We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berghof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Berghof to your Saves list
Hotel Berghof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moos 11 | Neustift, Neustift im Stubaital 6167, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is classified as 4 stars, but in my opinion, the rooms could do with an update. Travelled solo and requested a double. The first one they showed me was not to 4 star standard so went for the more expensive ’comfort’ room which was ok but had some problems with the layout. Obviously designed as a family room, the toilet was so small and not part of the bathroom that you had trouble entering and/or closing the door.

Unfortunately, the hotel while central enough is right in front of the gondola which makes it very busy owing to the fact there is a massive car park over the road. However, it would be very handy for skiers in winter.

Meals were good and drink prices reasonable and the hotel had good facilities such as bars, outdoor seating, elevators and an indoor swimming pool. These public areas were of better standard than the rooms. The village pedestrian area was within walking distance.

I just wish Austrian hotels would do something about the flies in the restaurant which kind of spoils the effect. Screens or electronic deterrents should be used but I guess it’s only a problem for a couple of months or so.

The summer prices are good value for the facilities and meals received. Would go back there – but perhaps a different room. Neustift as a village is quite small but in a spectacular valley (Stubaital) with mountains all around. Plenty to do both in Summer and Winter.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel don't face the car park over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have just spent two weeks at the Hotel Berghof in Neustift and I would recommend it. Before staying there I e-mailed the hotel to request a room with a mountain view and a bath and on arrival we found ourselves upgraded to a family room for free as the full holiday season hadn't quite started. Not only that but the lady I e-mailed found us at dinner time to introduce herself and check that we were happy. We had two bedrooms, a double bathroom and a large balcony with great views. It was also clean and comfortable but if you have not stayed in Austria before be prepared for lots of traditional wood panelling (which personally I like). The only down side to the room was that it was rather hot at night but given we had weather in the 90s that is not really suprising.
Previous reviews have mentioned that some rooms do face each other with a roof terrace between as the hotel is made up of two connected buildings. If you want nice views and plan to spend time on your balcony then I would ask for this so as not to be disappointed but I am sure the hotel will do their best to accomodate you.
All the staff were very friendly and often enquired how we were getting on. Dinner consisted of salad from the buffet followed by soup, a starter, main and desert and there is always a veggie option. If like me you are a veggie do mention it as they will make sure you get veggie versions of the starter as well. Breakfast has lots of the usual cold meats,cheese, breads, fruit and yogurt. There is also a limited amount of hot food but if this runs out (which seems to happen quite a bit) just ask and they will make some more.
In addition the hotel has a nice indoor pool and small garden plus opportunities for beauty treatments.
Finally the hotel is located just by the local cable car and its car park. This is really convenient and not in any way noisy or problematic. It is also close to the river so you may hear this depending on what side of the hotel you are on. The bus stop and the centre of the village are mere minutes away and generally we thought the hotel was in an excellent position.
All in all a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with views of the mountains on the cable car side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were there for a shor skiing holiday. Stuff was very friendly, helpful with everything. We stayed in a calm room facing the slopes (Elfer lift) - we can recommend this side of the hotel. We enjoyed wellness very much, we were suprised how spaceful it was! Breakfast was perfect, in the evening the food was mostly very nice. The only thing to be improved is salad buffet - the choice was quite poor (if compared with other hotels same level we have stayed) and we did not like some starters. To summarize - our holiday here was perfect and we would like to come back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Elfer lift is very calm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We've just returned from our holiday and can't speak highly enough of the friendly staff who were so helpful and welcoming. This was our first time in Austria in the summer and the Berghof was ideally placed next to the gondola. We would recommend getting the Stubai card (52.50 Euros)which gives 5 out of 7 days use of the local bus, plus trips up and down the 4 gondolas which serve the area. If you get the chance try out the E Bikes...the hotel has 2 for hire (altho' they are available in the village shops too) and they take the strain out of cycling uphill. We cycled all the way up to the Glacier and back without running out of steam!! The battery pack on each bike can be taken off and changed for a fully charged one at certain places along the valley so by the time we got to the Glacier, one needed changing and the ticket booth there supplied us with a newly charged one. There are numerous walking trails and the Tourist Info will advise you on guided walks and events going on in the villages. We went with Inghams and signed up for a Guided Wanderwalk (well worth it at only 3.5 Euros) which was led by a fantastic Irish lady called Mary. She met us at the gondola at 9am, we stopped for lunch at a lovely rustic farmstead and she brought us back down for 3pm. The walking was great and she knew all about the wildlife and flowers as we went ... a really great day was had by all. The Guided Tour of Innsbruck was also worth doing but quite expensive at 10 Euros each (as it only lasted about an hour and a quarter). We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

This is our third trip to this hotel and it seems to get better each year.
The food was varied and excellent and the service is first class.
There was no smoking in the lounge this year which made it much more comfortable to sit in there after dinner.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a relaxing place to return to after an active days in the mountains.
The location for walking is ideal as the cable car is just outside the front door!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

A cosy little family run situated very near the centre of idylic Neustift im Stubaital.
The rooms are well equipped, spacious, clean with a great veiw of the Apls.
Great service from the very friendly staff.
In walking distance from the most happeing bar (with its own micro brewery) in all of Stubaital, as well as plenty of skishops, and restaurants.
Not too far to the glacier by car.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

This is a friendly family run hotel in a beautiful location in the Stubai valley. For a summer holiday it is ideal for a multitude of walks and sightseeing.
The spa area provides a welcome end to a strenuous day of walking in the mountains and puts you in the mood for the tasty 5 course dinner served in typical Austrian dress.
The only downside we found, was the amount of smoking which took place around the bar area stopping anyone sitting there who cannot tolerate smoke. As the bar area is small and there is not a non smoking area it means you either have to go out or spend the evening in your room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Berghof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berghof

Address: Moos 11 | Neustift, Neustift im Stubaital 6167, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Neustift im Stubaital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#15 Luxury Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berghof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Berghof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Berghof Austria/Neustift Im Stubaital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berghof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.