We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived at Cloud Forest Lodge and were very happy. Michael at the front desk was great. Our room was very roomy and nice. The grounds are very nice with lots of birds and walking paths. Felt at home. Sat on the deck of the main building and watched the sun go down while enjoying a drink. Had dinner in their restaurant. Wonderful staff and very good food. Very quite and peaceful great nights sleep. This was our favorite place on the entire trip. Actually one of my favorite places on any trip.

Room Tip: Our room faced the forest which was nice and private. The rooms beyond the small green above us loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
37
91
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and, as previous reviewers have said, the rooms are basic but very environmentally friendly. Maybe even a bit too much! We only had 1 bedside light and my husband resorted to using his headtorch to read in bed. Energy efficient lightbulbs throughout.

Breakfast was served and not a buffet, which was a pleasant change, and dinner was very good. There are bird feeders hung up by the restaurant and it was delightful to be eating breakfast and watching the humming birds feed at the same time.

There are several trails round the lodge too which we enjoyed, and the highlight was seeing the coatis in the gardens. Numerous birds in the gardens too, easily viewed from our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice basic room--no frills, but everything that you need. Good food--but again, we didn't try anything fancy--but not cheap. Lovely grounds and a fantastic night hike in the jungle with Eric. My kids will never forget seeing tarantulas come out of their holes and seeing puma scat, as well as bright yellow tree frogs. Wonderful staff--Thanks Gustavo and karen!! It is a little far to walk into town, so be prepared to take taxis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Room was pretty basic but clean and warm (it was a bit chilly up here as right up a mountain) Drive up was spectacular - can see for miles around & lovely landscape. Food in the restaurant was 1st class - had the specials both nights I was here & wasn't dissapointed. (steak in mushroom sauce one night and chicken in red wine the next) Got to see loads of birds here, and there were some lovely walks through the hotels grounds so you didn't realy have to go anywhere. I thought that all the local activities were too pricey - $25 to look round a butterfly garden for example. & about the same again just to get ionto the national park. It was just nice to sit in the bar & look out at the fantastic views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Remember this is in the Monteverde Cloud Forest and therefore the lack of certain everyday appliances might not be to everyones's taste. Namely, WiFi is patchy, even in reception; no tv's in the rooms and no heating.

However the views are fantastic, the forest and associated wildlife are located right outside your door, sometimes even inside. But that is the beauty of this place - a location at home with nature.

The qualty and choice of food in the restaurant was excellent and service by all the staff was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anzegem
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wonderfull little hotel in a beautifull place
The manager is very helpfull en concerned. We had some problems with our car to reach the high place and he personally helped us bringing us with our car via another way to the hotel
Very charming and friendly staff
The breakfast is delicious the food very fresh and good.
Rooms are spacious an very confortable . everthing very clean.
Great place to see the beautifull birds there in the garden
You can walk for many hours in the trails of the lodge. We enjoyed it !
A and P. belgium marsh 2013

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Let's face it. There are better, hugher priced places to stay in this area. Costa Rica standards are not up to those of us Norte americanos or eurpeans in general. We were there for the rainforests and did not spend any time in our rooms except for sleeping. We encountered backpackers from Switzerland, Germany and a visiting senior class from Wisconsin. The grounds, though small were safe and secure. We Americans could learn something for Cloudforest area residents about attention to environmental issues. For example, if you simply cannot place your toilet paper into a bag for collection, or cannot carry your bottles and cans to a recycle bin and cannot live with dim/energy saving lighting, go somewhere else. But, for the two days we stayed there, it was a good place to be. The food was good and the staff accommodating and friendly. We spent six of our ten nights in CR at 5 star resorts. We wanted to experience life from a "Blue Flag" rated Costa Rican hotel. They proudly display their Blue and Green flags alongside the Costa Rican flag and deserve their environmentally friendly rating. Live local music nightly and moring buffet was a plus. Every hotel in CR seems to have an included buffet.

Room Tip: There are newer rooms, but the quality was about equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.