We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Save Saved
You added Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Main Street | 150 Meters From the Public Bus Stop, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Colfa, Washington, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Value & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great location for an amazing value. I stayed two nights and the owner helped me plan all my tours in Monteverde. He even helped me pick the best zip line tour based on my personality & likes. The breakfast was great: fresh fruit, coffee, cereal and eggs which was included.

The room was a little small for two bunk beds but the bathroom was huge.

I loved all the handmade woodwork furniture throughout the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    43
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
53
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa de Copan, Honduras
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I've spent 3 nights here in september. The rooms and bathroom are clean, and the included breakfast (with fresh fruits) is a great way to start your day. The family is great and treat its visitors with respect.

Sleepers hostel a great place to start exploring Monteverde and it's surroundings, and the owner is very knowledgeable about the wide range of activities offered. It's a great place for the budget traveller!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed the family atmosphere, the service (the owner can tailor the trips he helps you book to what he thinks you'll enjoy from just a few Q's), and the room we stayed in. We stayed in the room at the top as it was only $2 more than the other private room we were shown. It had a nice little bar area and relatively nice views out across the hills. It also had a massive, comfortable bed. It is right across the road from where the bus to Monteverde cloud forest too. We booked a trip to a nature reserve for a night walk, which was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good people, very helpful. Great breakfast. Ronny was great to sit around and chat with about the local area and the activities that were around. He suggested great food, great coffee, and was really spot on. Extradordinarily clean bathrooms from what I have seen thusfar in Costa Rica. If you like muscle cars, be sure to ask Ronny about that as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hostel to anyone. It's family own and operated. It's clean and the environment is very sympathetic and friendly. The location is great, in the core of Monteverde. There's also free breakfast that the wife cooks for you :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My friend and I spent a few nights here and had a great experience at Sleepers. It is very close to the local bus stop, which makes getting there very easy. The owner, Ronny, was there to greet us and gave us a sheet of the many informational and adrenaline activities around the area and helped us decide on which ones to do. He set up all of our tours and helped us arrange our days in the most time efficient manner. The breakfast there is second to none--fresh fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs, toast and coffee/tea. His wife and cute kids and there, who help with breakfast and the laundry service. We had a small problem with the WiFi for the couple days we were there, but he had it fixed by the time we left and in the interim had computers for us to use. He and his family were very sweet and accommodating and really made for a great experience in Santa Elena. We would definitely stay there again and recommend you to stay there too!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I could not say enough amazing things about Ronny, his family, and their hostel!! We stayed two nights and the first night, the hostel was overbooked so he gave us a private room for the same price and even let us stay in the same private room the following night for the same price. Rooms were very spacious, super clean, hot showers (absolutely a luxury in Costa Rica), and awesome breakfast included!! Ronny went well above and BEYOND to help us with anything and everything we needed during our stay. The environment and feeling of the hostel was incredible; we had a blast in Monteverde all thanks to Ronny. His recommendations for everything definitely made our experience that much better. Throughout the rest of our 21 days in Costa Rica we most certainly went around recommending Ronny's hostel. Leaving was definitely bitter sweet. Thanks for everything Ronny, you're the man!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Address: Main Street | 150 Meters From the Public Bus Stop, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So if it`s the real Monteverde experience you`re looking for, Come to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel and start living it! We offer you cheap hostel beds, private rooms with shared or private bath & you`ll find a diverse mixture of international travelers that will guarantee you a fantastic stay in Monteverde. For when you`re not out exploring, we have sparkling clean toilets, linen, unlimited hot water, a fully-equipped guest kitchen & internet access. We also offer laundry service. So what are you waiting for? End your search now & stay with us- We can`t wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hotel Santa Elena
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.