We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homey and authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Save Saved
You added Casa Tranquilo Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very homey and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

Casa Tranquilo is a great B&B. While it's nothing fancy, it's very welcoming, homey and is run by a friendly and helpful young Tico couple David and Elena along with their baby son, 3 cats and 2 dogs. (Don't worry most of the time the animals are wondering about outside of the house, I have cat allergies and I was fine.) The place is clean, our room had it's own bathroom, which is a steal for the price they charge. On top of that they offer free internet and free breakfast in the morning. In the evening all the travelers would gather together in the living room along with the owners and have a blast.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    42
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
58
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

We stayed 2 nights at Casa Tranquilo on our honeymoon. David is a very friendly and helpful host. The free breakfast was simple but tasty and filling-- toast, jam, cereal, coffee, tea, and fresh fruit, all served buffet style. Tea & coffee are available for you to help your self to all day long. The lobby area has one computer with free internet access. There is also a printer and a data card reader, so we burned some photos to a cd to clear up some memory on our digital cameras.

Our room was clean and we enjoyed sitting on the shared terrace. The shower had plenty of hot water. We were very comfortable. It is just a 5 minute walk to Downtown Santa Elena, where there are lots of dining options, and anything else a traveller could need: Drugstore, ATM, Tour Offices, Taxi stand, etc.

At $10 per person per night, this was a great deal!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crtravelercr, owner/manager at Casa Tranquilo Hostel, responded to this review, September 30, 2006
Hi and thanks to all the folks that have stayed with us. We greatly appreciate all the help you have given us on the uprising of our business. Elena and I are very happy to anounce we have finished our newest rooms with shared bath, so if you are in a shooort budget we will give you the best deal in town.
And for all you other travelers planning to stay here, we are with open arms awaiting.
Best to all and thanks again from CASA TRANQUILO.

David & Elena Diller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

Wonderful experience. We just spent a week with David and Elena at the Casa Tranquilo. The free breakfast was great to start the day with. We had acess to the computer any time we needed. David met us at the bus to help us with our luggage, which I was not expecting. Since my spanish is limited he helped us with any questions about the tours or places to dine at. We would love to come back again.

Three very happy travelers from Lodi, Wisconsin, USA

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

Nice, private rooms in quiet location close to town. Owner grew up here and is very knowledgable on best tours and local fare. Great price for rooms and hot showers. Very friendly staff and clean house.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

We had the best time at casa tranquiilo!! david is VERY helpful! ;) and the warm water is amazing... if you go to santa elena, stay here! /malin, malin, erika och rebecca!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

Casa Tranquilo was recommended to me by a friend of the owner, which does not necessarily guarantee a good stay. But it was very welcoming, with crystal clean rooms and real hot water, not the typical tepid water many budget places try to pass off for hot. David is a great host, speaks fluent English, and runs the place with pride. A good breakfast is included, with fresh fruit, granola, coffee, bread and juice. At its location at the edge of town, it is a friendly refuge from the dusty streets of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Tranquilo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tranquilo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.