We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hostel in centre of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Santa Elena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Santa Elena
250 m al Sureste Banco Nacional en el corazon de Santa Elena, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good hostel in centre of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Good hostel in the centre of town!
Pros: great information re activities available to you w very helpful staff, good location, great brekkie courtesy of taco taco next door, nice communal area, good kitchen facilities, clean rooms, HOT showers!!!! Near supermarkets and a pickup/drop off point for tours.
Cons: wifi was a bit dodgy in some rooms, bit old in areas... not much wrong.
I recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are gauranteed wifi. New rooms are only a couple $ extra and probs worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    99
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
118
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

we stayed for three nights and the best thing about this place is great information you get. they know a lot about the area and are not payed any bonus for referring guests to companies so you can trust them.
only one morning there was a middle-aged woman working at reception, not local, probably from the US and she was very unfriendly. she gave you the feeling, that you should not ask her anything and that she didn't want to talk to you. may be she had a bad day. all the other staff was very friendly and helpful.

the room was good, a bit noisy.

the kitchen is lacking knives!! otherwise it was fine to cook there, but it could be a bit cleaner, especially the cat food on the fridge doesn't necessarily have to be there,...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The staff here is awesome, since we had limited time in Monteverde, they helped us maximize our time there by suggesting itineraries. Each recommendation was excellent. Their advice really made our stay in Costa Rica one to remember. I appreciate that all the staff was bilingual and it was evident that they all liked their jobs, and got along well with each other. My one recommendation is to stay in the new section of the hostel, the rooms are nice and clean, and worth the few extra bucks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I just stayed here for 2 nights during my 2 weeks in Costa Rica. My girlfriend and I stayed in their dorm which sleeps 6 but since it is the offseason we were the only ones the first night and only had one roommate the second night. If you are a person used to your comforts and immaculately clean hotels then this is not the place for you, however the private rooms are apparently much nicer and only a few dollars more. If you have more experience with hostel traveling then you will find the dorms to be perfectly adequate for everything you need. Breakfast is included with your room fee and you get it next door at Taco Taco. The best part about this hostel is the helpful staff and their advice about the activities you should do in the area. These guys are not getting a referral bonus unlike everyone else in town so you can get some great unbiased advice as to where to go and what to do. They even get a shout out in the Lonely Planet Costa Rica guide (2013 version) so you know that it is true. Overall I am glad I stayed here and for 10 bucks a night how can you top that?

Room Tip: Stay in the dorms if you don't need absolute comfort and clean and if you want to meet interesti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been there for 3 nights in September. We stayed in a double room with private bath in the newer part of the hostel. It was the most expensive option but the bath was better in the new buildung and the price differs just about 5?$.
The guys at the reception were very friendly and gave us good information about trips. They were honest and told us if we shouldn't do anything because of the weather. Diego was so nice when he explained all possible tours.
The breakfast at taco taco is very basic but we really liked the burritos there.
The atmosphere in the hostel is very chilled. Guests are primary backpackers between 20 and 30 years.
We would call PSE the hostel with the best value for money on our trip through costa rica.
Btw .. Extremo Canopy was very funny and quite professional. My girl friend also really liked the horseback ride with las brisas. If you go to Curi Cancha .. our guide adrian mendez(?) was super.

Room Tip: double room in the new building
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a double room with private bathroom, the room is simple just a bed, a single bedside table and that is it. However for the price it is very good, it's clean and it is comfortable. The hostel is nice, big common area with wifi and a couple of computers for general use. The wifi is fast however I think the router is in the common area as we couldn't get a connection in our room, if you pick one of the rooms closer to the main building then you might have better luck. There are 3-4 dogs that hang out in the common area which are very friendly and like to beg for food. They are nice dogs and don't get too excited or aggressive, I am sometimes scared of larger dogs and I thought all the dogs were lovely.

Staff are very nice and helpful, they can book tours for you and sometimes there is a slightly better price if you go through them. Most tours can be booked up to 10-15 minutes which is convenient. I contacted the hotel before arriving and they offered travel advice for Monteverde and other areas around Costa Rica so it's worth contacting them if you are planning a trip. It does take 2-3 days to get a response. (I didn't have to make a reservation for the advice, we asked for a room when we got there)

My only complaint is the misleading advertising. The website says there are 'sound systems' in some of the higher end rooms. There were speakers mounted on the ceiling in our room, when I asked how to operate them I was informed that they don't work. But it wasn't just our room, apparently none of them worked as they interfered with each other and made strange sounds or something. The info book at the hostel also said there were rubber boots guests could borrow. When I inquired I was told there were two miss-matched boots and that was it. Neither of these things were a big deal and are nice to have extras, but I feel you shouldn't advertise stuff you don't actually have.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

With a town full of high pressure folks wanting to sell you tours, etc, it was great to stay in this modest but comfortable hostel where the staff was genuinely helpful. True high speed Internet available in the comfy common area. A small tasty breakfast from the adjoining taco joint is included in the price. Good coffee and tea available all day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Hotel
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica
Address: 250 m al Sureste Banco Nacional en el corazon de Santa Elena, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Mission is to exceed our guests expectations of a budget hotel by providing outstanding customer service and dependable information. Commit time and resources to preserve the values and traditions of our community and Costa Rica. Pura Vida y Pura Hospitalidad. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Santa Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pension Santa Elena to your Saves list