We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful/friendly/delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Save Saved
You added Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful/friendly/delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location is extremely beautiful and secluded, nestled in the mountains of the Cloud Forest. But it is only a few minutes over a typically awful Costa Rican road to get into town. The cabins are a nice size, sparsely furnished but comfortable. They were very clean and there was plenty of hot water. Loved sitting on the porch - bugs were not really a problem at this time of year (due to the cold and wet weather in late June). I did bring a mosquito net that I draped over my bed which allowed me to sleep comfortably with the windows open as I did not have to worry about being bitten while I was asleep. The food was very very very good. Breakfast was included and it was substantial. Best part was the homemade jam - I wish they sold it. I would have taken a case home. Dinners were also very nice and filling. Pleasant bar as well. Staff - a joy! Everyone was just so nice and friendly. Immediately felt very comfortable there. I would give it a five star rating in many categories but it is very rustic and plain so I can't quite get it to that level. However, by Costa Rican standards it is a very very nice place and I would strongly recommend it for a two night trip to the Cloud Forest. Only complaint was a lack of recommendations by the staff for other options outside of their property. I suspect it is because they offer a zip line tour and a forest tour but I would have appreciated easier access to information about the area. Easy to find things in town, and our Fodors took care of the rest. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for one of the upper rooms. Slightly better view and not in the jungle. The lowest tier of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    66
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
35
89
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Accessed by a steep gravel road which needed a change of vehicle (same driver) because the Interbus that brought us couldn’t make it to the hotel.
The wooden cabins built as semi-detached pairs are relatively basic with king size bed and shower facilities. “Air Con” was a half inch gap under the door, although the ambient temperature at the time we stayed didn’t need air conditioning. There’s no coffee/tea making or means of heating water and no TV or telephone, so if you need to speak to reception you need to go over there. If you ask, they will fill your own flask with hot water at breakfast and there’s a small communal TV area in the corner of the restaurant. Wifi is free to rooms but connection to Intrnet is frustratingly slow with web pages frequently timing out, particularly at peak times including evenings when you need internet here. We didn’t even attempt to video stream TV. Breakfast (non-buffet) has 3 set choices: American, Continental or “Typical” (ie Costa Rican). We liked the Typical; although the ingredients may seem a bit odd for breakfast, it actually works.
There’s 3 forest trails of different lengths and difficulty. You could walk all 3 in a day and we take our time carefully looking around. Primarily, the Lodge seems to be set up for round-trip overnight stops and canopy zip wire frolics. Indeed, the main industry of the area seems to be a zip wire playground for tourists.
For a cloud forest, everywhere was very dry when we visited. There was a variety of wildlife there but it needs patience and searching for. It would be easy to visit the Lodge and see little or nothing at all in the way of wildlife. Highlights were a bright blue mot mot, keel billed hornbill, emerald toucanette, coati (pizote), agouti and armadillo all within the Lodge grounds.
There is a sea view on a clear day. Although a fair way inland, the altitude and allows sight of the Pacific.
Santa Elena village is a 20-25 minute walk down but it takes much longer if you venture to walk back up. The village has a good supermarket and an ATM. It’s advisable to mail your postcards in the souvenir shop attached to the supermarket because it’s a long hilly trek to the post office which seems to close at the least convenient times and the outside box is for local mail only.
Domestics: Electricity: 110v US flat pin. We found the tap water was preferable to the bottled – tasted better. Free Wifi. Weather dry, sunny periods, cool strong wind (needed woolly pullies).

Room Tip: they are all similar, not much to choose between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here two days and wished we could have stayed longer. Rooms were ok, but the setting was beautiful.The staff was very helpful and the food was delicious. We were traveling with a sick friend and the hotel made a special effort to give them a great tea to settle their upset stomach. They delivered this to their room and it was done without a charge. It was much appreciated!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

In a room with no air conditioning your first instinct will be to open the windows to allow a cool breeze in. That would be a mistake. The one thing I think they need here is screens on the window to allow you to do this. With out them opening the windows will allow the bugs in. Typically it is cool enough here to go without. At night I actually felt I could have used an extra blanket.

The running joke is that you get a free massage on your trip to Monteverde. The roads to and around are really in disrepair and make for a bumpy ride. The only reprieve is the the local town of Sante Elena where you can find some decent restaurants. There were actually 2 demonstrations/strikes in Costa Rica to try and get the government to fix the roads here.

Try to spend as little time in your room as possible. If you go to monteverde it is not to lay by the pool or go to the beach. You are no where near the beach. You are in the cloud forest. This would be your adventure part of your CR vacation and you should plan activities that reflect it.

The staff here was outstanding. My sister was sick from before we arrived to just before we left and was unable to take advantage of the activities. Still I am sure she would say this was her favorite stay in CR because of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had the opportunity to spend a few days in the mountains while in Costa Rica and stayed at the Cloud Forest Lodge. It is a very peaceful and majestic place situated on a mountain with a great view of the surrounding landscapes which include a volcano. The food was delicious and the rooms and service were perfect. Great hiking trails and walking trails as well as a canopy tour that is the most famous in the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 days in May. The proprty is beautiful and we saw plenty of birds. Rooms are huge and clean. Staff welcomed us by name when we arrived, and the amenities were perfect. Dinner was good and the bar was always available for us.

We had a wonderful time in Santa Elena and this hotel helped make it special.

Room Tip: Very large and clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I loved it here we saw lots of hummingbirds, attempted the canopy tour but lightening stopped play. Breakfast was good, lunch and dinner weren't to our groups taste but the cocktails after our extreme Tarzan swing really hit the spot.

The lady on reception who I forget her name was great she sorted everything for us.

A taxi to town was $4

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.