We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it: lovely walks, friendly staff, good cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mardaga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mardaga to your Saves list
Hotel Mardaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 121, As 3665, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in As
Tienen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“we loved it: lovely walks, friendly staff, good cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we booked the gastronomic stay through vlaanderenvakantieland.be at 125 eur pp per night (incl diner and breakfast) and found this very good value. Hospitality in this hotel is exceptional: all members of the staff are friendly and ready to help at any time. The cuisine is very good and the young female chef took the time to meet her customers and get feedback: appreciated! the choice of wines was also very good. The location of the hotel is perfect, at the border of the National park and at the start of some nice walks (3-5-12km). reco for romantic weekends or weekends with (adult) friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mardaga, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for placing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

We were pleased to read you had a nice stay in our hotel. It is certainly pleasing to hear that you did enjoy our staff as well as dinner and breakfast.

Kind regards
The Mardaga-team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beveren, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed for a week in this hotel and started from here different walks in the National nature park "Hoge Kempen", which was really a treasure we discovered in Belgium, Flanders. With good footpath indications and wonderful nature !
Also good base to visit the cities of Hasselt, Aachen, Sittard, Maaseik and of course the wonderful open air museum of Bokrijk.
The Hotel is very nice and staff is very helpful and friendly. The public places in the hotel have a special but tasteful design. The room was OK but a little bit in contrast with the rest of the hotel decorated (no design).
Breakfast is extended with a lot of choices like cheese, salmon, bacon, eggs, cereals, fresh fruit juices (not fresh made), bread, ... and always a bottle of "bubbles" (Proseco) present.
The beds were very, very comfortable ! the room clean, nothing to remark.
One negative point is the rather expensive consumption prices for dinner and drinks. But there are good alternatives in the neighbourhood (ask information at the tourist information across the street).
Positive is that we could stall our bikes in a locked garage on-site and last but not least we have to mention the wonderful ample garden around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mardaga, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay in our hotel.
We really appreciate it. With Different regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

First let me say the staff were helpful and polite. The room(4) was a good size and very clean but the bathroom was bigger, never had such a large bathroom.This room over looks the road and can be noisy. There were no tea and coffee facilities in my room and Breakfast cost an additional 19 euro's P.P(no wonder they call you in the morning to see if you want it) which i thought was expensive but not as expensive as having a drink 7.5 euro for a draft beer. All in all not a bad place to stay but a bit too far out of Genk .

Room Tip: if you want a quiet nights sleep ask for rooms on top floor away from road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham Maritime
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Something of a hidden gem - you'd never stumble across it. An 18-room hotel set against a main road but with extensive gardens and a "destination" restaurant. Friendly staff (family-run style - but very professional). Very good buffet breakfast. Attentive cleaners. Would come again, and stay longer!

Room Tip: Back of the building - roadside is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

My partner and I stayed only one night in this nice hotel.It has a very good location,situated perfectly for a good walk or bicycle ride.Beautiful garden and very helpfull reception staff.

The food they serve in the restaurant is sublime.Drinks are a bit pricey.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mardaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mardaga

Address: Stationsstraat 121, As 3665, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > As
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in As
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mardaga 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mardaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mardaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.