We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it: lovely walks, friendly staff, good cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mardaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mardaga to your Saves list
Hotel Mardaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 121, As 3665, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in As
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“we loved it: lovely walks, friendly staff, good cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we booked the gastronomic stay through vlaanderenvakantieland.be at 125 eur pp per night (incl diner and breakfast) and found this very good value. Hospitality in this hotel is exceptional: all members of the staff are friendly and ready to help at any time. The cuisine is very good and the young female chef took the time to meet her customers and get feedback: appreciated! the choice of wines was also very good. The location of the hotel is perfect, at the border of the National park and at the start of some nice walks (3-5-12km). reco for romantic weekends or weekends with (adult) friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofievdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mardaga, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for placing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

We were pleased to read you had a nice stay in our hotel. It is certainly pleasing to hear that you did enjoy our staff as well as dinner and breakfast.

Kind regards
The Mardaga-team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Beveren, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed for a week in this hotel and started from here different walks in the National nature park "Hoge Kempen", which was really a treasure we discovered in Belgium, Flanders. With good footpath indications and wonderful nature !
Also good base to visit the cities of Hasselt, Aachen, Sittard, Maaseik and of course the wonderful open air museum of Bokrijk.
The Hotel is very nice and staff is very helpful and friendly. The public places in the hotel have a special but tasteful design. The room was OK but a little bit in contrast with the rest of the hotel decorated (no design).
Breakfast is extended with a lot of choices like cheese, salmon, bacon, eggs, cereals, fresh fruit juices (not fresh made), bread, ... and always a bottle of "bubbles" (Proseco) present.
The beds were very, very comfortable ! the room clean, nothing to remark.
One negative point is the rather expensive consumption prices for dinner and drinks. But there are good alternatives in the neighbourhood (ask information at the tourist information across the street).
Positive is that we could stall our bikes in a locked garage on-site and last but not least we have to mention the wonderful ample garden around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luc_demunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mardaga, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay in our hotel.
We really appreciate it. With Different regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

First let me say the staff were helpful and polite. The room(4) was a good size and very clean but the bathroom was bigger, never had such a large bathroom.This room over looks the road and can be noisy. There were no tea and coffee facilities in my room and Breakfast cost an additional 19 euro's P.P(no wonder they call you in the morning to see if you want it) which i thought was expensive but not as expensive as having a drink 7.5 euro for a draft beer. All in all not a bad place to stay but a bit too far out of Genk .

Room Tip: if you want a quiet nights sleep ask for rooms on top floor away from road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham Maritime
Level Contributor
102 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Something of a hidden gem - you'd never stumble across it. An 18-room hotel set against a main road but with extensive gardens and a "destination" restaurant. Friendly staff (family-run style - but very professional). Very good buffet breakfast. Attentive cleaners. Would come again, and stay longer!

Room Tip: Back of the building - roadside is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasmolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

My partner and I stayed only one night in this nice hotel.It has a very good location,situated perfectly for a good walk or bicycle ride.Beautiful garden and very helpfull reception staff.

The food they serve in the restaurant is sublime.Drinks are a bit pricey.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boneyardbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near As
4.4 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
5.0 mi away
M Hotel - Different Hotels
5.3 mi away
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hasselt
Holiday Inn Hasselt
#4 of 11 in Hasselt
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Stiemerheide
Hotel Stiemerheide
#4 of 11 in Genk
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mardaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mardaga

Address: Stationsstraat 121, As 3665, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > As
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in As
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mardaga 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mardaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing