We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo to your Saves list
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   300 meters southeast of the supermercado la espera, Santa Elena , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for the cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is definitely a hostel, but in a very good way. If you're looking for something fancy, this isn't the place, but if you're looking for extremely friendly and helpful locals and a place to sleep, it's perfect. We were only here for a night, but were very pleased. We had a private room and the owner was super helpful to arrange tours for us and answer our questions. The soda two doors down was wonderful and invited us into the kitchen to show us what she was cooking. The pollo con arroz was fantastic. If you're in to wildlife make sure you go do the night tour which is only $20 per person and our absolute favorite thing we did while traveling through Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We appreciated to stay in Vista el Golfo likely one of the best stay in Costa Rica. The staff was very helpful to organize all activities around and also in other part of Costa Rica. It has to be also mentioned that nearby is likely the best soda in the country. All in all the money you pay and what you get is great deal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanChlumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Owners extremely friendly and helpful. We had 1 private and 2 dorm rooms and all were clean and comfortable. Easy walk to town. We ate at the soda 2 doors up the street or cooked in the common kitchen. Many hammocks in the breezeway. Very economical for all the amenities. They will even do your laundry which was necessary after an extended stay at the beach and the rain forest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here recently during a trip through Central America. Location great. Short walk to everything in town. Staff friendly and helpful. Good information on tours and how to get onward buses. Place is clean and there's good common areas for relaxing and taking in the views. Good facilities if you want to cook for yourself.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I took room 15 here and the room is amazing! Large, bright, clean, with a complete kitchen. And let's not forget the breathtaking views of the mountains! I can't stress enough how much this hostel made Monteverde the hands-down highlight of our trip. The staff are very friendly, and even gave us our own complete breakfast on our last morning there because we had an early shuttle to catch. Minutes away from the grocery store, and away from the main touristy areas, this hostel made us feel like we were properly experiencing Monteverde. We will definitely be going there again!

Room Tip: The double rooms are worth it, but even the dorms looked really nice. I don't think you can go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

very friendly, mainly spanish speaking lady who looked after us.
rustic but well maintained premises designed to give excellent views over st elena and can see to the nicoya sea!
love this place! property on a dirt laneway close to town. wind noise nites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed in the Vista for 4 days on our trip to Monteverde and it was great!
Hostel has private rooms with bathroom (our choice) and also dorms. There are plenty of bathrooms and showers to use and two kitchens - one with a beautiful view of the mountains and another one is downstairs, so there is plenty of room for everyone to cook. They also have a computer room with 4 computers for you to use. Staff is very helpfull and location is great too. Our room was private and at the front of the property, but far from common areas, so it was quite at night. If you are a long time traveller like us, you will find a refuge there for a few days before moving on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aartemyeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#1 of 1 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 26 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#1 of 11 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Address: 300 meters southeast of the supermercado la espera, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Budget Cabins Cabinas vista Al Golfo offers cheap lodging in Santa Elena Monteverde, we are located very close to the town of Santa Elena,we offer cheap cabins for you to spend your vacations in Monteverde Costa Rica, come and stay with us at this small and clean hostel.Cabinas Vista Al GolfoWe are located in an ideal spot, from our lodge balcony and look out point you can enjoy a beautiful and exuberant view, you can see the dinamyc climate changes of the monteverde cloud forestfrom our look out point experience one of the best views of the mountains of Monteverde and the Nicoya Gulf Community kitchen fully equipped, refregirator, microwave, toaster, coffe maker and everything you should need Deluxe Apartments fully equipped kitchen private bathroomprivate balcony with the best view for the mountain and nicoya gulfExcellent hot water system Cable T V Security Box FREE BREAKFASTWI-FIFREE INTERNETFREE COFFEE AND TEACabinas Vista Al Golfo Is costarican family run hotel in Santa Elena the owner Jorge Campos and his wife Anali Lopez will assist you personally with everything you should need, they do speak very good English so if you do not speak our language that should be no problem, you can enquire for tours in the area among other things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Vista Al Golfo Hotel Santa Elena
Cabinas And Hotel Vista Al Golfo Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing