We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss the opportunity to stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Valley Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Save
You added Rainbow Valley Lodge to your Saves list
200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss the opportunity to stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the upper room at Rainbow Valley, and it was absolutely lovely. Private and beautiful, the hotel is still a comfortable 8 minute walk from town. My favorite features of the hotel included its beautiful environment (the view from the upper room balcony is breathtaking), its rustic charm, the kitchenette (complete with free coffee), and overall cleanliness of the facilities. We ran into other travelers in Monteverde who complained of bugs and such in their hotels, but Rainbow Valley is spotless. Best of all, though, was the proprietor of the hotel, Christian. He helped us get around, gave excellent restaurant and sight seeing advice, and was our tour guide through the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. I would highly recommend his tour- we a variety of wildlife including some rare birds, and he took some amazing pictures on our cameras using his scope. For the price, this hotel is a staggering value- do not miss the chance to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
141
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The location was perfect; overlooking a valley and at times you can see a rainbow. We came here to avoid the crowds in the center of Santa Elena and to avoid the whole backpacker scene and mostly to relax. Mornings and evenings you can hear and see a lot of birds. I'm sure there were dozens of species. Although i'm not a birdwatcher i'm pretty sure anyone who is can have a great time determining what species they belong too. I saw some birds i never saw before.

The cabins are very well maintained and the landscaping is rustic. There's a few stone steps to reach the cabin. The cabins and the garden are crisp clean.

I work from home all year round so i needed proper internet connection and inspiring place to work. This place was perfect for me. The WiFi signal in most of the groundfloor cabin tends to be rather weak but sufficient though, but it was just great to work outside anyway.

Other reviewers said it already; but Cristian truly is amazing. He takes care of everything and makes sure all your needs are met. He's very knowledgeable about sights and things to do in Monteverde and surroundings. He checks daily if the grounds are clean and if the lights are working. I've stayed in a lot of places but Cristian really goes above and beyond to deliver the best service possible. On top of that he's authentically friendly. This would be a golden nugget in any organisation / company!!

Thanks again Cristian, Rolf (although i didn't meet him but e-mail communication was smooth), Cristians' wife and cleaning staff.

Room Tip: We staid for 7 nights and tried 2 rooms. As far as i can see all rooms are of equal quality. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed for two nights during our honeymoon, and definitely found a little gem of a lodge. Very unique and personal, three separate dwellings - we had the cabin for $60 per night, and was well worth more. Full kitchen equipment, two bathrooms, spacious rooms and veranda with amazing views into the forest. Perfect manager, more than helpful and went out of his way in every aspect.
My only disappointment was no bath, which the website states it has. Would most definitely return and recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at Rainbow Valley lodge for 5 nights last month and felt as though we had found the best deal in Costa Rica. Our room had a B&B type feel, with a microwave, coffee maker and free Monteverde coffee, and mini fridge. The shower had great pressure and was hot. The room was very cozy, clean and cute, and the bed comfortable. The views of Rainbow Valley were gorgeous, and the area was extremely quiet as there are only two other units. The managers of the hotel were so kind, accomodating, helpful and welcoming. We felt safe, comfortable and as though we were in a very special place. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from town but we enjoyed the exercise. Stay here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We just got back from 3 AMAZING days in Monteverde. We stayed in the upstairs room at Rainbow Valley Lodge. The view from the enclosed balcony is INCREDIBLE! The view alone is worth staying here all by itself. The enclosed balcony has a kitchenette with a small fridge,coffee maker,microwave,and electric frying pan so you can prepare your own meals. We had coffee and breakfast while enjoying the beautiful view each morning. Rainbow Valley Lodge is very peaceful, nothing but the sounds of nature. The walk in and out of town is fairly easy, we did it several times. The manager Chris and his wife Hazel are wonderful people. It was Sheila’s birthday while we were there and they surprised her with a card and a bottle of wine in our room. Chris was very helpful in offering advice on places to eat and he helped us set up our daily excursions which included ziplining at Selvatura, and the Don Juan night coffee tour which both included to n from transportation. Chris is also an outstanding guide for the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. I highly recommend a guide if you want to see birds and animals. Without a guide you will walk right by birds and animals without seeing them because the jungle is so dense. The guides know exactly where to look. We saw 3 pairs of Quetzals during our visit to the reserve! Chris also set up our transfer to Quepos at a discounted rate. We loved Monteverde and the Rainbow Valley Lodge. We will definitely be coming back and we will definitely stay at Rainbow Lodge again. Thank you very much Chris n Hazel for a wonderful experience! Mike and Sheila

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Rainbow Valley lodge is a small place, with only one lower room, one upper room, and a kind of cabin. We stayed at the lower room, the cheapest one, for 2 nights. It had a good bed, a neat bathroom, ample space to unpack your luggage, a coffee maker with locally grown El Trapiche coffee, and a terrace. In other words, it contained a lot of features for a relatively low nightly rate. The upper room is larger, and according to the web site, it also has a small kitchen.

As a bonus, also the owners of the place are very friendly. In fact, Christian gaves us a warm welcome with a nice introduction, and helped with all bookings we made and were planning to make during our stay at Santa Elena. In short, we highly enjoyed this stay, and would gladly recommend it to others.

As a small downside, though, the place is a bit remote from the centre of Santa Elena, approximately 2km. Almost all tours in town, however, often pick-up and drop-off, making this only a minor detail.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for first 3 nights of my 2 week stay in Costa Rica. I had originally booked another hotel that screwed up my reservation but to be honest with you I'm glad they did as I loved this place. 3 rooms total. We had the upper room with the beautiful sunroom/balcony. Amazing views from here. Christian and his wife are absolute darlings. Rolf the owner is very helpful and will answer any question you have. They do not take your credit card info prior booking, as they work on the trust system. Please don't screw them up. Such great people.

Very reasonable price - in fact quite cheap for what you get. Great service and a more than comfortable stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only two rooms and a cabin and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator (cabin has large fridge). The upper room has small kitchenette and the cabin a full kitchen. Great views to the mountains over a valley in the upper room (and Rainbows sometimes) and forest views plus valley views from the lower room and the cabin which sleeps 5 which is best for possible monkeys sightings (no gaurantee). Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.