We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions of average quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Ribarska koliba

Konoba Ribarska koliba
Obala Marsala Tita 1, Veli Losinj 51551, Croatia
+385 (0)51 236 235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Veli Losinj
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Large portions of average quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I ate grilled calamari. It was a large portion, I was hungry but could not eat more than 60%. The taste was acceptable and I got quite much parsley with garlic extra, what I liked, but it was at least 20 times too much. Personaly I am more in quality than in quantity and this restaurant is just the opposite. The red wine of the house that we ordered was of a quite bad quality. The two of us got a whole bread, sliced. This was not home made bread. We have not ordered it or ate it. It is simply a lot of food of average quality on the table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice location, bad food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location of the restaurant is really nice, directly at the waterfront in Veli Lošinj. Everything else is bad. The low quality meet was badly prepared. The wine... it should not be called wine. During the order the waiter turned away to chat with a friend. I often spend my vacation in that corner of the Adria, but I will certainly not come back in this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice food, no wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This restaurant was quite full in the evening when we visited Veli Lošinj, which usually means the food is good, so we chose it for dinner. We ordered different sea food dishes (girice, buzare...), everything tasted wonderful.
The atmosphere was nice and relaxed, they also have a lot of space for larger groups and cute tables at the seafront for couples, with a romantic view.
Their home baked bread buns were excellent.
The staff is nice, polite, helpful, toilets are clean, prices acceptable for such a trendy place.
The only minus point is the fact that they don't have any wi-fi for their guests, which would be a neccessity for such a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Amazing Fresh Fish and Brick Oven Bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went here on the first day we arrived. Ordered the fish player for two. Amazingly fresh fish, best squid I ever had, and toasty bread. Large round brick oven cooked. Amazing. Great way to start off the first day on the island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in whole area...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

As a world wide traveler and having a lot of meals in different restaurants (Worldwide cuisines), strongly can recommend this restaurant as a great place hidden from city rush but close to every event in place. Personally every time I visited Veli Losinj I had great dinning of excellent seafood, shrimps from region (very rare to find in any restaurant except reservation of minimum 1 week before - here it is available daily). Dinning there you can see modern sailing boats, yachts and old touristic wooden ships in one place making you travel through the time in one picture. Romantic, excellent service, wine presentation, food recommendation from restaurant crew. Between all restaurants in region comparing prices, food quality, service and place, this one is the best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Ribarska koliba also viewed

Veli Losinj, Losinj Island
Veli Losinj, Losinj Island
 
Veli Losinj, Losinj Island
Mali Losinj, Losinj Island
 

Been to Konoba Ribarska koliba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Ribarska koliba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.