We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica to your Saves list
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Taking into consideration that Monteverde is a very rustic place, with many different hotels and places to stay ranging from very cheap to very expensive prices, I would say Hotel Cipreses is a good place to stay for its value. It is middle price, it offers a nice breakfast, wi fi en all rooms, cable tv, hot water and it is close enough to town. The place is clean and they people that run the hotel takes a lot of time on details. They offer a place very commited to the environment and try to make their bussiness very sustentable. It may not be the best hotel, but it is a good option if you have a limited budget for a night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    63
    33
    9
    1
See reviews for
30
43
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Pros:
* Very friendly and courteous staff
* Charming setting
* Decent room interior and lovely balcony (for some rooms on second floor)

Cons:
* 15 minute uphill walk from city center and all the happenings. So we had little work out for shopping and food
* Walls are not sound proof at all so we could hear everything from next room which kept us awake until late on first night
* On our first day, lady at the reception did not make very clear that breakfast was already included for the price we paid for the hotel. That was mistake on their part which was corrected by person at desk the next day
* We booked a shared shuttle to San Jose from hotel. We paid little more than reputed companies like interbus or grayline because we were told that we will be taken straight to San Jose without any transfer in roughly 3 hours. However, it turned out to be false. The shuttle company called Montezuma Expedition made long transfer stop and took almost 5 hours to reach San Jose

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very good service and polite staff - we had a great time in Monteverde. The Hotel is located in a very nice and serene landscape. Our room was clean and quite large.

Hotel Cipreses Monteverde can definitely be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our room was clean, comfortable and airy. Very relaxing and surrounded by gardens, we were fortunate enough to see a sloth in the tree next door – very exciting!!

The hotel staff were lovely, the room was clean and the breakfast was cheap and adequate. There is a laundry service and free computers in the lobby. There was a tv in the room but ours didn’t work well (although that’s not why you’re there so it didn’t matter) and it got quite cold in the mountains. Our hot water was fine, although it took quite a while to warm up.

It’s about a ten minute walk into town where there's a range of food places and a supermarket. Be prepared for a hilly (and at night very dark) walk between the hotel and town. If you have any issues with a steep walk, find something else (although most of the area is hilly so that could be a problem) & pack a small torch.

We didn’t have any issues with payment / reservations but as we were on a GAdventures tour, this was all taken care of for us.

Overall - I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The cabins behind the main reception have some wifi and seemed to have a little more character than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

great staff super quiet clean sort of cabin style rooms with patio #40 in awesome well landscaped setting . and yes 10 min walk from town or 5min down toward the school to sabor tico restaurant for dinner i had the best olla de carne or something it was meat veg soup excellent!!! and love the breakfirst at cipreses restaurant !!! well and the recycling bins so awesome go green !!! oh i had hot water so did the others in my group of 7 thanks kim

Room Tip: well i loved #40 but ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very close to downtown, Very good food in the cafeteria the staff in polite the rooms and bathrooms are large and i had hot water. I was hosted in September room 21. I really recommend my experience was great. Remember is a village so do not expect to have the convenience of the city. As a tourist Loved everything.

Room Tip: Chose Hiher floors if you want less Noise and Ask the staff to put on Hot water in you room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The staff is polite and the rooms and bathrooms are large by Costa Rican standards but the water in the shower never got the slightest bit warm. There is free wifi throughout the property and there is free use of the computers in the lobby. Laundry can be done on site; they charge by the kilo. The walls in the room are thin and we could clearly hear the conversations of our neighbors on both sides. There is a good soda down the street and the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the center of Monteverde.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.