We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hostel in Santa Elena de Monteverde!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Save
You added Casa Tranquilo Hostel to your Saves list
100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Hostel in Santa Elena de Monteverde!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This place is simply amazing, the hostel is managed by 4 very helpful and friendly guys that will do everything they can to make you satisfied. The place isn't expensive at all, especially considering the services they offer you.

They offer food to prepare your own breakfast, along with unlimited and very good coffee. The breakfast is simple, consisting of eggs, bread, rice, fruits and coffee.

They also provide lots of good recommendations for activities, along with many very nice free guided hikes. We ended up doing the free hike and climbed up a hollow tree, then hiked up a mountain (Cerro Amigos if i remember correctly), ending into the dense cloud forest for a pretty complete experience of the cloud forest. Strenuous, but i definitely recommend giving it a try. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Would i go back to Monteverde with unlimited budget, i would still choose this place over the big resorts.

We stayed there at the beginning of december 2012. Thanks for hosting us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    45
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
13
68
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have stayed in Casa Tranquilo multiple times and have loved it every visit. The guys that work there are extremely friendly and funny, they work hard to make sure you have a great time and a very helpful and knowledgeable. They offer a lot of different tours and hikes to explore the area. The most popular being to a hike to a LARGE ficus tree where you have the chance to climb and rappel. The hostel is clean and comfortable with internet, television, and kitchen. It's a great deal. The rooms are cozy with great light. I highly recommended and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here with two friends. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Its a very tranqulio hostel. We were able to cook our own breakfast and they helped us with our hike as well. The rooms are all wood and really cozy. They have lots of warm blankets for the chilly nights! I would recommend this hostel :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's all about the staff. We arrived after a long trip and they just took us in and showed us a great time. The rooms are really cozy and they are improving them all the time. When we got there, they mentioned that we should go with them to this tree. They took us repelling down a hollowed out tree that night. It was so cool and made our experience there unforgettable. The room was so affordable too, they care more about showing you a good time than the bottom line because everyone there works for themselves, it's really special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crtravelercr, Owner at Casa Tranquilo Hostel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for that nice review you left us... Hopefully next year you can come and stay with us... We have a bunch of other spots that we take our guests out to climb trees, to hike and look out for wildlife, and we have some great view points of the area... At the hostel we are very glad you had a great time with the us...
Have a great time in our Country!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Lucia Cotzumalguapa, Guatemala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Sadly we didn't get to stay here. We got suckered into staying at a generic hostel in the middle of town instead. We went for a walk for lunch down to El Fodor (definitely worth stopping for a meal here) and stumbled upon Casa Tranquilo along the way. I was immediately bummed that we didn't get to stay here. This peaceful, unique hostel looked like exactly what we were looking for. The guys that worked there were super helpful even though we weren't guests. We were invited on a climbing/rappelling tour up a beautiful, hollow strangler fig tree by two of the guys with only two other people. It was amazing!Then they set up a trip to the Cloud Forest for the following morning for us. The laid-back, funky atmosphere here seems like it is definitely worth the stay. Just say no to the hagglers that get you when you get off of the bus!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I traveled Central America this summer, and some of my best memories are because of this hostel. They give awesome advice and everyone is so down to earth. The rooms were nice, and the guys are totally willing to work with you. The two guys that work there even took us rappelling, which was awesome, and they showed us some places to party and chill in town. So definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Casa Tranquilo is seriously the one of the best hostels I have been to. The guys that work there are the most friendly Ticos I had the chance to meet, they are very helpfull and they do their best to be sure that the guests have everything they need. The breakfast is included with eggs, bread, jam, banana, pineapple, delicious organic coffee and these guys even prepare freash banana bread for you guys. Everything is clean!! HOT WATER. The dogs are calm and very friendly too. Good place to meet nice people too.

I stayed 4 nights there and wanted to stay longer... Really your best choice in Santa Elena, especially if you are running low on money cause they show you the local spots, help you finding the cheapest activities and the best deals. Ask Elvis to do a bbq one night... TUANIS, TRANQUILO MAN!!!

Room Tip: Dorms are fine, clean, and cheap. That;s all I have to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tranquilo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.