We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Save Saved
You added Casa Tranquilo Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights with a group aged 18-23 having been recommended it by another friend.

Good:
Extremely friendly and helpful staff who sorted everything for us no problem.
Great breakfast served in a new separate canteen area. Unlike other hostels where 'free breakfast' means you can help yourself to some skanky cereal, a slice of buttered cardboard and the dregs of some fruit juice, here the breakfast is served to you like in a restaurant and consists of fruit, egg, toast, banana bread and coffee. It was great!
Five minutes walking distance of the only pub in town 'Amigos' and supermarket.
Transport to activities picks you up from hostel and all can be arranged through reception. Never felt pressured into spending money on activities though which is always refreshing.
$8 a night for private room and breakfast was amazing!

Bad:
Like other reviews say, the walls were quite thin but in my opinion you can't have it all and at the end of the day this is a hostel in Costa Rica not a 5 star hotel.

Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    42
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
58
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here with a few friends, we'd be staying in the south of the country in the days previous to arriving and had a long bus/taxi/local driver journey. It was really nice to reach Casa Tranquilo after a long day. The owners were welcoming, very relaxed but helpful and organised. The rooms and facilities were good, not luxurious but neither is the price, so I was more than happy with what we got. The hostel has a central kitchen and communal area which is really nice and it was great to meet the other people staying at the time. There's loads of info of things to do in the area and we arranged our activities for our stay through the hostel. On one of the days one of the guys who works there took us tree climbing, it was brilliant, so much fun and saw some incredible views.

Bread and eggs were available for you to cook for breakfast free of charge.We had a really good stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you plan to go to St. Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica I totally recommend to stay in the Hostel Casa Tranquilo. The staff is super freindly, they give you any information you need. The rooms are nice and clean.
We also had a nice BBQ in the Hostel which was really amazing, Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

this hostel is really nice. you get a lot for this goid price. we had a private room with bath, and it was very clean and confortable. the kitchen is great to cook something and in the morning they provide fresh fruits, eggs and bread for you. breakfast is included. santa elena is very small, so you can walk everything by foot. we even could see a sloth in the tree right in front of the hostel. there are shuttleservices to monteverde and santa elena cloudforest for 1$. i really can recommend this hostel, i would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Good: Owner and buddy who works there are really nice and very helpful and super laid back Ask about the fig tree hike! cheaper to book ziplines through them. DYI Breakfast is generous with coffee, fruits, bread and eggs!

bad: Walls are paper thin and because everything is wood its really echo loud. Also lots of people seem to catch early bus in morning so not good if u live upstairs. The owner and family share the kitchen which in my experience is a no no especially because this one is really really small. They also use the common area as their home, so it's a bit uncomfortable to sit on the couch or use the computer when their kids are all over them. The cleaning lady is mean and constantly gave us a mean unwelcoming glare, she was always around but made more of a mess cooking than actually cleaning.

I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Owner at Casa Tranquilo Hostel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Friend thanks for your feedback... Im sorry for the inconveniences that you had at our place i understand that us using the kitchen can get a bit problematic for our guests and I promise this is temporary . We are rebuilding our home and our kitchen is unusable at the moment so we only have the one at the hostel to use. We are almost done with the remodeling and will be using our own place soon, hopefully next week, if everything goes as planned. Also we are planning to move the hostels kitchen downstairs to have more space for guests to move around. And the upstairs will be a nice common area for guests to hang out and share experiences. Im doing this as soon as possible, promise.
About the noisy guests, well im sorry about that, but there is not much i can do, they as everyone else are subjected to early bus schedules, and i apologize if they didnt let you rest properly. We do however have other rooms in the back that are quieter that the one you stayed in although they are a few dollars more, they have private baths and are built with concrete and not wood so they are alot more soundproof. We do however try to ask all our guests to please be silent and respectfull of other guests, but travelers sometimes forget. I actually found myself in the position of having to kick some guests out for the same reason last week, which i had never had to do before... i was very annoyed by this... It means a great matter to me that my guests feel as comfortable as possible at our place...
Also i know the cleaning lady can give strange looking glares, I´ve talked to her about the matter... Once again thanks for the feedback. Things are in progress and we are working hard to do things better always for our guests. Hopefully you can come and stay with us in the future and check out the changes we are making to our place.
I hope you have a great time in our country... All the best to you and your family...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

the place and the town are both fitting perfactly together. you have the feeling of being in the clouds.
a very nice, simple but good place. hammocks, kitchen, friendly stuff, good rooms. i recommend that place

Room Tip: I recommodate the private room. its not a lot more expencive but has its own bathroom and is not loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for a night or two in march 2012. It was such an amazing way to end my trip, staying at this nice and comfortable hostel.
The staff were super friendly and genuine, the food was great, and of course the walk and climb up the fig tree was incredible.
The price is perfect and i believe you get more than what you pay for!
I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants a comfortable stay, where you feel at home, with knowledgeable and honest staff :)
Oh! and the dogs! Love the dogs, definitely adds a nice vibe to have them around.
I meant to write this review a long time ago but failed to...sorry david! But here i am, still haven't forgotten y'all. :)

-vanessa

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Tranquilo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tranquilo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.