We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay right in the cloud forest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay right in the cloud forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A peaceful retreat in beautiful grounds just outside Santa Helena, and a great base from which to explore the cloud forest. Rooms simple but spacious and very comfortable. Wilberth the General Manager leads a great team and went out of his way to make us welcome. The only downside is that the restaurant can on occasions feel a bit gloomy (although the service and the food are great), but the 20 minute walk back into town is also an option. The guided night walk with Eric was a very memorable experience, and the zip-wire ("Original Canopy Tour," within the grounds of the hotel itself) was awesome.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
37
91
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

A great resort with friendly and helpful Staff. I highly recommend a stay here for anyone wanting to experience the cloud forest .
Santa Elena just a short drive away with plenty of things to do. You can book walks, zip lining and many other activities. Staff is at the ready to suggest and help. Congratulations You do a great job

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were hoping for a higher class stay having paid much more than other lodges in the area but we were a bit let down by the restaurant quality food. It was more of a school dinners approach to cooking which meant we only ate 2 meals there before deciding to check out the local restaurants. The room was clean but pretty basic with a scratchy bed cover. The bar staff and waiters were very friendly and helpful so this was good. We did the night tour and this was very good, out guide was very good at spotting animals in the dark! Overall an average stay with pros and cons but we would probably choose a cheaper alternative in town if we were to return to the area. The lodge is at the top of a very very steep hill and it is not possibly to get home in the dark after a meal without a taxi, unless you are fond of indigestion!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Maries, Idaho
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Staff were really great. We loved staying in our little "eco-lodge". There wasn't much in the room, but it was safe and warm, and had a big spacious bathroom. The restaurant wasn't too expensive, and it had a beautiful view. oh! And The breakfasts! They were absolutely amazing! You have the choice between a continental breakfast, a typical Costa Rican breakfast, and an american breakfast. They were all included in the room price. By the end of our stay, the waiters knew exactly what my husband and I wanted to drink for breakfast without even asking us. When you are on the move so often, even that little touch makes you feel at home. They were all super nice. It was only 5 minutes from town, which was really nice. And we absolutely LOVED the town, Santa Elena!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Only 5 minutes to centre of town. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast simple but everything you need. We stayed 3 nights and did the zip wire tour with our children. Felt very safe and had great fun. Restaurant was expensive for dinner but easy to drive into town with lots of choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Weare NH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

to make it up one of the many muddy hillsides, but it was well worth it. The food at the hotel is excellent. Front desk and wait staff were accommodating, welcoming, and happy to help us with our fledgling Spanish. We were sad to say goodbye.
Access to the reserve is easy. The lodge is as close to the canopy as possible and the grounds are fun to explore. The town, a short walk away, is also fun to walk around. Be sure to take the evening tour to check out the creepy crawlies, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location is extremely beautiful and secluded, nestled in the mountains of the Cloud Forest. But it is only a few minutes over a typically awful Costa Rican road to get into town. The cabins are a nice size, sparsely furnished but comfortable. They were very clean and there was plenty of hot water. Loved sitting on the porch - bugs were not really a problem at this time of year (due to the cold and wet weather in late June). I did bring a mosquito net that I draped over my bed which allowed me to sleep comfortably with the windows open as I did not have to worry about being bitten while I was asleep. The food was very very very good. Breakfast was included and it was substantial. Best part was the homemade jam - I wish they sold it. I would have taken a case home. Dinners were also very nice and filling. Pleasant bar as well. Staff - a joy! Everyone was just so nice and friendly. Immediately felt very comfortable there. I would give it a five star rating in many categories but it is very rustic and plain so I can't quite get it to that level. However, by Costa Rican standards it is a very very nice place and I would strongly recommend it for a two night trip to the Cloud Forest. Only complaint was a lack of recommendations by the staff for other options outside of their property. I suspect it is because they offer a zip line tour and a forest tour but I would have appreciated easier access to information about the area. Easy to find things in town, and our Fodors took care of the rest. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for one of the upper rooms. Slightly better view and not in the jungle. The lowest tier of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.