We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours

Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours
150m norte del Cementerio, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
+506 8304 7161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Santa Elena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Not your run-of-the-mill tours! Private and group tours in all of the cloud forest trails in the Monteverde area. Exclusive sightseeing tours, transfer/farm/lunch tour, and private coffee tours also available. Guiding is not just a job; it is a commitment and a lifestyle!
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We did a tour of the Curi Cancha Refuge with Marcos at the recommendation of Reina at Cabanas Valle Campanas and he was a wonderful guide. We saw all sorts of wildlife and he took great pictures through his scope with our camera. He spotted four quetzals and tracked down a bell bird as well. As others have mentioned, he was knowledgeable, pleasant, and clearly is very passionate about what he does. Highly recommended - it was a great way to spend a morning!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Your review is much appreciated! Best, Susu and Marcos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hollywood, fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marcos is fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Marcos spent an afternoon with our family, first visiting the area around Stella's bakery, where we spotted a green viper snake resting in a tree, monkeys and a sloth. We then travelled to one of the reserves. Marcos helped us spot toucans, a bell bird and other marvelous bird species. He was patient with our children and even helped us take pictures through his scope with our smart phone.
Marcos is the best!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks Marc and family - hope we can help you again on your next trip to Costa Rica! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I went on three tours with Marcos from Pasion Costa Rica. I'm glad that I went with this great guide because he was very informativ, friendly and funny. He showed us so many animals which we wouldn't see without a guide. Susu, his wife, booked not only the three tours for me but also other tours and bustickets. All is very good organized and easy.
I had a great time in Monteverde also because of Susu and Marcos and I highly recommend their little business to everyone who wants to see more in Monteverde!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you and we hope to see you again soon, Eva would love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Marcos was the best tour guide. Funny, friendly, knowledgeable, and good English for us gringos! We did a night tour which was amazing, we saw so many creatures: green stripe snake, tarantula, lots of insects & birds. We also did a tour in the cloud forest one morning and had another fabulous experience. I can't recommend him highly enough!!! His wife booked our transportation to and from the San Jose area which was also easy and worked out great. Very competitive pricing, nice drivers (though we have found on our numerous trips that the smaller transport drivers generally have very little English, but it was all good).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything You Want in a Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Marcos is from Monteverde, however he and his wife, Susu lived in Colorado for 5 years, so his English is impeccable. He was referred to me and I can see why. I went on 2 walks with him, a private afternoon nature hike and a night walk with the company he guides for every evening, Wildlife Refuge Tours (also under "Activities" in T.A.). For our private hike he chose a very sheltered, beautiful trail in the Monteverde "Enchanted Children's Forest" (also in T.A.), of which he's on the Board of Directors, and we spent a great 2 and 1/2 hours walking and spotting Wild Turkeys, an Olingo ( very rare), Coati, quail, birds and more. He is extremely knowledgable, an avid conservationist, with a friendly, enthusiastic personality. Call him, he's a sure bet! Oh, by the way, it cost $50.00 U.S., very reasonable for an entire afternoon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasión C, Owner at Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
What a great review! We also enjoyed meeting your friend who you referred to us a couple of months ago. Thank you!
-Susu and Marcos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasion Costa Rica Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.