We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Save Saved
You added Casa Tranquilo Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Prague
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Even I was not able to stay at this hostel as they were fully booked. I found the family running this hostel extremely friendly and helpful to help me to make my stay in Santa Elena great. They explain to me and suggested free activities and offered my gray tours for highly competitive rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    42
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
58
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My bf and I rented a car and it wasn't hard to find the place. Easy check-in for our double private room: simple and clean, but we felt a draft in a corner or two of the room. It was very windy outside at night and the loose shutters and loud noises overnight made it a little difficult for a good night's rest. Kitchen facilities were plentiful; it said they offered free breakfast but there was no "free" breakfast out at around 8am... Who knows.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at the Casa Tranquilo on a backpacking trip to Costa Rica in december 2012 with a friend. The staff is super friendly and helpful and they speak english. Rooms are very clean for this type of establishment, and they have some rooms with private bathroom for really low prices. Ask for their free tours of Monteverde : one of the staff members will show you around. They know the area and will take you to places you would never find if you just wandered by yourself, and it will only cost you whatever tip you decide to leave at the end of the day. There is also a communal kitchen so you can cook your own meals for cheap (supermarket is less than 5 minutes away on foot). It's not far from the Monteverde "commercial" area with all the restaurants and shops. All in all, a very positive experience and quite probably the nicest hostel I've seen during my stay in Costa Rica.

5/5, I will visit again if I ever return to Monteverde.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calella, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The parking is in a field for up to two cars. We got a room on the ground floor that seemed of employees. The hot water did not work well, mini towels were not enough. We went to breakfast and kitchen utensils were dirty and messy, the fruit was ripe and insects was rampant, the bread was not fresh. The night watchman told us that the reception was closed despite being a clear as day, scratching the back disheveled and half asleep

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The guys here made us feel welcome straight away. The common area with two computers is so comfy it feels like it could be your living room. The customer service here is some of the best that I've come accross. For example we were leaving before breakfast so he packed us up some banana bread and left it out in the morning.

Also while here I highly recommend getting them to organise a bird watching tour with adrien...he was so passionate and we saw 8 quetzals!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texcoco, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and got exactly what we expected. The room was clean and nice (although ours was by the kitchen/common area so it was a bit louder; and the roof window doesn't really allow any sky watching), it's near everything you need in Santa Elena and the staff was friendly. It's been a while so I don't remember exactly how we were on hot water but it clearly wasn't an issue if I can't remember.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The owner of the hostel is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The building itself is a bit 'off beat' but in a nice way...I guess a bit like the 'house that Jack built'. It has the most original shower set up I've come across - the use of real rock as the flooring in the shower. Quite fascinating. The communal room is on the second floor with some pleasant views. With the verandah around it, it is also a nice place to chill out and enjoy the freshly made coffee that is freely available. The only recommendation I would make to the owners is to say to move the double bed in the single room I had to another area of it, as it was a bit close to the window and I felt the sheets were a little damp. That's the only reason I said the sleeping was average instead of really good. However, I'd definitely recommend staying at the hostel because it is a bit different. Also the other hostels in the town were much busier...but Tranquilo lived up to its name....much more peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Tranquilo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tranquilo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.