We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otocuma Bar & Restaurant

Otocuma Bar & Restaurant
Hotel Poco a Poco, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
(506) 2645-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 26 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were staying at Hotel Poco a Poco and were tired by the time we arrived and didn't want to make any decisions on where to eat. We ate at Otocuma and really enjoyed it. It gives the impression that it is going to be a little overpriced, overdone place, but it was not. They have live music every night (they advertise) and we got to hear a Spanish guitarist who was great. They tell you to make reservations, but in August we definitely didn't need them. There were only 4 filled tables when we were in there. We had local "casados" type Costa Rican food and the presentation, portions and flavor were great. Would definitely eat here again if we are ever back in Costa Rica.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

While in Monteverde we ate at one other well reviewed restaurant and felt that Poco a Poco was just as good and had a more varied menu. We ate 3 meals there and were consistently satisfied. We usually like to find restaurants in town, but we highly recommend trying the Restaurant at Poco a Poco.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Fantastic menu....filets, etc. Gorgeous location, excellent attentive staff, and live music. Will definitely check out the adjoining hotel on another trip because it looked wonderful.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our last night in Santa Elena we could not be bothered to walk out to eat so we agree to eat in the Hotel where we were staying namely Poco A Poca are we glad we did it was the best meal we had in Santa Elena the food was well cooked and not expensive. There was live music with a man playing keyboard and classical guitar not load just right.
This restaurant deserves more custom. 4 of us main course desert and two bottles of wine $110
As you will note I am from UK and used to good food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otocuma Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Otocuma Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otocuma Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.