We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel to your Saves list
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Main Street | 150 Meters From the Public Bus Stop, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

What a fantastic place. Built on the edge of a cliff surrounded by beautiful views. At night you can see every single star in the sky.

Sleepers is a very short walk to the center of the city. It is run by Ronnie and his family. Very cool people. We stayed there two nights. At $7 a night with a three course breakfast (fruit, cereal, eggs, toast and coffee) it is the best deal we had in Costa Rica, and we went to 5 different places.

Definitely have to go to this place if you going to Monteverde.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    49
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
55
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

We stayed in 4 different places in Costa Rica. Monteverde was one of them. The first night, a few of us stayed at Sleepers Hostel for $7 per person and a few others stayed at Nidia Lodge for about $85 a night. Sleepers turned out to be CHEAPER AND NICER than the hotel! The breakfast at Sleepers was GREAT. The host of the hostel is also a great guy and very helpful and accomodating. They also offer FREE internet!

On the second night, we all moved over to Sleepers and had a great stay. The best value I've ever had.

  • Liked — Excellent FREE breakfast, FREE internet, comfortable beds, only $7 per person!!
  • Disliked — Everything was great!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

Monteverde and Santa Elena offer many budget-friendly accommodations, and at $6/night for a dorm bed, or $10/night for a shared room, Sleepers Sleep Cheaper is one of the best options. I pre-booked my stay by contacting the owner, Ronny directly by email. He, along with his wife and three kids, run a clean and efficient hostel. Our room was basic but tidy, with comfortable mattresses and fresh towels, and the bathroom was sparkling. Only downfall to our room was how humid it became, especially with three people sleeping in it. A fan would have been a huge improvement. Ronny and his wife serve breakfast from 6am to 9am: Eggs scrambled or fried, toast, granola with milk, and a generous helping of fresh fruit. Coffee and tea are always free and available in the all-access kitchen. There's a comfortable common-area with benches, magazines, a dining table and TV (cartoons are on in the morning for Ronny's kids...it helped me learn basic Spanish!). Best of all, Ronny provides honest advice on the many tourist attractions, and books them for you with (seemingly) no cut to himself. He's a big fan of the 'Extremo' Zipline tour and enthusiasticly shows you a video of two fellows singing La Bamba as they glide through the canopy. Ronny met us at the bus stop and walked us to Sleepers when we arrived in Santa Elena. I'm not sure how he managed to know what bus we'd be on, or if he just guessed, but it was a welcome and exceptional gesture.
I loved my Monteverde experience, and at the price offered at Sleepers, I'd be excited to return for another visit.

  • Liked — Honest advice, clean rooms and breakfast
  • Disliked — Humidity of the room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

I relied heavily on tripadvisor reviews to prepare our Costa Rica Itinerary. I found an excellent Hostel in Monteverde/Santa Elena. Booked by emailing Ronnie, the owner. He was very responsive and answered all my questions. He set up our Jeep Boat Jeep from the LaFortuna/Arenal area, and the fee was much less than that quoted by another hotel for that trip.

Ronnie greeted me by name when we arrived. Room was very clean. We paid $20/night for a private room with bath, a double and single bed, perfect for my husband, myself and our six year old. Our daughter enjoyed playing with Ronnie's children. A family friendly place, but we also met college students and older adults here who all spoke well of the accomodations.

Great breakfast including fresh fruit, granola, eggs either scrambled or fried, and toast.

Free Internet access available, one computer shared with all guests, but we never found it busy.

They also provide laundry service, where they wash and dry for you. I paid $6 for a full grocery bag size of laundry. It helped me to pack for 5 days instead of 10.

Ronnie also gave us good information about trips in the area and booked our canopy trip and also set up our shuttle on to Manuel Antonio. GREAT HOSTEL and Ronnie is wonderful.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at this hostel for 2 weeks during green season and paid $8 per night, which included a triple room with private en-suite bathroom and breakfast, a bargain! There was also free internet access, always a bonus when in the mountains of Costa Rica with no mobile reception for miles!!!

The breakfast was delightful and consisted of granola, fresh, tropical fruit, Costa Rican coffee or tea and eggs (how you like em) with toast...It is served by the owners every morning before 9am, a rarity at hostels!!!

Rooms are spotless, beds are comfy and warm, even in the rainy season! Hot water aplenty and electric thermo so available all day long, something essential because in CR, this can be a big problem!

Even though it rained every day during our stay, the views from Sleeepers are amazing on a clear day and one can see all the way to Puntarenas and the Gulf of Nicoya. The wildlife in and around Santa Elena is beautiful and the hostel is well located for visiting all the animal museums and reserves.

The hostel is suitable for couples, singles and those with children since the family that run the hostel have three, delightful, young children of their own. The family could not have been more welcoming and truly made our stay more enjoyable :)

  • Liked — the family and the welcome
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Address: Main Street | 150 Meters From the Public Bus Stop, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So if it`s the real Monteverde experience you`re looking for, Come to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel and start living it! We offer you cheap hostel beds, private rooms with shared or private bath & you`ll find a diverse mixture of international travelers that will guarantee you a fantastic stay in Monteverde. For when you`re not out exploring, we have sparkling clean toilets, linen, unlimited hot water, a fully-equipped guest kitchen & internet access. We also offer laundry service. So what are you waiting for? End your search now & stay with us- We can`t wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hotel Santa Elena
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.