We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Save
You added Casa Tranquilo Hostel to your Saves list
100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Beaufort, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Subject: Casa Tranquilo
Location: Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Province of Puntarenas, Costa Rica, Central America
Title: Enjoyable Stay at Casa Tranquilo
ID#: 8124278

This hostel is wonderful. The family running the hotel is extremely thoughtful and helpful. It is in a nice location, a 4 minute walk out of the center of Santa Elena. Also Tranquilo has the best hostel shower pressure and heat that I have experienced in Costa Rica. I would highly recommend Casa Tranquilo if you are going to stay in Monteverde and are looking for a reasonablly priced room. If I go back, I will be staying there!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    46
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
13
68
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Within walking distance, just a few minutes to the downtown area is the best value in Monteverde. The rooms are clean and hot water is essential. I particularly enjoyed the free wireless internet and buffet style breakfast which was included. I met a ton of travelers hanging out on the terrace which has a view to the gulf. There was a Guayaba tree adjacent to the building which allowed you to pick fresh fruit daily. The owner David was helpful and seemed very ethical and humble. I would recommend this place to other travelers headed to Monteverde for a great value.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Casa Tranquilo is a brilliant place. Its very clean and comfortable. The beds, unlike most hostels, are firm and comfortable. There is a great patio on the second floor with hammocks which is a great spot to drink and hang out. The internet is free and the hot water is hot. The owner is great and speaks english very well. The best hostel I have stayed at in Costa Rica. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

the good:
-$20/night is an unbeatable price anywhere, even in CR, for a private room w/ private shower
-the shower itself is very nice, excellent hot water
-excellent location, in the heart of santa elena w/ many good restaurant options nearby
-free internet access in the common area
-good tour and restaurant advice from the owners and staff
-the owners will do your laundry!!! granted for like $5/load, but it's pretty convenient while on vacation...

the bad:
-there are indeed a lot of insects, including some large roaches, around, but duh... you're essentially staying in a rainforest

the expected:
-you're paying $20/night.... it would be unreasonable to expect 5-star lodgings at that price... you get a private room w/ private shower, but yes, there are bugs. and yes, the breakfast isn't anything to write home about, although the fresh fruit is nice. Casa Tranquilo is a good home-base for younger travelers who don't mind the noise of other nearby hostels, or those looking for inexpensive lodging so they can blow more money at what people come to costa rica for, the rainforests...

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

Caso Tranquilo is a perfect place to stay if you want somewhere reasonably priced, clean, and close to everything in Monteverde. The owner, David, was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean, and the beds were pretty comfy. The water for showers was hot. The free breakfast consisted of cereal, a variety of fruits, juices, coffee, toast, and eggs that you could prepare on your own. I would recommend this place for any budget traveler who wants a safe, comfortable place to stay in Monteverde.

  • Liked — Great rooms, friendly staff, clean.
  • Disliked — Some of the computers were slow.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

After reading a couple of positive reviews, my wife and I booked a room here for 2 nights in June. The hostel advertised a/c but the a/c was only turned on for about an hour after we first checked in and then it was turned off and remained so for the rest of our stay. The room stank and the bed stank even more. The sheets were threadbare and the room was crawling with roaches and other bugs. We found flying roaches in our bed and when we approached the manager about it, his reply was, "Welcome to the rainforest". The manager, David, appeared amaible at first and capable of speaking English, but it was soon apparent that he was rather arrogant and not very accomodating (as evidenced by his above-cited comment). Also, even though we paid a deposit on our room when booking it online, the manager changed the price of the room when we were checking out. Some friendly dogs live on the premises but they do bark and growl loudly all night. I've backpacked throughout Asia, Central and South America, Eastern/Western Europe, North America and Australia and this is certainly the worst stay I've experienced in any accomodations anywhere.

  • Liked — a friendly dog
  • Disliked — disgusting level of hygine and arrogant unethical owner
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

The Casa is at an often busy intersection, with a mechanics garage quite close, meaning that it's not exactly quiet. The rooms were adequate, but there were no safety deposit boxes available. The free breakfast was nothing to rave about and we actually went out and got breakfast. Within a 5 minute walk to Santa Elena and all the shops, restaurants and supermarkets. Very cheap - worth considering if you dont mind noise.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tranquilo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.