We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Helios Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Riu Helios Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Helios Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tchernomorska, 50 | Obzor - Bulgaria, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Obzor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel was fabulous, the food was very good, the drink was lovely, and the staff were outstanding! All the bar staff, and entertainment staff were wonderful and couldn't be any nicer! Definately returning. We went on the 10th of September 2012 and the weather was wonderful but a few shops and bars were closing because the season was ending. Will go a little early next year but there is still plenty to do!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    128
    56
    27
    10
See reviews for
166
177
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived at the Riu Helios Bay early hours of Saturday 18th August. First impressions were that the hotel was very clean, hand sanitiser at the entrance to the restaurants, and staff were spraying the food tongs everyday which was also going onto the food. Two days into our holiday our eldest daughter had sickness and diarrhea. We spoke to the rep, who was aware of a bug,which was going around 3 hotel we were told. Further into the holiday i came down with sickness and diarrhea. We asked around other guests and found out that some guests had been hospitalised. Barney our rep told everyone at the welcome meeting not to swim in the river by the side of the hotel. Eight weeks later and both me and my daughter have been very poorly. .
We have had stool samples tested by Heath Protection Agency and it was confirmed as CRYPTOSORIDIUM.
Please if going to this hotel in the near future be aware of the river running into the sea at the side of the hotel. Swimming pool is that is so cold that you wouldn't want to go in. And remember CRYPTOSPORIDIUM is not killed with chlorine so the germ is just spreading.
If anyone who is still suffering after returning from this hotel, please get checked out at your doctors.
And i would be greatful to hear from you Parkes267@btinternet.com. Something needs to done so other tourists are not affected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Six of us had a wonderful 2 weeks at the Hotel Riu in Obznor from 17th September, 2012. It was our 1st all-inclusive holiday, and it will definatley not be our last, if they are all like this!! Can't understand some of the negative reviews on this page. After reading some of the reviews I sent an e-mail asking for 3 adjoining rooms above reception on the 4th or 5th floor, which we had - Rooms 5107/08/09. We were not disappointed, had 3 excellent "superior" rooms (at no extra charge). If you prefer rooms with afternoon sun, ask for side sea-view rooms overlooking the local football pitch, all the sea and pool view rooms only had morning and early afternoon sun, which suited us.
The food was really good with excellent choice, possibly as it was near the end of the season, we felt that the choice towards the end of the 2nd week wasn't as good, possibly they were running the stocks down! If we go back again, or when we recommend to friends, we would suggest they go at the begining of September, as a lot of the shops in Obznor were closing down before we left on1st October.
We sent on 3 Thomson excursions, the Varna shopping was disappointing because it rained all day. Enjoyed Nessebar and the Taste and Tradition to Erkech was out of this world, and pleased the 2 farmers amongst us! Highly recommended.
Had excellent Thomson flights from Manchester - outwards 8.50 and inwards from Bulgaria at 15.40.

Room Tip: Afternoon sun - side sea view rooms, Superior rooms 5th floor above reception. We had rooms 5107...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The flights from Thomson are a bit random so I think that should be worked on. The flight was no problem, smooth and only 3 hours so it went quickly. The transfer took longer than expected and I got very travel sick as it was a very windy road.
Obzor was lovely, people were very nice. If anything I would go a couple of weeks earlier as most of the town was shutting down and it was a bit of a ghost town.
The hotel was very clean and the maid service was amazing. We never saw them and we never left the room at the same time every day. The terraces around the hotel were always being cleaning and the restaurants were spotless.
The food was good, salads especially were amazing. Something for everybody. I was a bit miffed that the Bulgairian restaurant wasnt a waiter/waitress service. I think this would have been a nice touch as with Buffet the meal time is very quick and doesnt have the romantic element that is brought with a sit down waited on meal. Drinks I thought could have been better, more cocktails and choices of wine.
The Beach was better to sit at then the pool as the beach gets a nice breeze while the hotel protects the pool from the breeze making it very warm.
A couple of points that would have made the hotel better- shouldnt have to pay for safe or the late checkout- it should be organised with thomson.
Khans tent was a really good excursion and I would recommend it to everyone. The entertainment at the hotel, I dont think was as bad as everyone made out in previous posts.The quiz show was hilarious and the other shows I went to were humerous and enjoyable. I enjoyed aqua aerobics and zumba while i was in Bulgaria too.
I would return if I got another good deal like I did this summer. One week was long enough though for this part of Bulgaria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Returned again for the sixth year the standed never goes down the staff are wonderful they do all they can to give you a good holiday.when we arrived there was coffee and drinks and some one to take our cases to our room

Room Tip: Email the hotel ask for a room on fourth floor over the bar salon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed 14 sept 2012 for two weeks, our honeymoon, and first time to Bulgaria, we weren't sure what we would find, was the best choice we made, we had a great time and met some wonderful people, Wayne and Teresa and of course everybody who was there the same time will remember Mike, lovely chap and his brother Tim. The hotel, as already said was so clean, the staff always acknowledge you even tho the maids do not speak English. They clean the rooms everyday and there's carpet on the floor, no banging doors or noisy neighbors.
The food was fantastic, so much choice, we could never manage four courses!!! the yellow cheese and biscuits were morerish.
Bar staff so friendly and you could have a laugh with them too.
The entertainment team were great too, we got on well with George, great lad.
The town is quiet but you can get all the gifts you need, even a hoodie if you get cold, we had a few days of bad weather. A great town square where there are a couple of good bars, cheap drinks ( a Large bottle of Becks £1) and any football game you choose to watch, at The House just ask.
If your not keen on Germans don't go at the beginning or end of the season, as you will be out numbered........only negative we had.
We would recommend this hotel to everybody and have done since coming home.
Was the best holiday we had had in a long time.

Room Tip: we were on the left, on the far-side of the Hotel, overlooking the local football stadium, we saw th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just spent a week at this hotel and it was great value for money and was also spotless. The cleaners seemed to work round the clock and the floors were constantly wet with them cleaning them. The food was good and varied but my only gripe was the breakfast which only had bacon as the only meat and the rest was egg but dont get me wrong i always got bye with a salad roll or cereal.The snack bar during the day was great with first class pizza and hotdogs and usually some form of chicken dish.Evening meals were varied and as a fussy eater i always found something to eat.

The hotel rooms are also spotless and we had a room on the fifth floor with great views of the beach and spectacular sunrises and the moon coming up and the beds are comfortable enough.

The bar and restaurant staff are all first class and could not do enough for you and after you ordered a drink for the first time they remembered it and any time you went to the bar they had already had it poured for you first class service. It was also my birthday during my stay and i got a bottle of champagne left at my table at the evening sitting which i thought was a lovely gesture and the waiter who cleared the table was real nice even though he struggled with english he tried so hard to make us welcome.

The pool area is well laid out with plenty of sunbeds and a well shaped pool and the entertainment team did not pester you to join in the afternoon entertainment, they simply made an announcement saying what they were going to do and where to meet and it was up to you wheather you joined in or not.

Obzor itself is very quiet and if you are looking for a lively nightlife it will not be for you but the quiet town is to my liking as i come away for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Overall i dont usually like returning to the same hotel twice but i am pretty sure i will visit this place again sometime in the near future as it was so relaxing with great staff and great views from the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Helios Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios Bay

Address: Tchernomorska, 50 | Obzor - Bulgaria, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Obzor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
#4 Family Hotel in Obzor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea. 5-Storey building. Situated on the beachfront. 300 M from the centre of Sunny Beach. 25 Km from Burgas airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Bay Hotel
Riu Helios Bay Obzor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Helios Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.