We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Monteverde Rustic Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Holliston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful place and owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I recently stayed at the Monteverde Rustic Lodge with my son while on vacation. We loved the location--just up the hill from Santa Elena village and situated among Costa Rican homes (with just one other small hotel next door), and a delicious Costa Rican restaurant just a 5-minute walk away. Jose is a fabulous host. Ask for the homemade pineapple-papaya marmalade! The lodge is quiet and comfortable yet within walking distance of Santa Elena. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Costa Rica.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    146
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
178
397
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My wife and I arrived and were greeted by very friendly staff. (Archie), she actually greeted my wife by first name. We new this was going to be a great experience.

They offered us a wonderful coffee and offer they're help with information of the area. You definitely have to to the night walk( great recommendation Archie and Jose) and go to the Tico restaurant at the bottom of the hill. They have access to two computer in the lobby which was great!

Our cabin was in the very back and was very beautiful(kinda gave the feel of our Canadian cottage). The wood doors are made in beautiful Rose wood. The cabins were always very clean.

The breakfast in the morning was great! Very attentive to you.

Our only negative is we didn't stay longer ;-(

Thank you Jose for everything. We are looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This lodge makes you feel real home with all luxury and specially the people who attend you. II was there with my girlfriend and we enjoy every moment! We didn't find anything that was below excellent. We wil sure return again.
Efe Wernet (Holland) and Nineth Mendez Aguilar (Heredia)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I only have positive things to say about Rustic Lodge. Jose, as everyone says, is so extremely nice, it is almost comical. As soon as we pulled in, he rushed us next door to look at a sloth in a tree. That was a great way to start our visit. The room had everything we needed, was comfortable, and other than the wind, it was very quiet. Everything felt secure.

The breakfast was excellent, and they kept encouraging us to have more. Jose took a lot of time to go over the map with us, and offer recommendations on restaurants and tours. I wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We found this to be a very comfortable motel for our two nights in Monteverde. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple & clean. A little more storage space for clothing and belongings would have been helpful, but otherwise we were very content. The woodwork and furniture were interesting and beautiful. A great value with friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed here with my parents and we found the hotel to be great. The breakfast featured eggs, fruit and toast. And of course great coffee. The rooms (and the entire place) were immaculate, but I most appreciated the wonderful hosts and staff. They were helpful, kind, patient, gracious and in all ways professional.

Place is located up a bumpy road- a block from the soccer field.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I recently stayed at the Monteverde Rustic Lodge for one night while traveling solo across Costa Rica. I'm so glad I stayed there for some of the following reasons:

1. The rooms were clean, spacious, and I *loved* the wood decor. I found my bed really comfortable (in fact, it was so comfortable, I slept through a 5.8-mag. earthquake!!)

2. The exterior of the Lodge is impeccably beautiful-- the owners have taken great pride in making the patios comfortable places to relax.

3. The staff is wonderful. As others have commented, Jose was excellent in providing sound advice based on my preferences (e.g., I wanted to do something less tourist-y, and his suggestion for a hike to San Luis waterfall was one of the best recommendations I've received on any trip).

4. The hot breakfast was delicious and the coffee was great.

5. Location of the Lodge is excellent; granted I had a vehicle with me, but even without a car, the Lodge is close to restaurants and other services without any noise.

I will definitely be going back to the Monteverde Rustic Lodge, and I highly recommend others stay there as well. Not only did I have a wonderful time, but the value is superior.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Rustic Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.