We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a jem in santa elena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quetzal Inn

Save Saved
You added Quetzal Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quetzal Inn
Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a jem in santa elena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice rustic and inexpensive hotel in the heart of Santa Elena. Beds are warm with nice, fuzzy blankets, which are crucial on a cold night in Monteverde. Front desk staff can set up all tours for your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    10
    4
    11
See reviews for
11
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently returned from a trip to Costa Rica in which I took a group of my students. I've done this for the past 6 summers and this was by far the WORST hotel experience ever. I didn't expect a 5 star but this was beyond my wildest NIGHTMARES. The place was filthy and the rooms and beds were full of bugs. I truly worried we would come home with bedbugs or crabs. They knew for 2 months in advance that our group would be arriving but they never answered confirmation calls in the week leading up to our arrival. The day we arrived it was clear they were scrambling to get our "rooms" ready. They ended up putting 7 of my students in ONE room. In another they had to break of the bed's headboard to get it in the room. You can hear every single thing going on in adjacent rooms and on the floor below. Sometime during the night my toilet and shower backed up making my bathroom unusable. This was the WORST 2 days of our trip by far. The town itself is very nice but AVOID this place. Don't be fooled by an pics they post or talk of monkeys on the premises.......I'm sure they avoid the place as well. The formerly white towels were yellowed and the comforters had stains. I was never so glad to get out of that place. Instead of this DUMP, go to Poco a Poco or find someplace else. You can do better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was my 2nd time to Costa Rica. I don't mind rustic and simple, but cleanliness is a necessity. There were bugs everywhere in the room (earwigs, moths, worm in the shower, spiders) so we slept with our hoods on at night.
The minute we walked into the room (there were 38 people in our group) you could smell mold overwhelmingly. There was a white mildew on the wooden walls, duct tape on the bathroom window, and towels that looked like they had been around since the 70s. We had stains on our pillow cases and sheets. On our second day we found dime sized spots of black mold in our toilet paper. Our shower door would not close so water flooded into the bathroom.
One person in our group had their shower head explode in their room, sending a spray of water throughout, dousing their toiletries. This was never fixed in two days. Another stepped down into their bathroom to find her foot submerged in water. She was moved to another hotel. Another gentleman from another group said his belongings were moved to another room when he was not present. A few people in our group, after seeing their accomodations, flat out refused to stay there and paid out of pocket to stay elsewhere.
At any given moment the hotel owners were nowhere to be found, but were nice when we did manage to speak to them. Our entire bus cheered when we left. I would never, ever stay in this place again, even if it was the only one in the town, which is too bad because the location is central and their grounds are nice.
Try Jimenez bakery down the street. Espressos, freshly baked bread, etc. at very reasonable prices. A hotel/restaurant called Poco a Poca had a magnificent, more pricey menu with live music and a fantastic staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you like nature in your room, stay here. Otherwise, I suggest finding a cleaner hotel.

Yes, it's Costa Rica and bugs are part of nature, but I do not want them on my bed! Every night we had to do a sweep for bugs in our bed because there would be something different in our room every night.

The washrooms were kept dark and dim, so it was hard to see if they were clean. So I cannot review that. Rooms were more like little cabins.

The restaurant was ok, but food was very simple and in small portions.

This hotel is hidden in an alleyway but it is a minute walk to the main street.

There is a possibility waking up in the early morning due to monkeys running around on the roof. Pretty nice to hear but a little surreal.

Overall, there are plenty of other hostels and hotels you can stay out. You don't need to stay at this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

First of all we love that this hotel is set back off the main street and up a hill overlooking part of Santa Elena. It made it feel like a special private oasis when returning exhausted from activities. The rooms are all wood, made out of cedar and were very clean and comfortable. We even had a private balcony. We did not eat breakfast here as we opted to go out early that morning so we can't say anything about breakfast.
On our last day there we had zip lining planned at noon, the manager had actually helped us plan which park to use and called the shuttle of the park we chose to set up the night before. Unlike everywhere/everyone else she did not push us towards any specific park but rather gave us all the information on each park so we could decide which one we wanted to go to. Being in sales I really liked that she was not trying to sell us to the one that gives her more commission. We in fact got Selvatura Tickets at a better price than their listed price and better than what the other street ticket people were offering. You'll notice in Santa Elena that everyone, every restaurant, etc sells tickets to everything. Its outright annoying and overwhelming at times. Every place you go to is pushing a different zip line park, a different coffee tour, simply because of the commission they are receiving selling those tickets, not because they are the best.
Also you would think that buying direct at the park or from the website would be the best route. Its not. Its cheaper to buy indirect, which makes no sense.
As far as this hotel for a stay? We would definitely stay here again. There were 4 of us in a standard room with 2 queen beds and that was more than enough space for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Too bad we did not first look on TripAdvisor otherwise we did not go there.
The rooms are old and not maintained. Locks are broken, shower door will not move, if you want new towels you have to get them yourself, it's not clean, Breakfast is minimal.
The manager begins to groan when she has to do something.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here in 2011 and enjoyed the Capuchin monkeys. The rooms were spartan but clean and the breakfast was typical. Carlos the manager was very good. Stayed there again this year (February 2012). My wife and I were the only people in the place. Place was uncomfortable, not real clean and the manager unresponsive except to repeated requests. Definitely would not stay here again..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quetzal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Inn

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Quetzal Inn is located in Monte Verde amidst a rainforest and surrounded by wildlife. Free Wi-Fi access is available.Some rooms at the hotel have a balcony and the breakfast is included with the rate. Private bathrooms also come with a shower.At Hostel Quetzal Inn you will find a shared kitchen that is fully equipped. Guests can also explore a variety of restaurants nearby like La Maravilla, Monteverde Reserve Restaurant, Bar Amigos or Café Colibrí, all which are about 100 metres away.Other facilities offered include shared lounge, a tour desk and a laundry. The front desk offers safety boxes a common use lounge and a computer all guests can use.Juan Santamaría International Airport is 77 km away. The property offers free parking an is 100 metres from Santa Elena's town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Quetzal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzal Hotel Santa Elena
Quetzal Inn Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quetzal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.