We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best in monteverde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Casa Tranquilo Hostel to your Saves list
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Granada, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the best in monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Definitely would stay here every time when in town. Coolest staff I've seen. Felt like a second home. I stayed here for 3 night and it was great. They serve a good breakfast and had good clean beds and shower with warm water. Cool kitchen with everything that you need to make your own meals.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    44
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
60
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and absolutely loved the vibe of the place and the wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. When we asked them for directions they offered to take us on a 2 hour hike for free, and our last night there they had a barbeque party in the back yard for all the guests (and some neighbors and friends). Our double room was small, but clean and comfortable. The ceiling window had no curtains, so we woke up quite early which was ok. So much to see and do in Monteverde. Free breakfast, free coffee, free wi-fi. Not a lot of hot water, but that's normal in this area. Quiet but very close to the city centre, and very social and tranquil. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely stay again! The staff were friendly and welcoming. David gave us recommendations on what to see and do and helped us set up our activities. Elvis took us on a great 3 hour hike throughout Monteverde. We stayed in a private room which was very clean. The hostel was in walking distance from town. All in all this was one of our favorite places we stayed throughout our trip! Highly recommend Casa Tranquilo! : )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hostel was the best we stayed in throughout our time in Costa Rica. They have super friendly staff, very clean premises, a great kitchen area, and fantastic location. Emel showed us around for two days straight and showed us parts of Monteverde we never would have seen on our own. HIGHLY recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After 1 days you will feel as if you are walking into your own home. You are immediately welcomed by everyone staff and other fellow Hostelers. Everyone who works there has been there their whole lives. They know the ins and outs of Monteverde like no other. You just let them know what you would like to do that day and they will set everything up for you. They even provide their own free hikes to the coolest paths in the cloud forest. Definitely make sure to go on the hikes. The last night I was there we all went out to a bar for a last goodbye. Walking distance from the grocery store and hammock with stunning views make you debate staying forever.

Pura Vida,

P.S. Esteban I still need to email you hahahaha

Max

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here with our three teenage girls and it was great! The price cannot be beat (we paid $60 for a double and triple both with bathroom). Of course it's a hostel so everything is budget, but they do it really well here. We have traveled all over the world and the staff at CT were some of the friendliest, knowledgeable and eager to help we have ever encountered. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The people there are wonderful... great stay for a couple, a group of friends, even a family...
It is tranquilo... It's a nice little place close to almost everything and definitely quite when its quite time... I would definitely stay there again on my next trip...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Tranquilo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tranquilo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;