We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Luna Bay

Save Saved
You added Sol Luna Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Luna Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Byala-Obzor Beach | postal address: Zona za otdih 9101 Byala, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Obzor
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Everything in this hotel was amazing! The food, the service, the rooms ! The Beach is clean and nice! I thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel is beautiful and the service is outstanding.The location is excellent it is quiet and you can get the break you need!The price was good for what we received , we were traveling as a couple and we will definitely come back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgeniy G, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear “Bobi H”,

Many thanks for the time spent writing such a wonderful words about our resort.
We are very glad that you have had an amazing relaxing holiday and that we have managed to meet yuor expectations. Thank you very much for the nice words about our food, service, rooms and beach!

We will look forward to welcome you next summer as our special repeated guests!

Best regards,
Petya Rashkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    72
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
113
75
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I will not hesitate to visit it again next year. Everything was excellent - food, rooms, staff. The only problem are some of the tourists who wake up at 05.00 a.m to reserve sunbeds and keep them reserved even when they go to the beach in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgeniy G, Quality Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear "Yulia I",

we are very happy to hear that you have made an excellent choice. Many, many thanks for your review and for the comment in TripAdvisor as well.

We can't wait to welcome you soon agian as our special guests.

Best regards,
Evgeniy Genov
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Arriv ed in the early hours and were shown to our rooms by a very helpful bellboy. Room was very large and clean, but lacked extra plug sockets.The 'double bed' was 2 singles pushed together, but was fine. Bathroom was very large and had all the 'mod cons'.

Restaurant was massive and caters for all tastes, so you can find something to eat. Be sure to stay away from the pork and chicken, it seems the chefs think pink/red meat is acceptable. Even when I approched the 'on duty' managers they toke the food away and returned with it, saying the chef has 'probed it' and the tempreture was fine (NOT)

The hotel is situated directly on the beach, be aware of the non free loungers, 6 lev per chair/per day. There is a mini aqua park for the kids, which is great. There are plenty of life guards, in the aqua park and on the beach. You can wade out quiet a distance into the sea, be aware of the edge of the sea/beach current, it is quiet strong and I did see a few people fall over because of this. If you walk about a metre out, there is no current. There is 3 pools at this hotel, a large pool and a childrens pool. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were not open. I did ask one worker and they said they can not remember the last tme they were.

There are plenty of space to sit inside and out. The main bar is a nice area. The staff are very friendly and constantly cleaning. The maintenance crew are very fast. I saw someone mention to a manager that there was a small problem with a plaque next to the childrens pool, within less than 5 minutes a guy was there fixing this problem. I had a problem with a leaking bath and again in that evening the problem was resolved.

The town of Obzor is an average 20/25 minutes walk, if you walk out of the front of the hotel, turn left down the ramp, turn left at the corner and walk across the 'bouncey' bridge, you're heading in the right direction. It is a pleasant stroll

Cigarettes and tobacco are the same price were ever you go. I paid 100 lev for 10 pouches of golden virginia 40g packs, with the exchange rate of 2.24 at the time, it worked out about £46.


The 'downside' of this hotel overall is the guests. The Eastern Europeans are extremly rude and arrogant and loud. It seems that quiet does not exsist in their lives, even if the stand next to one another, they have to shout. Manners do not exsist in their cultures, be aware of this.

I personally do not think 'First choice' should be selling this particular hotel to British people. There were only 20 staying at the time we were and 5 of them were us. With the problems with raw food and the arrogance of guests, the question I would ask myself would be "would I stay again?" No would be the answer,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgeniy G, Quality Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest "Welshtraveller247",

First of all I would like to express my gratitude for being our guest and for the review in TripAdvisor as well. We appreciate your opinion and thank you for your nice words about our hotel as well.

At the same time we are very sorry, that we haven't managed to meet your expectations and that you felt little bit disappointed from your stay. I am very sorry if there was a problem with the pork and chicken meat, but I would like to assure you that our kitchen staff is doing the best and we do not allow raw food to be offered on the buffet. Anyway I will check it once again, in order such things not to happen anymore.

As for the structure of our guests, everybody is welcome in our hotel and we do not make any difference between the nationalities. Unfortunately, we can't change the culture and the customs of our guests.

Once again, I am sorry that you didn't enjoyed your vacation and I am sure that if you give second chance, you won't be disappointed.

Best regards,
Evgeniy Genov
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place.Amazing food,nice bars and restaurants.Two day's here and i love it.Highly recommended.Beach is clean and nice.Absolutely amazing.Don't need to go to Obzor.Everithing you need is there.Still if you wan't to go there the town is really nice.Been there before

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgeniy G, Quality Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear "Georgi I",

thank you very much for the time spent to write a comment in TripAdvisor and for choosing our hotel as well. We are sooo happy to know that we have exceeded your expectations and that you had an amazing vacation.

We hope to welcome you soon again as our special guests, not only for two days but for much longer.

Best regards,
Evgeniy Genov
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good:very clean, nice atmosphere,there is diversity in food.
Bad: not every thing is including all ,in spite of they introduce it like this.for exemple you need to pay on the safe in the room,parking etc..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgeniy G, Quality Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest "AS_S364",

many thanks on behalf of everybody in Sol Luna Bay for having being our guest and for the nice review in TripAdvisor as well. We are very glad to know that you are satisfied with your stay. As for the paid safe and parking fee, I would like to assure you that this information is provided to all tour operators and travel agencies. All Inclusive doesn't mean by far that everything is for free. This is the policy of Sol Hoteles and we can't change it.

Hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Evgeniy Genov
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baia Mare, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very good resort situated on the beach.the rooms are big and very nice especially in the apart hotel (the new building)
When it comes to cleanliness and food everything is the best.
The room was very big, in fact it was a suite (at the price of a double room) with a big living-room and a spacious bedroom. The bath is big, clean and with bathtub.
For the guests who have accommodation in that building t(apart hotel) the guarded parking is free of charge.
The food is very good and they have a variety of dishes every day.
I want to thank the Mini-club and the Animation Team which are the best and the most professional team I have ever seen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgeniy G, Quality Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear "'Gabi g",

thank you sooo much for the nice words about our staff, food and service. We are very glad to know that you liked the new part of the hotel, it is indeed so quiet and romantic there. We are also very happy that we were your best choice.

I am sure that in the near future we will be able to welcome you again as our special guests.

With best regards,
Evgeniy Genov
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks here and before I start to put it in context this is the first all inclusive we have done as a family so we have nothing to compare to . Went with my son who is 15 and daughter who is 13, and we all had a great time and the 2 weeks flew by, and we would not hesitate to come back. The big positives are :

Cleanliness - whole hotel is spotless and the cleaners do a great job with a smile on their faces which is nice.

Animation Team - they are superb and would be a credit to any hotel, always laughing and did not push too hard if you declined to do something. The kids loved archery and shooting Alex in particular was a great help and this would be a big consideration in coming back.

Restaurant - it is big but it is a big hotel, but we found the selection and quality very good, yes 75% of the food is eastern European rather than western but I have no problem with that as 75% of the guests during our stay were from that region so cannot moan.

There are a few things which made no sense to me and these are not complaints but things that could be easily fixed:

Lobby Bar - I have no idea why the bar is open to 12.00 but the all inclusive part finishes at 11.00??? I found this absolute crackers - stop it because it will really hack some people off.

Safe - do not think a 4 star hotel should charge for the safe, not what you expect

Beach bars - to be fair this May be changing as a new bar opened while we were there but I did not understand why the pool bar closed at 5 when most people stayed down to 6.30, this got a lot of people cross and seemed daft to me, just keep it open to 6.30....

Don't give the table tennis balls out free, I watched KIDS destroy them as they did not know what they were doing.... then we could no play! Charge for them or get a vending machine so that guests can buy them
Apart from these overall a great 2 weeks

Room Tip: The new beach bar has great WiFi signal and has good ice cream !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evgeniy G, Quality Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest "Gentleuk",

I would like first to express my gratitude for being our guest and for having spent the time to write such an extensive comment in TripAdisor. Thank you very much for the nice words about cleanliness, animation, restaurant...We are very happy that you and your family had a wonderful vacation.

Many thanks for your recommendations and remarks as well. Your idea about the ping pong balls is very good, we appreciate this. We will also think about the working time of the Pool bar.
Regarding the Lobby bar, the AI program is till 11.00 p.m. and the bar is working till 12.00 p.m. for the guests who want to stay longer. We do not offer 24 hours AI. The safe deposit box is for charge in all Sol Hotels, so we can't decide about this.

Anyway, once again I would like to thank you for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you soon again in Sol Luna Bay Resort as our special guests.

With best regards,
Evgeniy Genov
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Luna Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Luna Bay

Address: Byala-Obzor Beach | postal address: Zona za otdih 9101 Byala, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Obzor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
#2 Family Hotel in Obzor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Luna Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Overlooking the Black Sea and boasting magnificent views, Sol Luna Bay Resort is located directly on the fine, sandy beach, amidst unspoiled natural beauty of both mountain and sea. This luxurious resort offers high quality accommodation for leisure guests in a unique vacation destination. The secluded holiday complex is very attractive for strolls along the picturesque coast and for water sports practicing. It is located 60 minutes away from Varna and Bourgaus airports and only 10 minutes away from the nearby towns Byala and Obzor. The accommodation units are situated in two buildings located 100 m away from each other. Both buildings are connected by a bridge floating over a small river. Each building is provided with a reception desk and a parking lot. Covered parking area is avilable only in one of the buildings. Rooms: Sol Luna Bay Resort offers 526 spacious and tastefully decorated rooms where you can experience full comfort and relaxation. There аrе two main types of accommodation units available: double rooms and family suites. Both hotel buildings offer this types of units and the bookings are allocated deppending on the requested type of view and hotel's avialability. Services and facilities: All resort's guests are using the facilities of the two hotel buildings without limits. Restaurants, pools and beach with free of charge sun beds and umbrellas are situated infront of one of the buildings. Bars serving snacks and beverages are available in both buildings. Free of charge services and facilities: • Outdoor and indoor swimming pools • Parasols and sun lounges by the pools and on the beach in front of one of the hotel's buildings (upon availability) • Wi-Fi Internet access in the hotel lobby and in the hotel rooms facing the sea • Fitness center • Sports activities (aerobics, table tennis, beach volleyball, beach tennis, darts, shooting area) • Daytime and evening entertainment programme • Free access to the Aquapark, from 01 June till 15 Sept., According hotel's time table, depending on weather conditions Services and facilities charged extra: • SPA Center - sauna, masssages and beauty treatments • Billiards and bicycles to rent • Water sports on the beach • Laundry service • Patrolled parking • Shuttle service to/from Obzor and Byala • Internet corner Other facilities: • Minimarket • Souvenirs and beach accessories shops • Exchange desk • Hairdresser, manicure, pedicure. The complex offers plenty of additional services designed especially for family needs to ensure comfortable and pleasant stay for each of your family members: • Separate children's pool and playground • Kids' entertainment center (4-12 years) with special program, mini disco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Luna Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Luna Bay Hotel Obzor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Luna Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.