We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, shame about coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Luna Bay

Save Saved
You added Sol Luna Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Luna Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Byala-Obzor Beach | postal address: Zona za otdih 9101 Byala, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Obzor
bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, shame about coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just had 2 lovely weeks at this hotel. We had a room with sea view which was well worth the extra.Hotel very clean, cleaning staff were always visible whatever the time of day. Bar staff exceptional, they work so hard and always were polite and cheerful. Animation team too worked hard but that is not my thing so didnt participate in any of the activities. Lovely clean beach with lifeguard and plenty of sunbeds and parsols. Restaurant ok but by the end of the 2 weeks I was pleased to get back to British food. 90 percent German guests and felt menu reflected that, although I must say there were some fabulous desserts! My main niggle (I would be petty if I called it a problem) was the coffee. I found the white coffee from the machines in the restaurant was far too strong for my taste and only liked the cappuccino coffee which you could only get in the main
lobby bar or the beach bar which doesn't open til 9am. This meant I couldnt have a hot drink with my (early) breakfast and had to wait til 9am. This could easily be rectified by either changing the machines in the main restaurant, offering instant coffee sachets alongside tea bags or even better tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The isolation of the hotel meant we were unable to go out for a stroll on an evening, but that is a personal thing as obviously a lot of people choose to stay in the hotel.
Apart from the above 2 minor niggles I thought the hotel was fabulous and would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet holiday. Seems to attract mainly older people and couples with young children.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear "mary5898Bristol",

First of all I would like to thank you on behalf of our team for having chosen our hotel and for sharing your positive feedback from your lovely holiday at Sol Luna Bay.

I am very happy that we have met your expectations and you are right that here everybody is working hard , because our mission is to provide to our guests the best product. Thank you very much also for the nice words about our rooms, staff, beach and “fabulous desserts”.

At the same time I am very sorry that you did not like the coffee offered in the main restaurant, but I can assure you that we will try to do our best to improve it for next season. As for the isolation of the hotel we built pontoon bridge above the river in order to allow the walking connection between the hotel and the near town Obzor.

Once again thank you very much for all the nice words about Sol Luna Bay and that you recommend our property.

I am looking forward to welcome you soon again as our special guests.


With best regards,
Petya Rashkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    72
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
113
75
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent a week and hotel nice and comfi. Lovely balcony with great view. Room a bit old fashioned but clean. Food nice - got a bit fed up with the buffet after a few days and husband got a stomach bug. Very quiet not much to do Obzor close not much there either. Just booked this hotel because of the location as we were going to a wedding between Varna and Obzor. Staff in hotel very nice.
Nothing to buy in shops in Obzor or Varna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear “71marianne”,

First of all I would like to thank you on behalf of our team for having chosen our hotel and for the review in TripAdvisor as well.

We are so glad that you have spent a nice and lovely week in Sol Luna Bay and that you found our staff, rooms – especially the balcony and food very good.

We will be glad to welcome you soon again as our special repeated guests.

Best regards,
Petya Rashkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner chose the sol Luna bay hotel for our holiday after reading the other reviews and we can say we was not disappointed when we arrived there. The hotel is lovely and clean as was our room. We had a sea view room which we paid extra for on booking, the view was beautiful especially in the morning with the sunrise. Our room was very spacious and was cleaned every day. The restaurant was very well laid out and enough room for everyone. We thought the food was very good and a large choice on offer for all tastes, there was enough choice not to get bored with it for the whole week. Drinks for all inclusive are local beer, wines, spirits and hot beverages servers from 9am-11pm. The beach is clean and plenty of sun beds and parasols are provided free. There is a beach bar serving alcohol, soft drinks hot beverages and snacks. There is a life guard on the beach and water sports are available as well as a water park for kids which was open the whole week we were there. There is entertainment on offer everyday if you chose to join in and it appeared to us that the entertainment team worked hard to keep people happy. The transfer time from the airport Is one hour thirty minutes. Unfortunately the flights into and out of Bourgas from the UK are not friendly times. All in all we had a fantastic week here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear “Lollytur",

Many, many thanks for the great words about Sol Luna Bay , as well as for the time spent on sharing your experience with us. I am very happy that you spent a “lovely holiday” here and that we have met all your expectations.

Thank you very much for the nice words about our rooms, food, beach and entertainment.

Everybody here, in Sol Luna Bay, is working very hard do make your holiday fantastic.

Once again thank you very much and after all this great words about us I can be sure that we will be able to welcome you again as our special guests.

With best regards,
Petya Rashkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just spent a lovely two weeks just chilling out at Sol Luna. The staff in the hotel were without doubt some of the nicest hotel staff we have ever encountered. Hotel is a bit isolated fro the town of Obzor and a good promenade would help all the hotels in the bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear "Jim H",

Thank you very much for choosing Sol Luna Bay for your vacation! It makes us all very happy to hear that you had good time with us and that we are the nicest staff that you “have ever encountered”. Thank you very much also for the recommendation about the promenade. We will do our best to improve it .

Once again thank you very much for the nice words and I am sure that in the near future we will be able to welcome you again as our special guests.

With best regards,
Petya Rashkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked here for a quiet week away without the children and weren't disappointed. The rooms are very spacious and well cleaned (you'll notice there's always someone cleaning something). A very nice beach not as quiet as I would have liked though as it's close to the pool and the animations team seem to like their music at full blast. But there's a good choice of water sports at quite reasonable prices. Mostly the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very European with a wide selection of hams,salami's and cheeses to cater for all tastes (even chips for us die hard Brits). The only downside was the restaurant had a big canteen feel,get in eat and get out is the theme. The Italian on site restaurant serves the same food but in more intimate surroundings,worth a look?
If you get a short taxi ride into Obzor town the Flintstones themed Bedrock bar is not to be missed!
On the whole a fantastically relaxing week was had, I would happily return to Sol luna bay and Obzor.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear “Jamie F",

Many thanks for being our guest and for your time spent in sharing your holiday experience in Sol Luna Bay.Thank you for the nice words about our rooms, beach, staff and food.

At the same time I am very sorry that our main restaurants haven’t managed to meet your expectations. As for the Italian restaurant we are already taking actions to improve this product.

Once again, thank you very much for you review and we are very happy that you spent a fantastically relaxing week with us. I am sure that in the near future we will be able to welcome you again as our special guests.

With best regards,
Petya Rashkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had a great vacation with my family at this hotel. The room had a lot of space and was clean. The beach was great with a playground for kids on the sand. The food was good with a variety of cheese and fruits. The staff was friendly, except maybe the reception (I believe they are not strong with enghlish). Every evening the kids had disco or theatre. We really had a great time here and I would choose this hotel again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear “EvaSIMS”,

I would like to thank you on behalf of our team for having chosen our hotel for your family holiday and for the nice review in TripAdvisor as well. We are very glad to know that you are satisfied with your stay and you had a great time at Sol Luna Bay Resort.
I also would like to thank you for the nice words about our rooms, beach, food, staff and animation.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon as our special guests.

With best regards,
Petya Rashkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuneo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

In this hotel we went back again after one year! This time we had a view of the sea, nice room on 5th floor. Hotel have great location- 20 meters from the sea with enough free beach. There is also a paid area- around 10 euro for umbrella and sunbed (one day). But we have never had a need for a paid beach for two weeks. In general this hotel is nice but there is missing a few things. 1- no food for little childs like milk porridge (adults would like also have milk porridge sometime). In two weeks we had just once rice porridge and too much sweet. 2- in list of cocktails will be nice to add a couple of new cocktails seeing what "sex on the beach" and "tequila sunrise" maden always from same ingridients and have the same taste:-). 3- repair and fix shower on the beach. This year it was dangerous to use the shower because the plastic panels on floor were not fixed and staggered. 4- make the menu at the restaurant more diverse. Staying there for 2 weeks we eat ripetitive things. 5- chenge those horrible pillows. Last year we had good sleep and this year we had to sleep without a pillow because after washing they became crumpling inside.
If staff will promise to listen our advices we promise back to Sol Luna Bay again:-)))

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petya R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear “Tanya T”,

Thank you very much for choosing for second time Sol Luna Bay for your holiday, as well as for the nice review in TripAdvisor. On behalf of our team I also would like to express our gratitude for the good words about our rooms, location. As for your recommendations we are working on them. We will try to do our best to guarantee the comfort of our guests for next season.
Once again thank you very much for being our guests and I hope that we will be able to welcome you again as our special guests.

With best regards,
Petya Rashkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Luna Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Luna Bay

Address: Byala-Obzor Beach | postal address: Zona za otdih 9101 Byala, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
#1 Spa Hotel in Obzor
#2 Family Hotel in Obzor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Luna Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Overlooking the Black Sea and boasting magnificent views, Sol Luna Bay Resort is located directly on the fine, sandy beach, amidst unspoiled natural beauty of both mountain and sea. This luxurious resort offers high quality accommodation for leisure guests in a unique vacation destination. The secluded holiday complex is very attractive for strolls along the picturesque coast and for water sports practicing. It is located 60 minutes away from Varna and Bourgaus airports and only 10 minutes away from the nearby towns Byala and Obzor. The accommodation units are situated in two buildings located 100 m away from each other. Both buildings are connected by a bridge floating over a small river. Each building is provided with a reception desk and a parking lot. Covered parking area is avilable only in one of the buildings. Rooms: Sol Luna Bay Resort offers 526 spacious and tastefully decorated rooms where you can experience full comfort and relaxation. There аrе two main types of accommodation units available: double rooms and family suites. Both hotel buildings offer this types of units and the bookings are allocated deppending on the requested type of view and hotel's avialability. Services and facilities: All resort's guests are using the facilities of the two hotel buildings without limits. Restaurants, pools and beach with free of charge sun beds and umbrellas are situated infront of one of the buildings. Bars serving snacks and beverages are available in both buildings. Free of charge services and facilities: • Outdoor and indoor swimming pools • Parasols and sun lounges by the pools and on the beach in front of one of the hotel's buildings (upon availability) • Wi-Fi Internet access in the hotel lobby and in the hotel rooms facing the sea • Fitness center • Sports activities (aerobics, table tennis, beach volleyball, beach tennis, darts, shooting area) • Daytime and evening entertainment programme • Free access to the Aquapark, from 01 June till 15 Sept., According hotel's time table, depending on weather conditions Services and facilities charged extra: • SPA Center - sauna, masssages and beauty treatments • Billiards and bicycles to rent • Water sports on the beach • Laundry service • Patrolled parking • Shuttle service to/from Obzor and Byala • Internet corner Other facilities: • Minimarket • Souvenirs and beach accessories shops • Exchange desk • Hairdresser, manicure, pedicure. The complex offers plenty of additional services designed especially for family needs to ensure comfortable and pleasant stay for each of your family members: • Separate children's pool and playground • Kids' entertainment center (4-12 years) with special program, mini disco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Luna Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Luna Bay Hotel Obzor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Luna Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.