We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Save
You added Casa Tranquilo Hostel to your Saves list
100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The second my girlfriend and I walked in we knew our time in Monteverde was going to be special. This place set the tone of our favourite 4 nights in Costa Rica. We stayed in a room with a private bath. Nothing too special but was clean and no bugs. Only issue was the walls are very thin so you can hear everything, and it's really bright with the skylight.

But please, don't let any of that turn you off. The staff is spectacular. Offering prices of tours and transport that you can't find anywhere else. Maybe they don't believe in the foreigner tax. Either way, this place was near perfection for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    45
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
13
65
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

About a week ago ,, i went with my sibilings and friends and it was unbelievable the treatment they are going to give you it´s awesome !! Best place to crash !! you won´t regret it in fact you will wannt to come back for SUREE !! PURA VIDA !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

About a month ago, my friend and I crashed here unexpectadly because the other hostel was full. We were pleasantly surprised to find a ridiculous assortment of breakfast foods served the next morning! Fresh banana bread, amazing coffee, fruit, etc. All things considered, this place rocks! Bon apetit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

It is a real "tranquilo" place with relaxed owners, their families and dogs. The entire staff is friendly and easy going. This makes it a great place if you are looking for a no-hassle hostel where you can chat with locals and tourists.

There is a free breakfast where you can get cake & fruits and prepare for yourself toasts, eggs, tea and coffee. This makes it a very home-like experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Casa Tranquilo Hostel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for staying with us, we greatly appreciate you leaving comments on our place... hope you had a great time here and in Costa Rica and hope to have you back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Best Hostel Ive stayed at so far. Staff was awesome. Elvis gave us some of the best directions to the local strangler fig tree. And booking through them saves you a good amount of money. The free breakfast is actually worth it! Homemade banana bread, fresh fruit and eggs with really good export coffee. If I come back to monte verde I know exactly where Im staying!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed in both private rooms and in the dorm style rooms. Both were great. This was by far one of my faovirte places to stay! The staff is wonder and speak english really well. Get to know Elvis. He has some great suggestions around town. He was so much help and made our stay in Monteverde our favorite destination, so much so that we ended up coming back for the last few days of our stay in Costa Rica! I would recommend this plac to anyone staying in Monteverde.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed in hostels all over Latin America and Europe and feel that Casa Tranquilo was by far my favourite so far. I have never encountered such friendly and helpful staff. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very clean and well kept and the guys working there are more than eager to provide all the information you need to have an amazing time in the Monteverde area. I loved that the place was quiet at night but full of life during the day. I will definitely be going back to this hostel to chill the next time I visit Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tranquilo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.