We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Orquideas

Save Saved
You added Las Orquideas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otel.com Booking.com
Las Orquideas
Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Santa Elena
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Located adjacent to a beautiful valley, Las Orquideas is a homey small place with clean well maintained rooms and within a walking distance from the center of Santa Elena. Breakfast is rich and delicious. The place owner's hospitality and warmth are genuine. She has helped us arrange our tour in the area, and offered assistance which came very handy since we traveled with 3- year old twins. Although we've stayed in nice hotels during our stay in CR, this is the one I will mostly remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We walked the 500 or so metres from the bus stop on arrival and were warmly welcomed by the lovely Nadia (owner). From the moment we got there she was extremely helpful in recommending and booking local activities, of which there is an abundance.

We were given a choice of rooms and decided upon one in the main building with a view of the valley - we would've taken the massive family room on offer for the same price had it not been for the wi-fi access not working in that building.

Breakfast was included and was simple and tasty. Coffee, fruit bowl, eggs, hash brown, traditional rice & beans accompanied by fried plantain - a fitting combo to set you up for the day.

Nadia lent us her husbands charger on the first night and then went into town and bought us one to use the next day. She also took us to town one day to use the bank and dropped us off at the bus stop. Really made the whole stay feel like we had a personal service - very kind, genuinely helpful and mothering without being at all obtrusive.

We opted to get some beers in and play cards one night and used the large breakfast and kitchen area to do so. We also ended up leaving for San Jose one day earlier than our booking and Nadia was very understanding and did not even think of charging us despite it being after checkout time on the day!

Would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on February 19th, 2013, for one night. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and given the choice of two rooms. The room we chose was large and actually had 4 beds. The property is located on one of the main roads into Santa Elena and beside a cliff overlooking a beautiful valley. There is a wrap-around veranda (and lookout) facing the valley. The property is less than a ten minute walk to the centre of town.

The service at Las Orquideas is excellent. Both employees (one of them being the owner) were extremely professional, friendly, and helpful. They provided much information about the local area and Costa Rica in general.

This was also a great place to practice your Spanish (but you can still by get with just English). In most places in the world people insist on communicating in English so this was a refreshing change.

The breakfast provided was very good.

If you do stay here, be aware that it is on the main road so during the day it can be a bit noisy; however, overnight it was quiet as the traffic died down.

Overall, we felt this property represented good value and we were happy with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was gorgeous. 5 kind walk from santa elena with a huge wraparound balcony that looks out on a waterfall and the valley below. Comes complete with it's own pet monkeys and racoons. Breakfast was great and value for money second to none.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

It's a small, family run bed and breakfast right outside Santa Elena (town if you will). The señora who own the place was friendly, accommodating and attentive. She allowed my mom to use the kitchen to heat up some leftovers and was helpful in booking tours. The triple was outfitted with a queen size and a twin size bed, table and chair for three and a view of the valley. We were greeted by a herd of white head capuchins our first morning. Breakfast was home-style: eggs cooked to your liking, good coffee, juice, casado, toast and cheese and delicious. There is a wrapped around balcony in the back that provides an excellent view of the valley and waterfalls.

Downside-it's right off the main road to Santa Elena so it can be noisy and seem like you are experiencing a mild earthquake when delivery trucks passes. Since the town dies by 9pm it wasn't that much of a bother. The walls are thing so would recommend staying away from the common area (rm 4, 5 or 6). It is also a five minute walk from town, so if you want to be closer to the "action" then consider something closer. For my family, it was just the right distance.

Sum- lovely B&B with friendly proprietor and good food.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Las Orquideas is located at the entrance of Santa Elena. We checked into a large, spacious two room hotel room equipped with a queen bed and dining table and bath in one room and twin bed and captains bunks in the other. There was a carport, which was a very pleasant surprise. The grounds were immaculate with amazing gardens throughout and a wonderful view!!!! The breakfast was amazing and homemade, cooked to order as we sat down (eggs, black beans and rice, fresh fruit, cheese, toast and of course coffee and juice). We were able to feed the pizotes (sp) just like other reviewers mentioned.

We walked into town for dinner both nights. We ate at the Tree House restaurant which was really good and quite unique. We enjoyed a canopy tour and hanging bridges hike with Selvatura and had a wonderful time!

We will definitely stay at Las Orquideas the next trip to the Monteverde area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAlta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were clean and the owner lives there and she was very very helpful. They have a viewing platform at the back which is fantastic. Breakfast was included and freshly made, the only pity is that we did not know :-s our fault though. Even though not directly in the center of town it is only a short walk away. Internet connection was very good. The only downside of it was that it did not have any heating system.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Orquideas

Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Booking.com so you can book your Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Orquideas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.