We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute best deal in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Santa Elena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Santa Elena
Save
You added Pension Santa Elena to your Saves list
250 m al Sureste Banco Nacional en el corazon de Santa Elena, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Jupiter, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Absolute best deal in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Hands down, this was the best budget hotel/hostel I have ever stayed at. Honestly such a breathe of fresh air after staying at countless hostels in Costa Rica that are of poor value and customer service. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfy, and the common area/front porch actually make you want to sit and hang there. Not to mention an AWESOME Mexican restaurant connected to the hotel.

But truly, the best part of staying here was the customer service. From the moment we arrived until we checked out, every member of the staff was beyond friendly and helpful. For the first time, we felt that we were receiving genuine, unbiased travel advice. Monteverde being a big tourist destination, choosing the right tours and activities can seem a little overwhelming - but the staff here truly want to help. We loved their recommendations for tours and restaurants, and they were so helpful in helping us make our travel plans to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    123
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
140
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The staff here went beyond the call of duty helping me to get back something I left there! They were also very friendly whilst I was there. The rooms and prices are good, I think the only negative was the crazy loud bikes going past - but none of the rooms are on the street so not much more could be done.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in early July 2014. At first we were assigned to a room (for 3) that was on the ground floor next to the street, at the front of the pension. It was very noisy so we asked to be reassigned the next day. They accommodated us with an upstairs room at the back of the property. It was very quiet there, and we had a nice view of the surrounding mountains. The staff at the pension is very knowledgeable about things to do, tourist buses, etc. Both rooms we stayed in were clean and everything worked properly. We were within walking distance of bank, restaurants, shopping. The breakfast was good. We were within walking distance of a biological reserve.

I would recommend this pension to family/friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new section, at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a great little hotel/hostel type of place. Very clean rooms. I stayed in a room with a private shower and toilet. But the best part of Pension SA are the people. Joe and Diego were so welcoming and helpful. They helped me set up any "excursions" I wanted without a hitch. Great advice on what to see, where to go, and especially where to eat (thanks Diego!). I will definitely stay here when I return next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I camped for 2 nights. Costa Rica was never the best for camping spots, but they accommodated us nicely here, if in a relatively small area. The bathroom situation was standard for a hostel, and we were very happy with the communal kitchen situation. Good vibes all around from the employees, especially with the tips they give you on how to make the most of your time in the area. Plus a great cat.

Room Tip: camped out in the nice patio/yard area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the hostel with our son (8yrs), and enjoyed the welcoming, positive atmosphere. There were other families with kids there, and we found all of the travelers/guests to be pleasant. The staff was friendly, and very helpful with helping us to organize accommodations in the next towns we were headed to, as well as helping us decide on which adventures to pursue in Monteverde (Diego was especially helpful!!) We stayed in a private room, with bath, in the annex, and found it to be spacious, clean, and a great price. The lobby has foosball, wifi, and is generally a good place to hang out. I almost forgot- breakfast (included in price) is delicious!

Room Tip: The annex is especially nice- we stayed upstairs with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Staff are very helpful and the crowd is Gap year. Good company, music, and the location is within walking distance of the bus stop. Rooms are clean and access to all the attractions make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Address: 250 m al Sureste Banco Nacional en el corazon de Santa Elena, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Mission is to exceed our guests expectations of a budget hotel by providing outstanding customer service and dependable information. Commit time and resources to preserve the values and traditions of our community and Costa Rica. Pura Vida y Pura Hospitalidad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Santa Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.