We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, but not a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Orquideas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Las Orquideas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Orquideas
| 300 meters south of Santa Elena, frente a la Caballeriza el Rodeo, Monteverde, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, but not a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here one night during our visit to Monteverde, the hotel was reasonably priced but not in a great location, being on the outskirts of town but not in the direction of the main attractions and being right on the main road. The hotel is very small and combined with the house that the owners live in, which makes for a bit of a strange vibe. I think if we were to return to Monteverde I would look for alternate accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    50
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
78
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

After being trapped in San Jose for several days while we had dental work done, Monteverde was a breath of fresh air, quite literally. November is the off-season and we had our pick of rooms at Las Orquideas. The one we chose had lots of windows, although the bed was a bit lumpy. On our final night there were other guests and we realized just how thin the walls are. I say all this in explaining why I took off one "star" in my rating.

Otherwise, the place is delightful. The owner, Nidia, lived in Mississippi for many years and speaks excellent English. She was helpful in finding us things to do and making sure we got to where we needed to be on time. (She also came up with some pills that helped alleviate a bad toothache.) Breakfast every day consisted of tropical fruit plus some kind of eggs, meat and/or pancakes. The walkway and deck overlooking the valley gave us a stunning view. In the morning her little granddaughter fed the capuchin monkeys and coatis (pizotes) right out back. On a more mundane level, there is free wi-fi throughout.

If a helpful, comfortable environment and good value trump the need for luxury, we would highly recommend Las Orquideas. We would definitely stay there again. BTW, right next store is an open air restaurant, El Fogon, that serves up typical Costa Rican dishes in a relaxed atmosphere at good prices. We spent one delightful lunch watching clouds race up the valley and dive-bombing hummingbirds a few feet away from us. And we didn't count it a negative at all that we came away smelling of wood smoke.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Its a cute little bed and breakfast place. Its a family-run house with the rooms opening up to a common TV and dining area. The view from the deck is AWESOME, but the room doesn't open up to the deck (the entrance is from the kitchen). The people barely speak english, but they are pretty helpful and friendly. Elisa, the owner, cooked breakfast to order (scrambled eggs and toast) and served tea and OJ. She also helped us book a tour and allowed us to checkout late since our tour finished in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at Las Orquideas this past June and had a lovely stay. The room was rustic, with carved wooden beds and basic accommodations. My husband and I stayed in one room, while our children had an adjoining room with a bunk bed and there was also another twin bed in the room. They preferred the bunk beds, of course. The staff is helpful and friendly, and the owner exemplified this, as well. It seems that there was pride and care taken in making guests feel comfortable and we certainly appreciated this. That said, the breakfast that was the best! Everyday we were treated to a homemade, freshly prepared breakfast (a nice variety that included eggs, omelets, typical Tico rice and beans that were so flavorful, fresh fruit, coffee, hot cocoa, etc.) We enjoyed our stay in Santa Elena and walked to the town everyday while we stayed at in the Monteverde area of Costa Rica. For us, Las Orquideas was a nice place to stay and to begin our Costa Rican adventure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way out of San Jose. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the property is beautiful. We enjoyed the pool. This hotel is not close to anything so you're forced to eat at the restaurant. The food was ok, a little over priced. The staff were quite kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great hotel! Great locations! And the owners are so sweet, hospitable, and know from experience all that the beautiful Costa Rica has to offer. We had an unforgettable stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

For the price, it's a great deal. It's not luxurious but it is a nice place to stay. It's close to town. The owner is very helpful in organizing excursions and the place has a cozy feel. Breakfast is made to order which is very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#8 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Orquideas

Address: | 300 meters south of Santa Elena, frente a la Caballeriza el Rodeo, Monteverde, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Orquideas is owned and operated by a local Tico family that lived in U.S. for 29 years. We are located at the entrance of the Monteverde area, only 300 meters from the small town of Santa Elena, the commercial center of Monteverde, as you drive in from the Pan-American Highway. Here you will find unique, breathtaking views of the local waterfalls right out back with a private trail. The Tilaran mountain range where both, the Santa Elena and Monteverde Cloud Forest reserves are located, the Ecological Sanctuary, the San Luis Valley and the spectacular Gulf of Nicoya, all at one location. All rooms equipped with large windows to enjoy the beautiful scenery of Monteverde and the surrounding areas. Bathrooms are decorated with genuine Spanish ceramics, wood accents and modern, high efficiency hardware. Beds are outfitted with therapeutic mattresses and hypo-allergenic sheets and comforters. Breakfasts are prepared and served right before your eyes. Come and visit us and feel like being on vacation in the comfort of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Hotel Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Orquideas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.