We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay and Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Santa Elena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Santa Elena
Save
You added Pension Santa Elena to your Saves list
250 m al Sureste Banco Nacional en el corazon de Santa Elena, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Stay and Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I just stayed here for 2 nights during my 2 weeks in Costa Rica. My girlfriend and I stayed in their dorm which sleeps 6 but since it is the offseason we were the only ones the first night and only had one roommate the second night. If you are a person used to your comforts and immaculately clean hotels then this is not the place for you, however the private rooms are apparently much nicer and only a few dollars more. If you have more experience with hostel traveling then you will find the dorms to be perfectly adequate for everything you need. Breakfast is included with your room fee and you get it next door at Taco Taco. The best part about this hostel is the helpful staff and their advice about the activities you should do in the area. These guys are not getting a referral bonus unlike everyone else in town so you can get some great unbiased advice as to where to go and what to do. They even get a shout out in the Lonely Planet Costa Rica guide (2013 version) so you know that it is true. Overall I am glad I stayed here and for 10 bucks a night how can you top that?

Room Tip: Stay in the dorms if you don't need absolute comfort and clean and if you want to meet interesti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    120
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
27
135
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been there for 3 nights in September. We stayed in a double room with private bath in the newer part of the hostel. It was the most expensive option but the bath was better in the new buildung and the price differs just about 5?$.
The guys at the reception were very friendly and gave us good information about trips. They were honest and told us if we shouldn't do anything because of the weather. Diego was so nice when he explained all possible tours.
The breakfast at taco taco is very basic but we really liked the burritos there.
The atmosphere in the hostel is very chilled. Guests are primary backpackers between 20 and 30 years.
We would call PSE the hostel with the best value for money on our trip through costa rica.
Btw .. Extremo Canopy was very funny and quite professional. My girl friend also really liked the horseback ride with las brisas. If you go to Curi Cancha .. our guide adrian mendez(?) was super.

Room Tip: double room in the new building
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a double room with private bathroom, the room is simple just a bed, a single bedside table and that is it. However for the price it is very good, it's clean and it is comfortable. The hostel is nice, big common area with wifi and a couple of computers for general use. The wifi is fast however I think the router is in the common area as we couldn't get a connection in our room, if you pick one of the rooms closer to the main building then you might have better luck. There are 3-4 dogs that hang out in the common area which are very friendly and like to beg for food. They are nice dogs and don't get too excited or aggressive, I am sometimes scared of larger dogs and I thought all the dogs were lovely.

Staff are very nice and helpful, they can book tours for you and sometimes there is a slightly better price if you go through them. Most tours can be booked up to 10-15 minutes which is convenient. I contacted the hotel before arriving and they offered travel advice for Monteverde and other areas around Costa Rica so it's worth contacting them if you are planning a trip. It does take 2-3 days to get a response. (I didn't have to make a reservation for the advice, we asked for a room when we got there)

My only complaint is the misleading advertising. The website says there are 'sound systems' in some of the higher end rooms. There were speakers mounted on the ceiling in our room, when I asked how to operate them I was informed that they don't work. But it wasn't just our room, apparently none of them worked as they interfered with each other and made strange sounds or something. The info book at the hostel also said there were rubber boots guests could borrow. When I inquired I was told there were two miss-matched boots and that was it. Neither of these things were a big deal and are nice to have extras, but I feel you shouldn't advertise stuff you don't actually have.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

With a town full of high pressure folks wanting to sell you tours, etc, it was great to stay in this modest but comfortable hostel where the staff was genuinely helpful. True high speed Internet available in the comfy common area. A small tasty breakfast from the adjoining taco joint is included in the price. Good coffee and tea available all day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a very popular place with backpackers, from around the world, and has cooking facilities, common areas and super helpful staff. The place was always bustling and full of activity while we were there.

My wife and I stayed here, with our 14 year old grandson, in our own clean, private room with its own bathroom. After a couple of days of zip lining (which was fantastic), we realized our grandson had a serious ear infection (likely contracted several days earlier). The staff at the pension contacted an excellent local doctor who made a house call about 20 minutes later. Shortly after we visited the local pharmacy and our grandson began a course of antibiotics. We were very grateful for this helpful, prompt service.

There are 2 restaurants that we would also recommend - Restaurante Morphos and Tree House Restaurante and Cafe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This tourist-friendly place is great for money and location. The staff are super friendly and helpful in terms on your next destination and they will try to help you as much as they can. Breakfast is included with the stay. I booked a room with the bathroom, and although it's very basic, I was pleased with it. I can get wifi within my room. Its a great spot for travelers who's coming from Arenal and on the way to Puntarenas area.

Room Tip: Request for the upgraded (new) rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This exceptionally clean, tourist-friendly pension has obviously become one of the main hubs for travelers of all nations. It provided a relaxing atmosphere, friendly and helpful English/Spanish-speaking staff and owners, and excellent breakfast tacos included. We booked a room with a bathroom, and were pleased with its cleanliness and modernity. Tips on what to see in the area and what tour companies offered did not seem to be linked to a cut in the fee but rather a factual portrayal of what is available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Address: 250 m al Sureste Banco Nacional en el corazon de Santa Elena, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Mission is to exceed our guests expectations of a budget hotel by providing outstanding customer service and dependable information. Commit time and resources to preserve the values and traditions of our community and Costa Rica. Pura Vida y Pura Hospitalidad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Santa Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.