We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Save Saved
You added Monteverde Rustic Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a great place to stay, it was the best one we stayed in throughout the trip. The pictures actually don't do it justice, the place is not that rustic and is well kept. The front desk Maurizio was the friendliest guy. He was very attentive and helpful. The room we got was enormous as was the bathroom. Everything is really new and you have a great view if you're on the top floor. Town is about 15 mins walk downhill one way and big uphill another. There's a great restaurant a little hill below. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    587
    140
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
175
381
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

stayed at this convenient lodge and had a great time. the hosts were amazing and made sure we were taken care of all trip. Jose arranged transportation, ziplining, and great food. definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Jose was an absolutely wonderful host and this was a great place to stay. Costa Rican fruit is a delight for breakfast and he brings in the sweetest organic bananas from the family farm--yum! We had scheduled a horseback ride, but because of the rain and the recent earthquake, some of the trails were out. They were on the ball and checked in with Marvin, who has the horses, and helped us arrange for other activities at the last minute.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Anyone who has been to Monteverde understands its a bumpy ride, to say the least. It was great to end up at a comforting hotel with a great manager. He actually hooked us up with some free wine, helped set us up with some activities and answered every question we could ask. You could tell he was very sincere and wanted people to enjoy the country and the city. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms were great. Couldnt ask for more with the price they give. Excellent choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a great little property that is very well kept. You can tell the owner has pride as the fine details of the room such as finishing original woodwork were immaculate. Staying here reminds me of staying in a log cabin back home in Canada as it was a very warm and welcoming environment. Everything was extremely clean and well kept. Its got a motel format setup, so your room leads directly outside into the Garden area - which was also very well kept.

We were only there for one night and since we were leaving early the next morning, Jose, the owner ensured we had some packed breakfasts for the long ride back to San Jose. The roads leading into and out of Santa Elena (Monteverde) are all dirt roads, so expect a long jarring ride in any direction.

The town is about a 10 min walk down the hill (quite steep) and probably a 15 min walk back depending on the pace. The town is tiny, and they also have a taxi stand in the middle of downtown, which will cost you around $2 to get you home. If you are going for dinner downtown, its worth it to walk down and cab it back.

Lots of stray dogs around, be wary of showing any affection, otherwise they will follow you home!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Friends recommended the Monteverde Rustic Lodge to us, and we are grateful to have found this great lodge! We stayed in this quaint town for three days. Jose at the Rustic Lodge helped make our family vacation one of our best ever. He arranged an early-morning rainforest tour that included white-faced monkeys, a night tour that allowed us to spot various primates and arachnids, and a very nice evening dinner. Breakfast was delicious. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I took a 3 week trip to Costa Rica this past May. We spent 5 of our days at the Monteverde Rustic Lodge. This Lodge is like staying at a friend's home on vacation. Jose and the staff are super friendly make you feel welcomed. The rooms are spacious and clean. The laundry service is great and inexpensive. Breakfast was always delicious as is the coffee! Jose gave us great recommendation on what to do in the area. We would definitely stay here again with out question. Thanks for a great stay Monteverde Rustic Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Rustic Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.