We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Bed and Breakfast in Santa Elena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Orquideas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Las Orquideas to your Saves list
Las Orquideas
Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming Bed and Breakfast in Santa Elena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on February 19th, 2013, for one night. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and given the choice of two rooms. The room we chose was large and actually had 4 beds. The property is located on one of the main roads into Santa Elena and beside a cliff overlooking a beautiful valley. There is a wrap-around veranda (and lookout) facing the valley. The property is less than a ten minute walk to the centre of town.

The service at Las Orquideas is excellent. Both employees (one of them being the owner) were extremely professional, friendly, and helpful. They provided much information about the local area and Costa Rica in general.

This was also a great place to practice your Spanish (but you can still by get with just English). In most places in the world people insist on communicating in English so this was a refreshing change.

The breakfast provided was very good.

If you do stay here, be aware that it is on the main road so during the day it can be a bit noisy; however, overnight it was quiet as the traffic died down.

Overall, we felt this property represented good value and we were happy with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    30
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was gorgeous. 5 kind walk from santa elena with a huge wraparound balcony that looks out on a waterfall and the valley below. Comes complete with it's own pet monkeys and racoons. Breakfast was great and value for money second to none.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

It's a small, family run bed and breakfast right outside Santa Elena (town if you will). The señora who own the place was friendly, accommodating and attentive. She allowed my mom to use the kitchen to heat up some leftovers and was helpful in booking tours. The triple was outfitted with a queen size and a twin size bed, table and chair for three and a view of the valley. We were greeted by a herd of white head capuchins our first morning. Breakfast was home-style: eggs cooked to your liking, good coffee, juice, casado, toast and cheese and delicious. There is a wrapped around balcony in the back that provides an excellent view of the valley and waterfalls.

Downside-it's right off the main road to Santa Elena so it can be noisy and seem like you are experiencing a mild earthquake when delivery trucks passes. Since the town dies by 9pm it wasn't that much of a bother. The walls are thing so would recommend staying away from the common area (rm 4, 5 or 6). It is also a five minute walk from town, so if you want to be closer to the "action" then consider something closer. For my family, it was just the right distance.

Sum- lovely B&B with friendly proprietor and good food.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Las Orquideas is located at the entrance of Santa Elena. We checked into a large, spacious two room hotel room equipped with a queen bed and dining table and bath in one room and twin bed and captains bunks in the other. There was a carport, which was a very pleasant surprise. The grounds were immaculate with amazing gardens throughout and a wonderful view!!!! The breakfast was amazing and homemade, cooked to order as we sat down (eggs, black beans and rice, fresh fruit, cheese, toast and of course coffee and juice). We were able to feed the pizotes (sp) just like other reviewers mentioned.

We walked into town for dinner both nights. We ate at the Tree House restaurant which was really good and quite unique. We enjoyed a canopy tour and hanging bridges hike with Selvatura and had a wonderful time!

We will definitely stay at Las Orquideas the next trip to the Monteverde area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAlta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were clean and the owner lives there and she was very very helpful. They have a viewing platform at the back which is fantastic. Breakfast was included and freshly made, the only pity is that we did not know :-s our fault though. Even though not directly in the center of town it is only a short walk away. Internet connection was very good. The only downside of it was that it did not have any heating system.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here one night during our visit to Monteverde, the hotel was reasonably priced but not in a great location, being on the outskirts of town but not in the direction of the main attractions and being right on the main road. The hotel is very small and combined with the house that the owners live in, which makes for a bit of a strange vibe. I think if we were to return to Monteverde I would look for alternate accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

After being trapped in San Jose for several days while we had dental work done, Monteverde was a breath of fresh air, quite literally. November is the off-season and we had our pick of rooms at Las Orquideas. The one we chose had lots of windows, although the bed was a bit lumpy. On our final night there were other guests and we realized just how thin the walls are. I say all this in explaining why I took off one "star" in my rating.

Otherwise, the place is delightful. The owner, Nidia, lived in Mississippi for many years and speaks excellent English. She was helpful in finding us things to do and making sure we got to where we needed to be on time. (She also came up with some pills that helped alleviate a bad toothache.) Breakfast every day consisted of tropical fruit plus some kind of eggs, meat and/or pancakes. The walkway and deck overlooking the valley gave us a stunning view. In the morning her little granddaughter fed the capuchin monkeys and coatis (pizotes) right out back. On a more mundane level, there is free wi-fi throughout.

If a helpful, comfortable environment and good value trump the need for luxury, we would highly recommend Las Orquideas. We would definitely stay there again. BTW, right next store is an open air restaurant, El Fogon, that serves up typical Costa Rican dishes in a relaxed atmosphere at good prices. We spent one delightful lunch watching clouds race up the valley and dive-bombing hummingbirds a few feet away from us. And we didn't count it a negative at all that we came away smelling of wood smoke.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Orquideas

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Orquideas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.