We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very good service and polite staff - we had a great time in Monteverde. The Hotel is located in a very nice and serene landscape. Our room was clean and quite large.

Hotel Cipreses Monteverde can definitely be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    62
    31
    9
    1
See reviews for
29
42
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our room was clean, comfortable and airy. Very relaxing and surrounded by gardens, we were fortunate enough to see a sloth in the tree next door – very exciting!!

The hotel staff were lovely, the room was clean and the breakfast was cheap and adequate. There is a laundry service and free computers in the lobby. There was a tv in the room but ours didn’t work well (although that’s not why you’re there so it didn’t matter) and it got quite cold in the mountains. Our hot water was fine, although it took quite a while to warm up.

It’s about a ten minute walk into town where there's a range of food places and a supermarket. Be prepared for a hilly (and at night very dark) walk between the hotel and town. If you have any issues with a steep walk, find something else (although most of the area is hilly so that could be a problem) & pack a small torch.

We didn’t have any issues with payment / reservations but as we were on a GAdventures tour, this was all taken care of for us.

Overall - I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The cabins behind the main reception have some wifi and seemed to have a little more character than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

great staff super quiet clean sort of cabin style rooms with patio #40 in awesome well landscaped setting . and yes 10 min walk from town or 5min down toward the school to sabor tico restaurant for dinner i had the best olla de carne or something it was meat veg soup excellent!!! and love the breakfirst at cipreses restaurant !!! well and the recycling bins so awesome go green !!! oh i had hot water so did the others in my group of 7 thanks kim

Room Tip: well i loved #40 but ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very close to downtown, Very good food in the cafeteria the staff in polite the rooms and bathrooms are large and i had hot water. I was hosted in September room 21. I really recommend my experience was great. Remember is a village so do not expect to have the convenience of the city. As a tourist Loved everything.

Room Tip: Chose Hiher floors if you want less Noise and Ask the staff to put on Hot water in you room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The staff is polite and the rooms and bathrooms are large by Costa Rican standards but the water in the shower never got the slightest bit warm. There is free wifi throughout the property and there is free use of the computers in the lobby. Laundry can be done on site; they charge by the kilo. The walls in the room are thin and we could clearly hear the conversations of our neighbors on both sides. There is a good soda down the street and the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the center of Monteverde.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here in March 2012 as part of my G Adventures Tour. The room is a decent size, bathroom is small though. I was in room 16. TV in room.
If you like hot showers, this is not the place for you. I never had a hot shower, it was barely warm in fact.
There is limited Wifi unless your room is close to reception. My room was right behind reception and it was still sketchy at best. There are computers available in the reception area for guest's use.
There is a restaurant on site to get food and drinks. I didn't eat here, so I'm not sure what the food was like.
Make sure to ask about the restaurant down the hill. It had great food for a cheap price. However, we were in a large group and the food took quite awhile to arrive at the table. But well worth the wait. I ordered the Rice with Shrimps and thought it was quite Yummy.
We did walk into town from this hotel. It is a bit of a walk downhill on dark streets (bring a flashlight so cars can see you) but definitely walkable, maybe 10 minutes.
I was here for two nights (as I travelled around different parts of Costa Rica), and wanted to stress that even in March (dry season) it was cold here! Dress accordingly. It rained the whole time and it is not a warm rain. It is REAL rain (maybe misty). When we went to the Cloud Forest (morning), I had on a sleeveless top, a fitted jacket, a sweatshirt and a rain jacket. It was warmer for the Zip Lining (in the afternoon), but still needed a jacket.
As well, I found it quite cold at night in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We arrived late to the hotel because we got lost in this foreign country ( We are from the US) and the place was loccked up tight. Dirt roads, signs you can't see and terrible directions from the Hotel clerk you try and find a soccer field in the dark. We arrived at 11:30 PM and we were told by security we were out of luck he had no keys and no way of getting ahold of anyone to help. The next morning the "Manager" told us "This happens all the time" when we asked for our money back they refused, The owner would not return our numerous calls and emails. After a 7 hour drive we had to sleep in the rental car. All we want is our money back we showed up and they were closed. WHAT A SCAM. WE ARE TELLING ALL OF OUR FRIENDS TO STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCipreses, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Our Hotel is located in the beautiful Monteverde, undoubtedly one of the biggest problems that exist are the roads entirely is outside of the hotel, is a regional problem, our hotel offers an online booking system with direct payment or can make their reservations by mail without payment until the day of the arrival, our website provides the booking and cancellation policies prior to payment, and the option should be selected "agree" to proceed with payment, is very common that hotels have a schedule for reception in case of ours is from 6am - until 10pm, after hours of the reception, a security guard authorized can hand over the keys, if you are a bit later, it is important that when people think they will arrive later of schedule, usually them make a call for us to let us know or an email that will respond soon. In case of cancellation without notice is disputed through by the banks where each of the hotel or person presents evidence and will be them who decide to return money. Our rooms are cleanliness and quality services are no doubt many people have called us in a good way for our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.