We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little family run hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica to your Saves list
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Tampa
1 review
“Nice little family run hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at about $55 per night. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

English is good, although I they booked some transportation and I ended up in the wrong city.

Only strike against them is my room abutted a residential street which had a noisy dog.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    33
    9
    1
See reviews for
30
43
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel Cipreses was a comfortable and enjoying stay. The service staff were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was included for us which was also appreciated. The walk into the town as expected in the mountain area was hilly but not overall completely inconvenient. The room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for people staying in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here three nights in early March. Booked on line and got 3 nights for the price of two. Very reasonably priced. Two adults and Two kids. Room was clean and water pressure was good. Beds weren't the greatest, but as good as we had expected. Breakfast was very good. We appreciated that the hotel made a point to separate recycles - it seemed fairly eco friendly. The room was large enough for our family.

The only problem we had was with noise. We were on the 2nd floor on the alley. The view was great from the balcony (although there were no chairs out there and the railing would be fine for adults but wasn't safe for a 3 year old. We could hear the people in the other bathroom next to ours, and there was a dog that barked randomly all night long. There wasn't much they could have done about either issue, so I don't blame the hotel. (I didn't notice until we got home, but we were supposed to have gotten a welcome cocktail which we didn't...but it obviously wasn't a big deal)

We like to walk and this hotel was about a 1/2 mile walk from town (downhill to town and uphill back) so it was great. It was in a nice neighborhood which was much quieter than town which is pretty hustle bustle.

Monteverde is really tourism oriented, and I was a bit disheartened that most of the people spoke English to us and the prices in the stores and restaurants was in $ not colones. The town has been taken over by extreme tours - zip lines primarily and wasn't the rural experience we were expecting.

This hotel was a great choice for a family and we'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: For a view stay on the 2nd floor but take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed at Cipresses for a night. The check-in staff were friendly courteous and helpful but didn't point out the check-out time and the hourly penalty rate for not checking out on time so be mindful of this. A short walk to town down and up a hill so you may want to stay closer to town if travelling with small children. Rooms are basic and a bit dated but clean. Beds were not very comfortable and linens were old. Breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful in arranging horsebackriding tour which was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights travelling with daughter 4 year old and wife)

Pros:
Staff and service was great
Breakfast was good
Nice Sized rooms and beds


Cons:
Location a bit out of town
Rooms a bit dated
Mattresses not comfortable and linen and towels worn out.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location when visiting Monteverde location. A little hard to find; no signage. A budget style hotel. Could use a little paint and maintenance in rooms. Staff friendly and helpful to arrange tour. Sabor Taco is just steps from this hotel and serves good food.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

When the driver dropped us at the front door of the hotel, we thought we were abandoned in nowhere. But as walking into the court yard surrounded by bright colored plants, we knew it's a OK place. The room is cozy and neat, but the hot shower is like dripping oil - might as well take a cold shower.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.