want to reconsider, making sure we didn`t order more than we could handle. They made our dinner a dinner to remember and we will definitely be back if we are even close by!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Restaurant also viewed

Baska Voda, Split-Dalmatia County
Baska Voda, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Baska Voda, Split-Dalmatia County
Baska Voda, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.