We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect backpacker spot, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo to your Saves list
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
300 meters southeast of the supermercado la espera, Santa Elena , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Turrialba, Cartago, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect backpacker spot, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Cabinas Vista al Golfo is simple in the best kind of way- it has no unnecessary frills, but it doesn't skimp on any necessities. There really isn't anything I'd change about it, and found myself saying, "I wish this place were my apartment!"

My friend and I stayed two nights, one in a double room with two beds upstairs, and the other in a dorm room downstairs. The double had more bedding/blankets, whereas the dorm only had sheets. Both had towels and shared bathrooms with hot water!

The upstairs kitchen is absolutely beautiful; it feels like you're in a tree house. It's all windows and you can gaze out at the green mountains and valleys that give Monteverde its name. The kitchen is well stocked with plenty of cutting boards, sharp knives, plates, bowls and mugs. The free breakfast is stellar- with coffee, tea, fruit, bread, jam. The downstairs kitchen is just as well stocked.

There are hammocks and lounge chairs on both levels perfect for reading, relaxing and reflecting. This is not the place to come if you're looking for a party, but it's definitely the place if you're looking to chat with someone about Game of Thrones and swap nature reserve trail suggestions.

The staff was incredibly helpful with bus/tour information and was very flexible when we decided to stay another night.

Because the hostel is on an exposed hillside, at night it was extremely windy and the howling gusts rattling the tin roof made it a little hard to fall asleep, but if you want to avoid mother nature you're traveling in the wrong country.

Room Tip: The double/triples upstairs have an almost treehouse feel. The privates downstairs are off the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    63
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
13
77
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This place is one of the best places my friend and I stayed in 5 weeks of travel in costa rica. Very friendly, helpful staff/owners. As backpackers typically only able to afford dorm rooms, we were very excited to have a private room for as much as it would cost us to have a dorm room somewhere else. The breakfast is good, lots of coffee, fruit, toast, and cereal. There's also a fun "sky kitchen" with great views of the gulf! Everything is cleaned pretty well, and there are lots of hammocks everywhere. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is definitely a hostel, but in a very good way. If you're looking for something fancy, this isn't the place, but if you're looking for extremely friendly and helpful locals and a place to sleep, it's perfect. We were only here for a night, but were very pleased. We had a private room and the owner was super helpful to arrange tours for us and answer our questions. The soda two doors down was wonderful and invited us into the kitchen to show us what she was cooking. The pollo con arroz was fantastic. If you're in to wildlife make sure you go do the night tour which is only $20 per person and our absolute favorite thing we did while traveling through Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We appreciated to stay in Vista el Golfo likely one of the best stay in Costa Rica. The staff was very helpful to organize all activities around and also in other part of Costa Rica. It has to be also mentioned that nearby is likely the best soda in the country. All in all the money you pay and what you get is great deal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Owners extremely friendly and helpful. We had 1 private and 2 dorm rooms and all were clean and comfortable. Easy walk to town. We ate at the soda 2 doors up the street or cooked in the common kitchen. Many hammocks in the breezeway. Very economical for all the amenities. They will even do your laundry which was necessary after an extended stay at the beach and the rain forest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here recently during a trip through Central America. Location great. Short walk to everything in town. Staff friendly and helpful. Good information on tours and how to get onward buses. Place is clean and there's good common areas for relaxing and taking in the views. Good facilities if you want to cook for yourself.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I took room 15 here and the room is amazing! Large, bright, clean, with a complete kitchen. And let's not forget the breathtaking views of the mountains! I can't stress enough how much this hostel made Monteverde the hands-down highlight of our trip. The staff are very friendly, and even gave us our own complete breakfast on our last morning there because we had an early shuttle to catch. Minutes away from the grocery store, and away from the main touristy areas, this hostel made us feel like we were properly experiencing Monteverde. We will definitely be going there again!

Room Tip: The double rooms are worth it, but even the dorms looked really nice. I don't think you can go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Address: 300 meters southeast of the supermercado la espera, Santa Elena , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Budget Cabins Cabinas vista Al Golfo offers cheap lodging in Santa Elena Monteverde, we are located very close to the town of Santa Elena,we offer cheap cabins for you to spend your vacations in Monteverde Costa Rica, come and stay with us at this small and clean hostel.Cabinas Vista Al GolfoWe are located in an ideal spot, from our lodge balcony and look out point you can enjoy a beautiful and exuberant view, you can see the dinamyc climate changes of the monteverde cloud forestfrom our look out point experience one of the best views of the mountains of Monteverde and the Nicoya Gulf Community kitchen fully equipped, refregirator, microwave, toaster, coffe maker and everything you should need Deluxe Apartments fully equipped kitchen private bathroomprivate balcony with the best view for the mountain and nicoya gulfExcellent hot water system Cable T V Security Box FREE BREAKFASTWI-FIFREE INTERNETFREE COFFEE AND TEACabinas Vista Al Golfo Is costarican family run hotel in Santa Elena the owner Jorge Campos and his wife Anali Lopez will assist you personally with everything you should need, they do speak very good English so if you do not speak our language that should be no problem, you can enquire for tours in the area among other things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Vista Al Golfo Hotel Santa Elena
Cabinas And Hotel Vista Al Golfo Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.