We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Santa Elena!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Tranquilo Hostel to your Saves list
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay in Santa Elena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is really good place to stay. Our room was clean and nice, we stayed in double room with my girlfriend. The staff is really helpful and it's née to talk with them. Ask Elvis for tips where to go and ask him a FREE hike. It's worth it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASATRANQUILO, Owner at Casa Tranquilo Hostel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi, just wanted to thank everyone who has written comments in the last few days... appreciate all the suggestions and tips that have been given to improve our hostel. Just to give a little update. We are working hard on getting the mural redone/retouched and finish the restaurant cafe in the back and also are working on making an open space for YOGA in the back yard...

Well thanks again and from all the staff in CASA TRANQUILO we wish you a happy and prosperous 2013... Pura Vida!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    57
    13
    3
    12
See reviews for
14
78
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is awesome. My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and wished we could stay longer! The rooms reminded me of being at a cabin, and they had plenty of blankets to keep you warm. We also had a little balcony, which was cool, and a little skylight. Everything was clean. They also offer towels.

The staff is incredible. They are entertaining and super helpful! They will do whatever they can to make your experience the best! They offer so much info and even some free hikes.

They have 2 dogs and a cat which was a bonus. The pets are super friendly and cuddly! My husband went to chill in a hammock and the one dog jumped it with him! I missed my pets from home and this gave me my fill :)

Free breakfast. Make your own, which is great. Eggs, toast, milk, juice, coffee etc etc. Free coffee all day. Kitchen to make your own food. Good hang out spot. TV and you can play video games. Excellent wifi and two computers to use.

If you're staying in Monteverde do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASATRANQUILO, Owner at Casa Tranquilo Hostel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hey Guys, Thanks for the awesome reviews. This really helps our business and keeps us going. Right now working hard on finishing the other side of the mural, getting the restaurant done and making a space in the back yard for guests who like to do YOGA! Lots of cool stuff to come...

Thanks again and have a great 2013, full of joy and prosperity...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed four nights in Casa Tranquilo and loved it. The place doubles as the home for the family that runs it so it has a very 'homey' feel about it. The best thing about this hostel is the tours that it runs for its guests. The guides (Elvis and Estoban) know the town inside out and all the free/cheap/quiet places to take you. I went to hot springs out of town (really clean and only ones there) for $11 and a full day hike around town and through the jungle to the strangler fig, no cost! The atmosphere in the place is very relaxed and things quieten down quite early in the evening which I liked.

PRO's
- small dorms, three beds per room
- good breakfast (inc in price) which you make yourself but it means you can eat as much as you want (eggs, toast, fruit, coffee, milk)
- excellent free coffee available all day
- great tours on offer and heaps of info available on other tours around town
- great central location

CON's
- no sound insulation at all, can hear everything that goes on in rooms next door and further away
- found the beds really hard and uncomfortable
- communal/kitchen area is small and gets quite crowded (and that was when the hostel was only half full)

All in all though a great little place, very very good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASATRANQUILO, Owner at Casa Tranquilo Hostel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Rosie, thanks for your great comments and scores... as you know we are always working on making our guests as comfortable as possible. Somethings we are improving and are trying to get better and some others, well simply the nature of the things don't allow us to change, however i have been getting some ideas from guests to change the kitchen and make it more comfortable for guests to move around, hope i can get it done soon enough. About the mattresses i got a comment that they where to soft so i changed them, they are brand new and are fully orthopedic, hopefully they just need some use.
We love to get feedback from our guests and Improve our hostel all the time... Actually right now we are working on a little space in the back for guests to do YOGA, and also finishing a restaurant in the building behind us, and hopefully that will free the kitchen a bit too...
Anyway thanks for the comments and if there is any suggestion you might have, please write me an email...
Thanks Again and have a great 2013!!
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This place is simply amazing, the hostel is managed by 4 very helpful and friendly guys that will do everything they can to make you satisfied. The place isn't expensive at all, especially considering the services they offer you.

They offer food to prepare your own breakfast, along with unlimited and very good coffee. The breakfast is simple, consisting of eggs, bread, rice, fruits and coffee.

They also provide lots of good recommendations for activities, along with many very nice free guided hikes. We ended up doing the free hike and climbed up a hollow tree, then hiked up a mountain (Cerro Amigos if i remember correctly), ending into the dense cloud forest for a pretty complete experience of the cloud forest. Strenuous, but i definitely recommend giving it a try. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Would i go back to Monteverde with unlimited budget, i would still choose this place over the big resorts.

We stayed there at the beginning of december 2012. Thanks for hosting us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have stayed in Casa Tranquilo multiple times and have loved it every visit. The guys that work there are extremely friendly and funny, they work hard to make sure you have a great time and a very helpful and knowledgeable. They offer a lot of different tours and hikes to explore the area. The most popular being to a hike to a LARGE ficus tree where you have the chance to climb and rappel. The hostel is clean and comfortable with internet, television, and kitchen. It's a great deal. The rooms are cozy with great light. I highly recommended and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here with two friends. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Its a very tranqulio hostel. We were able to cook our own breakfast and they helped us with our hike as well. The rooms are all wood and really cozy. They have lots of warm blankets for the chilly nights! I would recommend this hostel :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's all about the staff. We arrived after a long trip and they just took us in and showed us a great time. The rooms are really cozy and they are improving them all the time. When we got there, they mentioned that we should go with them to this tree. They took us repelling down a hollowed out tree that night. It was so cool and made our experience there unforgettable. The room was so affordable too, they care more about showing you a good time than the bottom line because everyone there works for themselves, it's really special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crtravelercr, Owner at Casa Tranquilo Hostel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for that nice review you left us... Hopefully next year you can come and stay with us... We have a bunch of other spots that we take our guests out to climb trees, to hike and look out for wildlife, and we have some great view points of the area... At the hostel we are very glad you had a great time with the us...
Have a great time in our Country!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tranquilo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.