We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and personal hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Orquideas

Save Saved
You added Las Orquideas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otel.com Booking.com
Las Orquideas
Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Santa Elena
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cosy and personal hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Las Orchídeas is a small, personal hotel situated some 500 meters outside the tiny centre of Santa Elena. It is easy to walk into town. The hotel is situated on the brim of the deep canyon, with wild nature just outside the window - and with visiting coatis and whitefaced monkeys! We received very good service and got many a good (as it turned out) advice from Nidia, the owner and hostess of the hotel. She also took time to sit with us and tell us many interesting things - and she helped us organise whatever excursions and trips we wanted to make.
Breakfast was good and big, the hotel was clean and nice, and beds were comfortable. We had some very good days here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chittenden, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a warm welcome my family and I received at Las Qrquideas! The delightful owner Nidia greeted me by name at the door, gave us a tour of our family suite and the hotel property, and provided wonderful suggestions and personal connections that added so much to our visit to the area. She is a gem. Our early morning coffee and breakfasts were fresh and delicious, served in the charming little dining area. Wish we were there right now!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I strongly recommend this hotel. Very clean. Good breakfast. The owner of the hotel is such a wonderful lady. She is honest and warm-hearted. I had cough there. She gave me some tonic and I was cured and able to sleep well last night. She also gave me very honest suggestions about what to see and where to eat. You won't regret for staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very clean hotel, hard to believe, with all the dust from the road outside ;))
Nidia, the owner, was very helpful with all the questions we had.
I loved all the coatis outside on the balcony, so cute. They feed them bananas and they loved it :))
Thanks for a nice time in your unique hotel :))

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Las Orquideas for 2 nights between 3/11-3/13/14 while we visited Monteverde. It was so much better than the overpriced tourist traps we stayed in before (Arenal) and after (Manuel Antonio). Like everyone said, Nidia is just wonderful. The tour/restaurant recommendations are spot on; yes she’s lived in the US for 3 decades, but fellow travelers from Germany and UK loved her just the same. The cleanliness of the place is unbelievable, no dust though it’s right by the road, and the internet is very fast. The local ladies that cook breakfast are just so kind as well, they feed the Coatis (raccoon like animals) outside of the kitchen door which is hilarious.

If you go visit Nidia and use Google Maps, please know that it’s WRONG! Google maps show the hotel almost near Monteverde national park far east of the town of Santa Elena; instead the hotel is south of the town of Santa Elena on route 606. We emailed Google to fix it but it’s still wrong on 3/21/14.

Anyway, go visit Nidia, enjoy Monteverde, and have fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just got back from Costa Rica and Las Orquideas was our second hotel stop. It's on a main road but worth it and walking distance to the center of town. Nidia, the owner was a lovely lady ready to make us feel right at home. We stayed in a large room that was extremely clean and surrounded by a beautiful garden at every turn. The entire staff was very hospitable, a true bed and breakfast feel to it. Nidia was extremely helpful in giving us directions to local restaurants, got up early just for us before our very early tour and we had great conversations about our different countries...I felt like my mom was right there taking care of us : ) We ended up having lunch right next door at a local restaurant which had just opened one week, Pura Vida....FABULOUS local traditional food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at Las Orquideas during our stay in Costa Rica. We loved it! The room was incredibly clean and very quaint. Yes, the walls are thin but that is the case at most small hotels in Costa Rica! For the cost, this place was great! The free breakfast in the morning was delicious and filling. The visiting Coatis on the back porch made for some great photos. And the view over the back balcony was incredible! And Nidia the owner was so sweet and welcoming! She drove us to lunch one day in town since she was already heading down that way for groceries. She also let us keep our luggage in her bedroom the morning we had to check out (we had an excursion planned and wouldn't be back until later in the day). She even gave us a hug when we went to check out!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Orquideas

Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Booking.com so you can book your Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Orquideas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.