We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica to your Saves list
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dated hotel decor wise but very clean and staff are lovely. Breakfast was basic eggs and rice and beans. Wifi was good and even had a sloth in a tree behind the hotel. Don't stay here if you have mobility issues as it up a dirt path and steep hill from town.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    72
    35
    10
    1
See reviews for
32
45
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean and good located little hotel. Its not in the direct city centre so it much calmer, which is nice. The stuff is friendly and helpful, especially José. The hotel has new rooms with clean and huge bathroom and good quality mattresses. Knowing that Costa Rica is a quite expensive country for Budget traveler, this place has a good value for price. The breakfast is fresh and good, also offered typical Costa Rican food such as beans and rice. Also free parking is available. Good eMail communication, responsible and reliable. I would stay there again since it was a perfect stay in all ways.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was very enjoyable. The rooms are large and clean. The showers have warm water and the beds are pretty comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly, except the cross eyed dog though...it hates people.

Breakfast was served a little late and there was no opportunity to have a coffee first. It would be good to have coffee ready as early as possible instead of people having to wait an hour. And, don't touch the fancy espresso machine!! The drinks system is based on cash payment, or with groups on trust by keeping you own score and pay in the end. Breakfast is overall good, and the staff is really willing to help you out and provide service.

Walkway's to the room may become a little slippery when raining, but good shoes will do the trick. Smoking is at the front of the building on the parking lot, ashtray is nowhere to be found, so bring something yourself.

One downside on my experience in the room (all the way to the left when standing in front of the hotel). Next to the room is a shed and the grounds worker does not take notice of you sleeping. Plus the curtains are difficult to close and on both sides have a light that you cannot turn off. And as last, a lot of large sticks from the tree will fall on the roof which produces a lot of noise.

Room Tip: the room (all the way to the left when standing in front of the hotel). Next to the room is a shed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros:

Loads of character
Decent staff
Close to town

Cons:

Wifi reception is poor
Walls are very thin
Only 1 pillow each which were thin
Basic breakfast for $8
Due to area being rainy the layout, the steps, are dangerously slippery.

My partner found this place to be more of a 3 or 4 out of 5.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Arturo B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Oliver

We thank you for the time taking for your impotant review to tell us good and bad things of the hotel, we strive to have an excellent relationship with each customer, we are always clear and transparent in providing a standard hosting service as we are.

We will put more attention to the issue of pillows that have bothered, but it's strange, because we have a cleaning protocol and those responsible must fulfill before leaving the room clean, the issue of WiFi service is not an obligation of any lodging establishment besides being free, we are very honest and we know that during your stay Monteverde area been very rainy and windy so that´s why we indicated to each guest and guides about connection problems, if you paid $8 for breakfast is clear that it was not included and very likely belonged to a group G Adventures which use basic hotels, breakfast is not mandatory and is buffet options such as fresh fruit, orange juice, tea and coffee are offered, egg, toast, pancakes, cheese and a weekly menu including bacon, sausages, bananas and much more options, $8, I see no problem with money is handled as a piece of bread and juice or coffee in any cafeteria you would pay the same price, our sidewalks are nonslip made to be a very rainy area, may footwear used by you has been shoddy and felt insecure and finally to perceived noise, we have invested in insulating noise, but hardly is when traveling in groups of no perceive noise caused among themselves, where sometimes our security guard be submitted to the rooms to request silence.

There are hotels in the Monteverde area for over 150 dollars where such situations are minimized.

We will consider your requests for continually improving, that is our goal, fulfilling requirements of demanding customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Cipreses. The room was comfortable if a bit compact. Very friendly staff, service with a smile always, excellent morning breakfast, you can book all tours from the hotel lobby (they have flyers for everything around town), they are comfortably located at a 10 min walk away from the main town. They have solar powered hot water and overall are a green hotel; we did not really get any hot water in our room for the 2 days we were there, but that was OK with us considering it was warm enough when we were there and our days were just so action packed that there was no time to shower even. Wifi available in the rooms and the lobby. On one of the days, we even spotted a sloth on a bare tree right above our room bright and early in the morning, that was such a treat!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The weather we had wasn't the best, strong wind and rain more than typical of rain forest. However the staff was so helpful that we had a chance to partake to mostly the activities the area as to offer. Organising pick up and return buses.

Welcome drink, and very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was surprisingly nice for the price. We will go back again. Very clean large rooms and helpful staff. You can arrange all your tours right at the front desk. They will recommend a tour according to your interests. There are several hanging bridges and zip line tours. Recommend taking the night tour.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.