We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night walk not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ecological Sanctuary

Ecological Sanctuary
Turnoff to Jardin Mariposas | off main road between Santa Elena and Monteverde, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
+506 2645 5869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 17 things to do in Santa Elena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 75-acre private wildlife preserve has more than 150 species of birds and 4 walking trails for scenic strolls through lush surroundings, 2 waterfalls, a impressive biodiversity.Since its a biological passway it offers an excellent opportunity to the visitors to see a big quantity of mammal and bird species of the zone.Ask for our conservation program.
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Night walk not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had several other wildlife hikes in CR that were great, so perhaps this one suffered somewhat by comparison. We didn't see much except for insects (its was quite windy that night) & didn't cover much distance. Our guide, Jonathan, did seem to be quite knowledgeable. After reading the other reviews & thinking back on our experience, I would recommend going here during the day. Obviously, we didn't see any views or waterfalls that others mentioned at night.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great night walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a great night walk with our guide Carlos. The 2 hour tour through the sanctuary had us seeing coati, toucanettes and a variety of hummingbirds and insects. As with most parks here a guide is essential as they are used to spotting the well camouflaged wildlife. While the walk was not a breeze, my 70 year old mother and 11 year old son had almost no issues .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Maybe with a guide....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Nice section of the forest, although pretty much the same all over. We showed up at 10 in the morning, no guide available. We spotted one mamall by ourselves, but very few birds. Maybe a guide would have helped us, but it is certainly not a farm or anything close to a place with garanteed animals sighting, it's the forest, so prepare in consequence!!!

The paths are extremely well maintained and both the map and indications in the forest are perfect.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Farm tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Was greatly interested in organic farming so I took the Finca organic farm tour. The knowledge I got from this was more than I could handle. very informative and helpful.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Waterfall repel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

What a wild and fun adventure. Something you cannot do just anywhere, that is for sure. The guys were very sensitive to our being comfortable and for our safety.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecological Sanctuary also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Ecological Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecological Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.